We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family owned! Del Mar's top local spot, Bang for your buck!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bambou Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Le Bambou Restaurant
2634 Del Mar Heights Rd, Del Mar, CA 92014-3110
858-259-8138
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 81 Restaurants in Del Mar
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Rancho Santa Fe, California
1 review
“Family owned! Del Mar's top local spot, Bang for your buck!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Tucked away in the very corner of this strip mall is Le Bambou. My family has been dining here since the late 80's. Believe it or not I've been gone for years and came back to have my fave... Those chicken & veggie rolls, the cornish game hen and the fried rice. It still tastes the same! Why? Because their mom is still cooking! So cool. I've been to many restaurants but you can tell it's the healthier alternative and they make food fresh compared to some other places that leaves fish bones and eyeballs intact. It's a local favorite because Del Marian's are health conscious and they really cater to our needs and taste. OMG they have brown rice too!!!! Love this place... It brings back memories growing up!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A pleasant neighborhood restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

When I feel like a veggie dinner...the Vegetable Ambrosia is the perfect dish. The clay pot dinners are a favorite also. Good service- good dishes. Why is there no Chicken Pho? :-(

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We, a party of 4, dined here a couple of days ago. It is conveniently located right off the freeway (5), and parking was no problem. The ground shrimp grilled on sugar cane (appetizer) was just OK. The traditional style fish soup was too spicy for us. Sauted eggplant with chicken and fresh basil was OK (a bit too sweet). The price was reasonable. The service was not terrific (They were clearing the table while we were still eating). We were disappointed, as when we had dined here in the past the food was better.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“My favorite local spot for a quiet dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This Vietnamese cafe is just plain fantastic, great friendly service, good wine list quiet setting stuffed into the corner of a "L" supermarket/Drug store mall, this place is just a neighborhood treasure.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Good food and atmosphere with relatively moderate price. Portions seemed kind of small for dinner plates.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bambou Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Le Bambou Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bambou Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.