We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit in Davis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hallmark Inn at UC Davis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hallmark Inn at UC Davis to your Saves list
Hallmark Inn at UC Davis
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 F St, Davis, CA 95616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great visit in Davis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Looked at several hotels online to visit the University with my college bound daughter scouting out schools and the hotel was a pleasant surprise. The hotel is in the heart of the community and a mere few blocks away from the University. The lobby was clean, vibrant, fresh, airy and comfortable. Driving to Davis was horrendous so we checked in after 8pm, leaving just a few minutes of daylight. The Davis area was inviting and the hotel was welcoming. Just having a 1 night stay, we checked in and had a room on the 1st floor. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable and with 100 degree weather, the a/c worked perfectly. The hotel provides you with a 10% discount to the ice cream eatery right next door (and their ice cream sandwiches were amazing by the way); also you received up to $8.50 pp on breakfast next door. We took advantage of the pool area for a short while but we walked around the area, not once, but twice, to soak up all that we could of the small downtown area. My daughter and I had a great time and great stay. If she's accepted at the school, we would choose to stay at the Hallmark again. The price was right and the hotel had alot to offer. You simply can't lose.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkInn, General Manager at Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
On behalf of the entire team, Thank You, for sharing your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at the Hallmark Inn at UC Davis. It sounds as though you made up for the later arrival by enjoying the pool, wonderful treats at CREAM, and community. Hopefully your daughter has the opportunity to join the students at UC Davis and you get to enjoy one of the excellent selections we offer from local wineries in our lounge from 5-7pm reception each evening. We hope to have you visit us again..... hallmarkinn.com Sincerely- Marisa Schaffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    67
    26
    11
    9
See reviews for
80
30
17
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Check-in was fast although I wish all the hotel's amenities had been explained - there was no mention of the free bikes or anything like that. Although I found that I'd rather walk since everything was so close. Room was fine, although the main lamp switch was broken and power outlets were hard to find. Wifi worked well; got 10 mbps and slowed to around 3 mbps at peak times. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. I heard the train once before I went to sleep and didn't hear it again, guess I'm a heavy sleeper. I didn't try the breakfast or the attached restaurant. The pool looked nice but I didn't use it. Will stay here again when visiting Davis.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkInn, General Manager at Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience during your recent stay and I have spoken with our front desk team to be sure to let our guests know of the bicycles and wonderful restaurant, Seasons, on our property. We are looking into a way to provide additional power outlets in the room to accommodate all the great new electronics available to us all. Be sure to try the breakfast as well as the pool the next time you travel through town. We look forward to the opportunity of another visit at hallmarkinn.com .....Sincerely, Marisa Schaffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Friendly and efficient staff, good prices, excellent location, clean comfortable rooms with all of the amenities including a hot breakfast- everything that you could want when visiting either the University or the city in general. Easy walking distance to restaurants of all types and price ranges, and multiple transportation options for those not pressed for time. I always recommend the Hallmark for travel to Davis.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkInn, General Manager at Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Thank you, on behalf of the Hallmark Inn at UC Davis team, for making our hotel the place you stay at when in town. We are pleased that you enjoy all the wonderful amenities we have to offer and look forward to seeing you again at hallmarkinn.com
Sincerely- Marisa Schaffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We just stayed at the Inn for my 50th high school reunion and were delighted with the service, accommodations, comfort of our room, and cleanliness of the entire facility. An added bonus was a complimentary drink during happy hour (very good wine, beer, and mixed drinks) and a nice breakfast room with great service and good breakfast choices (also complimentary). If it weren't so close to home, we'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We had a discounted group rate and chose a king suite with balcony over the parking area. Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkInn, General Manager at Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
On behalf of the entire team of the Hallmark Inn UC Davis, thank you for sharing your experience during your recent high school reunion. I am glad you enjoyed the local wines we offer in our Courtyard Lounge as well the wonderful breakfast selections in Cafe 110. Check back with us on specials we may be offering for a "Staycation"....what we like to reference as a reason to stay in a hotel not too far from home....minimal travel expenses and a whole lot of fun! Looking forward to your next visit-Sincerely, Marisa Schaffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Everyone on the staff is extremely friendly. The hotel is clean and well decorated. And, of course, it's the perfect location: you can walk or bike to pretty much everything in town. The complimentary bikes made it easy to reach destinations which were too far to walk (and since Davis is such a bike-friendly city, we never had to use our car). The nightly receptions in the hotel bar and the free breakfasts in the adjoining cafe were a nice touch. Also, there are several excellent restaurants within a short walk.

