We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stop.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sbicca

Sbicca
215 15th Street, Del Mar, CA 92014
(858) 481-1001
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sbicca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 81 Restaurants in Del Mar
Price range: $18 - $34
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Camino Del Mar
Transit: Camino Del Mar at 15th
Description: San Diego's favorite "Neighborhood" restaurant. Located in beautiful, quaint Del Mar and winner of the "Gold Medallion Award" for Best Neighborhood Restaurant awarded by the San Diego Chapter of the California Restaurant Association. Dine up on the Ocean View deck and take in the blue pacific while enjoying our award winning cuisine or sit on our ocean view sidewalk cafe and sip on one of our Wine Spectator award winning wine list wines.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice place to stop.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stopped in here for their happy hour. This is October, so just food items were offered at a discount. We were told that drinks will be on a happy hour discount starting next month. We each ordered a glass of Sauvignon Blanc and it was $8.00 a glass. That's about average. The happy hour menu had a good variety of items. I had a crab cake, which was quite a generous size, and placed on top of a wonderful seasoned sauce. My husband had the beef sliders. There were three on the plate and also very good. I do not remember the price, but we felt they were a good portion for the price.
It was nice out and we sat on the patio. It was a bit distracting because of all of the foot traffic, but the view of the ocean made up for that. This restaurant is located about a block from the water. If you eat inside, there is no view.
Our waitress was very nice, efficient, and knowledgeable about menu items, and beverages. We will return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    58
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I have visited Sbicca for dinner few times, good food and service, however I decided to invite a friend for lunch and it was a horrible mistake. We arrived at 12:25pm, they took our order fast but then ….not until 1:10 PM they decided to bring a basket with 4 tiny pieces of bread and marina sauce. We ordered from the special menu for restaurant week..price $15.00 for 2 entrees, on the first course we ordered a gazpacho and a salad…(both cold so easy to serve) again it took 20 minutes to bring the sad looking salad and the gazpacho. We ask for the rest of the meal to go , since we had to back to work…they boxed the lunch on a cardboard box…which is not the best choice if you are packing sauce, the cardboard sucked the sauce out of the pasta …we threw it out, also we ordered a club sandwich with a salad, but they packed it with French fries. Both dishes are NOT worth $15.00.

The funny part is I have been in restaurants when is packed with customers and you see the wait staff working so hard that you actually want to get up and help, in this case the restaurant had only few tables, the waiter nowhere to be found ….actually we could find anyone (manager, waiter, Host) for minutes to ask for our order. When we finally found something to ask ..where was our order? She replied… what did you ordered that is taking so long?!?!? Amazing

We complained to the manager, she offered to give us a free meal for next time…we told her there is NO next time, we are definitely not coming back and that was before we even looked our boxed lunch. She then offered to comp our meal, but they actually ran our CC and then we had to call to our CC companies make sure they cancel the transaction…

Sad to see a great restaurant in Del Mar gone downhill

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Quiet outdoor dining in Del Mar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

three of us ate dinner here on a Saturday night; the wait staff is courteous without being overbearing--our server was a little bit overtaxed the night we were there, but the meals were superb; lobster shrimp bisque delicious, salads very nice, Scallop and Salmon entrees were well prepared and inventive. Brownie sundae for dessert was devoured, even though we were all full! wine list is extensive with a good mix of European and US wines. this is a casual restaurant in a tourist town, so dress code is whatever you are wearing---although I've rated this casual sit down , because it is laid back, the food is out of the ordinary and our bill with a nice bottle of wine for 3 people was $184 without tip.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Everyone restaurant can struggle on any given night. However, when they perform poorly three times in a row, its a problem. I have been to Sbicca dozens of times since it first opened and for many years it was reliably a wonderful experience. What has changed? The service has deteriorated the most, whenever you wonder if the waiter has completely forgotten you its a bad sign. The food is inconsistently prepared and often overcooked. Both service and food were excellent in the previous years. The one bright spot is the seating, the new outdoor seating is lovely especially on a beautiful SoCal eve of which there are many in Del Mar. But a lovely spot doesn't make up for poor service and inconsistently prepared food. Sorry to see Sbicca's slide so far.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Nice lunch location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stopped by for a bottle of wine and lunch with our dog. What we had was great, can't wait to try a dinner here.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sbicca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sbicca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.