We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JC's Davis Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   234 D Street, Davis, CA 95616   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Pebble Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“JC's Davis Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Charming hotel in downtown Davis. Location is excellent. Bar/Lounge was nice, room was nice. Staff is friendly. Bed was comfortable. Problems were internet didn't work, TV in family room wasn't connected to cable, dirty towel from previous guest was left hanging on back of door, tub drained slowly, Fitness Center is on 3rd floor & is very loud when someone uses the treadmill.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your experience at our hotel. We truly apologize for any troubles that you may encountered we will review with our staff the issues that you listed on your review and we will do everything in our power to exceed your expectations the next time you visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    31
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
26
13
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Osos, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Well situated. Better than average rooms. Some street/alley noise. Underground parking is very limited-not enough if the hotel is full. Attentive staff. No breakfast. In room Keurig coffee maker-a bonus! Mini-refrigerator, but no microwave.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for giving us your feedback. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our newest amenity, our Keurig Coffee Makers with Starbucks coffee in the room. Our hotel does not offer breakfast in the morning because we have Cafe Bernardo on site.We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We arrive at 7PM on a Saturday night to find that there is no parking available at the hotel (about 10 spots in the garage for the whole hotel - which are, of course, full) and no parking for blocks surrounding the hotel. When we check in we are told that a light breakfast will be available at 7AM the next morning. At 7:10AM there is coffee but nothing else. We ask when the rest of it will be available and are told - just coffee - nothing else. Well - I can't feed my kids coffee for breakfast. Luckily, a the nice front desk clerk took pity on me and grabbed 2 yogurts from somewhere for my kids. The hotel is nice enough and very clean. Overall - I would NEVER stay there again.

Room Tip: Given how busy the street traffic is, try to get a 3rd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
thank you for taking the time and letting us know about your stay with us. We do apologize for any issues you may have encountered. Our parking is limited and is first come fist serve but we will accommodate our guests. Our hotel does not offer breakfast because we have Cafe Bernardo on site. We do provide Starbucks coffee and a morning snack ( varies seasonal). We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Old hotel on the corner in downtown Davis. Parking available below the hotel. We stayed in a king bed suite. Unfortunately, the bedroom was the corner of the hotel above the sidewalks. We could hear people on the street below us throughout the night. Wifi did not work in the bedroom and was spotty in the sitting room. Bathtub had a rubber mat that was partially cemented to the tub - when taking a bath, part of the mat would float - made you wonder how sanitary is was. The bed was very comfortable, the room large, and the air conditioner was not noisy.

Room Tip: If you want a king suite that is quiet, make sure you are not above the street corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleming Island, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in early October. I travel for work (at the University) and have friends nearby. This location allows me to not only be on campus without traffic in the mornings, but allow me a place to park my car and walk to cafe's and local shopping. Restaurant has good affordable food and the staff is very friendly. A good value and a repeat experience every time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for giving us your review. We are very happy to know that you are a frequent guest of ours. As you stated we are only 3 blocks away from UCDAVIS and we are in the middle of downtown with many shops and restaurants just minutes away, all within walking distance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed here for three nights in September and was very pleased with the accommodations. It was quiet, very clean, and within walking distance to cafes and restaurants, which was very important to me because I have a leg injury. I will definitely stay here again when I return to Davis.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Very Sorry to hear about your leg injury. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Give us a call next time you are coming to Davis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Palm Court is right in the middle of the square of streets that make up downtown Davis. Parking under the hotel and wi-fi in the room, are free. I stayed in 207 which is large with an upstairs entrance and a set of steps down into the bedroom/bathroom section. Neat, clean, large enough in which to roller skate if you have a mind to. Breakfast doesn't exist although there is a coffee service. Personally, I would recommend the University Lodge, also a BW property, over this due to the significantly lower price per room, closer to campus location, free wi-fi and a breakfast (of sorts) offered. This is also neat and clean, easy parking onsite, but is in the style of an old-fashioned (1960s, say) motel. If having larger rooms is important, the Palm Court is probably the best choice; if price, then the University. Services and location and quality are basically the same at both properties. Both places are fine but in my book, I will choose the University Lodge each time.

Room Tip: Upstairs is always a good choice. Street side may be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. Every Best Western In independently owned and operated and they all have different amenities. We are in the prime downtown location as you mentioned. We do have Cafe Bernardo on site and provide Starbucks Coffee every morning. Best Western Palm Court is an all suite hotel hence the larger more spacious rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel

Address: 234 D Street, Davis, CA 95616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Davis
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Truly Unique, Non-Smoking, All Suite Boutique Hotel located in the heart of downtown Davis. This hotel offers convenient access to the University pf California, Davis, Davis Art Center, the Davis Comic Opera, several restaurants, shops and many other key attractions. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel's spacious and affordable suites each offer cable satellite television, a refrigerator and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Additional amenities at this Northern California hotel include a steam room, fitness center and business services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Best Western and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Davis
Davis Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.