We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay. Minor maintenance problems” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Davis - University Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Davis - University Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Davis - University Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1640 Research Park Drive, Davis, CA 95618 (Formerly Comfort Suites UC Davis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Carlisle, Massachusetts, Usa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice stay. Minor maintenance problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

A well appointed and friendly hotel. Above average breakfast and 24 hour coffee pot in the lobby. The only issues were a lamp that didn't work properly and malfunctioning TV that made channel selection random. Overall a pleasant stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were in Davis for one night and found this hotel to be very comfortable and quiet. We were on the first floor and were a little worried about noise from the lobby, but we only heard people when they were in the hall right outside our door. We didn't hear any noise (including showers or toilets flushing) from neighboring rooms and very little sound from people walking across the room above us. The breakfast was good but if we wanted something a little more, IHOP was just across the parking lot. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The next time we come to Davis we will be sure to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel-by-the-Sea, CA, USA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Best value in Davis at government rates. Decent place. Could use more aggressive facility maintenance, but rooms are clean, thus the 3 instead of 4 star rating. Not bad value for the $. I will stay here gain when in Davis on business. As far as I can tell, you'll have to pay a lot more to get a better hotel in Davis.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Local93921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The location is excellent. Its a very short distance away from downtown Davis so parking isn't a major issue. There are restaurants in walking distance. The manager is a friendly guy he made me feel welcome and my "Special Request" was honored. So they do take into consideration your needs.
The beds are so comfortable along with the fluffy pillows. You have a hot tasty breakfast in the mornings and you also have the convenience of a microwave and mini fridge. I highly recommend this hotel and I will definitely stay again!!

Room Tip: Any room you choose should be good and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 757Raspberrypony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

The desk clerk was very nice on check in and this hotel is located on a quiet street less than 5 minutes from UC Davis/downtown so it's very convenient for visiting parents. It is also relatively quiet, which is something I appreciate. The ammenities--fridge, microwave, sink, sofa, etc-- are also nice to have.

But there is a drawback and, for me, it is a major one: the internet wifi is abysmally slow (waiting 3-5 minutes for a page to load, timing out, etc.) I eventually gave up.

If having a good internet connection is important to you, you might want to shop around some more. I travel frequently, and I've also stayed in other hotels in Davis, but this is by far the slowest public wifi I have used (maybe it's just this night or just my room?). So, Because of this, the other conveniences of staying here are not enough to make up for the inconvenience of slow wifi service and I need to look elsewhere for my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisElleW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Good price. Comfortable beds. I am a poor sleeper and these beds were quite comfortable. Staff is friendly and helpful. We had a special needs family member that needed oxygen delivery and the staff was competent and helpful. Complementary breakfast is nice. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zappos123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uchaud, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Sited close to the freeway, this was a great place to stay. Also, close to the centre of town to enjoy the restaurants and delights of the "village". The rooms were comfortable, very quite and basic. I was disappointed to see styrofoam coffee mugs in the rooms, it didn't say much for value, but it was a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guckster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davis hotels
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place UC Davis
Hyatt Place UC Davis
#1 of 11 in Davis
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Inn at UC Davis
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Davis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
University Park Inn and Suites
0.7 mi away
Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Davis - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Davis - University Area

Address: 1640 Research Park Drive, Davis, CA 95618 (Formerly Comfort Suites UC Davis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Davis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Davis - University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Davis - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Uc Davis Hotel Davis
Comfort Suites Davis
Davis Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing