We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice spot to stay in Del Mar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego/Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Diego/Del Mar to your Saves list
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15575 Jimmy Durante Blvd., Del Mar, CA 92014-1901   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Alamo, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A nice spot to stay in Del Mar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stayed at this hotel while participating in a 10-mile race. The check-in staff were friendly but could use a little polish. My room wasn't ready until 5pm, which wasn't a great start to the trip. However, the rooms are spacious and airy. Unfortunately, there was noise from the pool/spa until 10pm, not ideal if you want to get up and run 10 miles the next day.
On the second day of the stay, the towels were not replaced. But other than that, there was nothing really wrong with the hotel. The bar staff are great, the hotel is very clean and attractively furnished, and it's very centrally located in Del Mar.

Room Tip: Make sure your from isn't near the pool area if you need to get to sleep early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric P, General Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I appreciate all the nice comments about your experience. We will work on improving the few issues you had. Sorry for any inconvenience.

We hope to see you next time!

Best,

Eric Paul I General Manager
HILTON SAN DIEGO / DEL MAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    202
    108
    46
    29
See reviews for
175
137
52
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
guffey, co
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Before our 'group' even left home I knew your hotel went above all others. I called to see if there was a walker available for our disabled friend we were traveling with. The desk transferred me to Jennifer, the consigere, who took care of all the arrangements to have a walker delivered to the hotel. She asked for us to stop by to say 'hello' when we arrived which really made me feel she cared about us and our needs. She took care of all our reservations for dinners and cars, and had many suggestions which helped us first time visitors to San Diego. She is so efficient in her position and is a great welcoming committee of one in the lobby!
The room was clean and bright, a beautiful patio area with pools, fire places and lots of lounge areas. The restaurant was well staffed and we were happy to be helped more than once by a cheery and efficient wait person, Elva.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric P, General Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank for the nice review! I am happy that the staff took great care of you, especially Jennifer and Elva. They are superstars! We hope to see you soon! By the way, we love getting 5 Star reviews! THANK YOU!

Best,

Eric Paul I General Manager
HILTON SAN DIEGO / DEL MAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Very well located, near Del Mar and Solana Beach. Great service and very convenient shuttle service. The pool and the gardens are definitely a big plus that will make me chose this hotel again in the future,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric P, General Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for the 5 Star review, it makes our day! I am pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you found our service to be a great experience. We hope to see you again the next time you visit San Diego!

Best,

Eric Paul I General Manager
HILTON SAN DIEGO / DEL MAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed here during San Diego Jazz Party for a three day week-end. Great Jazz and a very pleasant hotel. jazz party is a must with 22 great Jazz mucicians from all over country (World?) Staying at hotel made the week-end special.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric P, General Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for the nice review and the 5 Star rating. I am pleased to know that we made a fun Jazz weekend special for you! See you next Jazz weekend, if not earlier!

Best,

Eric Paul I General Manager
HILTON SAN DIEGO / DEL MAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed here 2-21 thru 2-23 Jennifer Fine was very helpful and respectful of our needs helped get us a limo to the airport and dinner reservations she is definitely an asset to the hotel, very pleasant and always smiling, goes above and beyond to help. Our waitress during our stay was Elva also very pleasant and smiling and making sure everything was good. A very nice hotel clean and neat. I definitely would stay here again

Carol Roberts

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric P, General Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for the 5 Star Review!! I am so glad the staff took great care of you, especially Jennifer and Elva. They are both gems! See you the next time you are in Del Mar!!

Best,

Eric Paul I General Manager
HILTON SAN DIEGO / DEL MAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

It was my anniversary and my husband choose to take me to the Hilton Del Mar it was perfect. the room was beautiful we had a balcony the service was amazing (Jessica) at the front desk was awesome she took the time to get to know us at check in. she send us strawberries n champaign the morning of our anniversary and every time she saw us she called us by name. Made us feel special. She recommend the restaurant at the hotel and she was right the flatbread with pepperoni was amazing made some great friends at the Hilton Del Mar for sure going back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric P, General Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for the 5 Star review! It made our day!! I am glad that you had a nice Anniversary stay with us and that it was perfect! Jessica is great and I a pleased she made it special for you! Hope to see you again soon in the near future!

Best,

Eric Paul I General Manager
HILTON SAN DIEGO / DEL MAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We wanted to stay on the beach but found a room here so took it. First time and won't be our last. We loved everything about this hotel. Staff were amazingly friendly and we got to experience true hospitality. Location is perfect and they have car service. The pool is very relaxing. Our room was way comfortable. We will be back!

Room Tip: Some rooms have patios so ask for that if you want one.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric P, General Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for the Star review! I am pleased that you had a great stay and experienced true hospitality. We are glad that you plan on coming back.

Best,

Eric Paul I General Manager
HILTON SAN DIEGO / DEL MAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Diego/Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego/Del Mar

Address: 15575 Jimmy Durante Blvd., Del Mar, CA 92014-1901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Del Mar
#2 Family Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Diego/Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind in one of our 257 vibrant, yet sophisticated guest rooms, while taking advantage of our 17,000 sq. Ft. Of versatile indoor meeting and banquet space, outdoor heated swimming pool, first-rate fitness center and world-class local farm-and-sea cuisine at our very own coastalKITCHEN restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hilton San Diego/Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
Hilton Del Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.