We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“June 2014” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel

BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   234 D Street, Davis, CA 95616   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Davis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“June 2014”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We like this hotel for its amenities, its closeness to our family's home and downtown Davis. We visit our family here at least once every year and have chosen Best Western Palm Court as our hotel for the past 10 years. We also like the fact that the rooms are essential suites, which means that our grandchildren can have an"overnight" with us when we are here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank johnwU7632PX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for letting your fellow travelers about your experience at our hotel. We value your feedback and your loyalty to Best Western Palm Court Plus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
San Mateo, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Hotel did not honor our reservation, made months in advance through Booking.com for our son's law school graduation. Claimed "everything in your room is broken." Did not try to contact us in advance. Gave us no compensation. Sent us miles away to stay elsewhere at a less desirable hotel with barely an apology. Worst hotel experience in all our years of traveling!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenor N, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Good - Location: The Palm Court is located in downtown and for my visit, it was perfectly located. Close to the UC Davis campus and all the great restaurants and shops in downtown Davis.
Good - Staff: From the staff at the front desk to the housekeeping staff, all were very friendly. I needed utensils and later, a new key card for my room and the young man at the front desk was very accommodating.
Good - Restaurant: The restaurant in the building is called Café Bernardo. Really enjoy their food. Lot's salads, soups and great house made bread, plus my daughter had the flank steak and said it was wonderful. I had a roasted turkey breast sandwich with avocado and bacon, also quite tasty. They also serve a great breakfast.
Good - Accommodations: We loved the room. It was a split level with a living room and desk area upstairs and a bed an bathroom downstairs. The room was very clean and included nice bath products and a Keurig coffee maker. There is also coffee to go available in the lobby at 7:00. I wish it was available earlier as I was there for work and would like to have taken one on the road, but had to leave early. If water pressure is a concern for you, be advised its a bit light, but the shower head is adjustable so we just changed the setting and it was fine.
Good - Décor: This is a "boutique" hotel and is decorated well with a baby grand piano and palm trees in the lounge area. Lots of ceiling fans combined with the palms makes it feel a bit Casablanca-esque.
Bad - Noise: There is a bar on site - Which we discovered on our last night when what sounded like a sorority party began cheering. As it turns out the bar was located directly UNDER our room and had been fortunately quiet the first 3 nights. When I called the desk to find out what was up, the woman who answered offered to let us sleep in another room. As we were already for bed, we passed and made use of the earplugs that had been provided. I knew why the earplugs were provided at that point, but the noise detracted from what was an otherwise comfortable room (the bed and pillows were very comfy). The hotel was not full and I can't figure out why we were given a room over the bar when it clearly must be an ongoing problem. Over all the hotel is nice so I am still recommending it with this caveat ... Insist on a room that is NOT above the bar.

Room Tip: I gave sleep quality an average based on our overall experience for several days. We had one night o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank obispo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your review and thank you for your kind words about our staff. Here at Best Western Palm Court Plus, we value our guests feedback and we appreciate your business. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Great boutique like hotel in downtown Davis. Close to everything...restaurants, bars, shops, etc. The staff was attentive on my late checkin (11pm). The bar directly below my room was full but I didn't hear a thing! This is a definite yes to stay when you are visiting Davis. I will be back, without a doubt! Clean rooms, junior suites and ergonomic with motion sensor lighting in your rooms

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Roberto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were two families traveling with preschool grandchildren, so each room was a suite and there was a terrace with furniture that was outside both rooms. The mattresses on the main beds were superb. The fold-out sofa beds were standard, that is, not so great, but honestly you can't find a good sofa bed in even the best, most fancy hotel, so I don't fault them for that. The showers and jacuzzis were very luxurious. Both rooms had fancy coffee makers that also made teas. The restaurant in the lobby, Bernardo's, was wonderful for the one meal we ate there, which was breakfast. I think at least one review described noise, but when we were there, which was over a weekend, it was completely quiet. We were very pleased and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank EenieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. We thank you for taking the time and letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised during our stay at the Best Western Palm Court in Davis, CA. The staff went out of their way to welcome us and asked, repeatedly how they could help us with our stay. They gave us directions to restaurant we wanted to visit, gave us a "goodie" bag at check in and made our stay very pleasurable. Kudos to the establishment

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank judi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your experience. We are pleased to know that our front desk staff meet your expectations and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

My family and I have stayed here a number of times are always satisfied. We come to Davis several times a year and have stay in many different hotels. Out of every place we've stayed, this hotel by far out ways the competition. The rooms are spacey, the beds are super soft and it's very comfortable. It's a little pricey, but you can't beat the location, friendly staff and piece of mind.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
We truly appreciate your feedback and we are glad to know that you prefer our hotel here in Davis CA. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Davis
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place UC Davis
Hyatt Place UC Davis
#1 of 11 in Davis
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Inn at UC Davis
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Davis - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Davis
0.3 mi away
University Park Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel

Address: 234 D Street, Davis, CA 95616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Davis
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Truly Unique, Non-Smoking, All Suite Boutique Hotel located in the heart of downtown Davis. This hotel offers convenient access to the University pf California, Davis, Davis Art Center, the Davis Comic Opera, several restaurants, shops and many other key attractions. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel's spacious and affordable suites each offer cable satellite television, a refrigerator and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Additional amenities at this Northern California hotel include a steam room, fitness center and business services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Davis
Davis Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing