We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Ambiance & Shorty too!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Artistes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Les Artistes to your Saves list
Les Artistes
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   944 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Edmonds, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Loved the Ambiance & Shorty too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

People have either loved or hated this hotel-there are not many in between. I think that is telling. Not to dis the 'haters' but you really have to know what kind of person you are before you stay some place like this. It's not the Hilton or Motel 6. If that is your expectation you will be disappointed. It is whimsical with a Bohemian feel & a touch of quirky. We loved it! But they had me walking thru the front gate! :) It sent me back to childhood exploring a secret garden with all of the fountains, plants, statues & adornment in every nook and corner. The owners/staff were gracious and made us feel at home. They lit a roaring fire in the courtyard fireplace each evening which made it the perfect area to enjoy a glass of wine and visit. I imagine during the summer it's the place to be with your morning coffee. Thanks for making our stay in Del Mar memorable!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    16
    3
    4
    15
See reviews for
6
31
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Villa Park, California, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We spent two nights at Les Artistes in January, 2014. It's not a bad place, but it's not wonderful, either. They decorated each room in the style of a different artist but the place needs a makeover - it's getting a bit old. No major complaints - the room was okay but could have used a good cleaning - much better than what is done between guests.

One of the main reasons we stayed there was because they allow dogs. There are other hotels in Del Mar that also accept dogs, from L'Auberge at the high end to Hotel Indigo at the moderate end.

Overall, I wouldn't really recommend Les Artistes. There are other hotels in Del Mar that are nicer, about the same price, and also permit dogs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We recently spent New Year's Eve and the night after at Les Artistes in the De Lempicka room. Its a corner unit on the bottom floor with a small ocean view and outside seating. The rooms are individually decorated and named after different artists. The exterior is also artistically done by the owners. It's a unique place and probably not for everyone. The fact that it is family run with considerable help from the ever helpful Scott has made us return time after time for the last seventeen years. It is a short easy walk to the beach and downtown Del Mar. New Year's Eve we walked to the beach, shared a toast, walked past a nearby party and returned to our room happy we had decided to stay here for the Holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms are named after various artists. Look for an artist who's work you appreciate. Prices va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at les Artistes for 1 night (after a fun day at Del Mar Race Track) and wished we had stayed longer. It's cute, relaxing and very unique. There were 3 couples and we all had quite different rooms that were decorated and based on specific artists. Relaxing courtyard area with coffee/fruit in the am, magazines and books and just a relaxing area to hang out. The owners are a very nice couple that were friendly and provided great service!. Oh, and it's in a great area, short walk to the beach and many great restaurants and shops. We'll be back for sure.
Thanks for making our short stay wonderful!
Carol & Dave, Huntington Beach

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Each room is showing a different artist and is unquie place to stay. Very relaxing and kind of reminded us of being in Hawaii for far less money. Beats staying at other places like Holiday Inn and free parking and wi-fi. We will be back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The staff is clueless, and some crazy lady with an accent is absolutely useless. Booking was a nightmare and forget trying to make any special requests or changes.

There are so many lovely hotels in Del Mar, why stay here?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

we had a vacation in San Diego and we chose to stay in Les Artistes,as we paid by the credit card the lady who works in customer service and apparently she's the owner too "an Asian lady with long black hair" only gave us the credit card receipt,we stayed for few days and then we had to cut the vacation and go to LA for few days to be back to San Diego again and stay in the same hotel,we explained that to the lady and asked her to refund us the rest of the money in case anything came up and we weren't able to come back to San Diego,she gave us an attitude and said NO,I asked why!!! we didn't sign on a non refund policy while paying or anything,she said I just can't do that even if you're coming back I don't care,and when we asked her for our passports SHE THREW THEM TO US ON THE COUNTER!!! REALLY!!!! I believe people stay in hotels on vacations because they want to take a rest from the stressful life not to get more stress from such rude people,I WILL NEVER RECOMMEND IT TO ANYBODY,FAIL.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Artistes

Address: 944 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Les Artistes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Les Artistes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Artistes Hotel Del Mar
Les Artistes Del Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Artistes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.