We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Izakaya Food in Del Mar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shimbashi Izakaya

Shimbashi Izakaya
1555 Camino Del Mar, #201, Del Mar, CA 92014
8585230479
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Shimbashi Izakaya is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 79 restaurants in Del Mar
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Paseos De Las Flores
Description: Shimbashi's theme is based on the Izakaya, a Japanese tapas restaurant. We offer a multi-faceted menu that can be used as a pairing with sake for the light eater or sophisticated dinner entrees served in the Japanese tradition. Our menu changes with the season making each dining experience a new adventure.
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Izakaya Food in Del Mar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had a delightful lunch on the patio of Restaurant Shimbashi. It was a beautiful day, and the patio allows a view of the ocean. Ambience does count. No worries about the food. We ordered variety of dishes, and al were terrific: from the seafood miso soup to sashimi to tempera to skewers to udon. We will definitely return when we are next in the area. Prices were reasonable for the quality of food but not cheap. Service was obliging and friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    4
    8
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Go There”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

What a nice surprise. Walking up some stairs towards the sound of music from a bar not far away, I've chosen this restaurant for dinner a Sunday evening on a terrace face to the sea.
I've enjoyed and excellent sashimi with fresh fish, and great rolls, the "La Fresca Roll" and the "Celebration Roll". I was so delighted I took two rolls. They are also specialized in Sake, and tasted their Junmai Sake Sampler. Everything was delightful. Even though the service was efficient, not once I saw a smile, unfortunately. I was also a bit surprised by the over price on the dishes, but that is true everywhere in Del Mar.
Otherwise, I recommend this place both for the view and the food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Average food, good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Very average sushi. I have had much better sushi in California, but this wasn't what I look forward to when coming here. One of our party insisted on inside dining, but the outside dining looked quite inviting. The inside parking garage is very convenient & I like the Del Mar Plaza in general.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Authentic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is one of my families favorite places to eat. We live in La Jolla and when our kids are home, we head up for our fix. We love that it's authentic Japanese food. This "style" considered a "fast food" in Japan, hence the name and tradition at transit stops.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“In the heart of Del Mar Plaza a fantastic Japanese restaurant with very good sushi, too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Continuing our little visit over the weekend in San Diego... we ended up at Shimbashi in Del Mar... for a couple of reasons: 1) we wanted an assortment of regular, comfort Japanese food, and 2) a good sushi place. To boot... if you ever want to catch the sunset... in February around 5:30pm... this is not a bad bet amongst all of the other restaurants on the Street and Market levels of this shopping complex in the heart of Del Mar.

With the little ones only eating Udon noodles, agadashi tofu, gyoza, and edamami... one has to pick a Japanese food joint with enough of these regular comfort food offerings. Other than the gyoza being filled w/ a ground beef mixture (compared to the more preferable pork)... the others hit their mark.

We arrived just after 5, and happy hour was in full swing... so my wife and I ordered the hot sake, and a few items off the sushi hh menu... but she also ordered off the regular menu as well. We love Yellowtail w/ Jalapenos and SI's was delicate and powerful. No wasabi, no soy sauce... just straight from the plate w/ a few strands of watercrest sprouts and white radish!

Another winner is the Plump fried shrimp with honey glaze sauce... five nice sized fresh shrimp deep fried to perfection and bathed in a liberal amount of the honey glaze sauce.

We ended up ordering the spicy tuna roll twice! Also had the clam soup... which was filled with clams and the deep brown flavorful soup.

So with the help of happy hour... a good sampling of sushi, regular menu items, and hot sake... oh wait... with my fourteen year old... we always have to have dessert... but truth be told even without her I would have order the Orange Chocolate Mousse Cake... yeah... that was a winner!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shimbashi Izakaya also viewed

 

Been to Shimbashi Izakaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shimbashi Izakaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.