Room Tip: I'd imagine rooms facing the street, might be quieter. Our room was in back facing the Amtrak s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkInn, General Manager at Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent visit to Davis. Our team is a wonderful collection of students, locals and individuals that enjoy being a member of the hospitality industry. I am glad you were able to take advantage of the bicycles to go out and explore the town. A wonderful excursion if you have the day is to ride to Winters were a majority of the wine we offer in our nightly reception is created....not too mention some more wonderful restaurants. We look forward to the opportunity of a future visit- Sincerely, Marisa Schaffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed one night here driving back from San Francisco. Hotels were rather high there, so I looked at locations on my route back. The location was easy to get to and in a really nice area. I had booked a reservation, based on all the great reviews. Didn't arrive till 10 pm, so I missed the nightly reception. Had to wait to get checked in, as someone was ahead of me. Check-in staff was quick and very nice. Parking is behind the hotel next to building two and there is also a parking garage area with a few spots.

My room was nice and the pillows and bed were very comfortable. Room was warm, due to air not running before arrival. The a/c units are similar to ones used when we were in South America. It quickly cooled the room down.

Some people have complained about the train noise (there is an Amtrak station behind the hotel). This was not bad at all. I thought it added to the character of the hotel. I only really heard it when I was outside. I slept in and skipped breakfast. So I cannot attest to how good it is. There is a "cafe" next to the hotel (really a part of the hotel) that provides breakfast. The hotel provides a ticket for $8.50 towards your meal. There is a Whole Foods about a block away. So I just went and got something there on my way out of town.

I enjoyed my experience here and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkInn, General Manager at Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
On behalf of the entire team at the Hallmark Inn UC Davis, thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful detailing of your recent visit. It is nice to hear that our energy efficient efforts with a sensor HVAC system does its part in cooling the room down quickly once you arrive. The train truly is a part of the towns character by extension ours; although I am still working on coordinating the "wake up" calls to the horn blowing. The Cafe 110 does a wonderful job that I hope on a future visit you may be able to enjoy.....try the warm breakfast bread pudding with yogurt....my favorite. Sincerely, Marisa Schaffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Great Hotel, we will go back anytime ! Location was great, walking distance from every where. Lovely breakfast and ambiance. Impeccable all around the hotel. The pool area with méditerranéen atmosphère. We enjoy 5 to 7 close to the pool too.

Room Tip: View at the pool top floor, we enjoyed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkInn, General Manager at Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
On behalf of the entire team at the Hallmark Inn UC Davis thank you for sharing your experience. Davis is a wonderful community to explore on foot or by bicycle....you miss too much in a car trying to park. We are glad you enjoyed the ambiance of the Courtyard patio and lounge area. We look forward to a future visit- Sincerely, Marisa Schaffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hallmark Inn at UC Davis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn at UC Davis

Address: 110 F St, Davis, CA 95616
Location: United States > California > Davis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hallmark Inn at UC Davis 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm, comfort and convenience is what you will find when you stay at the Hallmark Inn at UC Davis. Our outdoor pool and patio is an oasis for you to relax and unwind while enjoying locally produced wines and beer from the Courtyard Lounge. Our spacious 120 guest rooms have plush bedding, complimentary Wi-Fi, and so much more. We are proud to have been recognized for our eco-friendly efforts, including providing complimentary bicycles for our guests. For business or pleasure, we're the only full service hotel located in downtown Davis. Our location puts you within walking distance of the UC Davis campus, restaurants, boutiques and art galleries. A few steps from the hotel lobby leads you to dining, relaxing at Massage Envy or taking in a show. Cafe 110 features items such as a daily egg scramble, homemade breakfast bread pudding, a variety of grilled sandwiches, salads and soup for lunch and for your sweet tooth CREAM is right next door. Voted Best in Davis, Seasons restaurant in the Hallmark Inn at UC Davis features an open kitchen with stone hearth oven and outdoor dining for lunch and dinner. The seasonal menu focuses on locally grown and organic products with an extensive wine list. Private dining and catering are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookIt.com, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hallmark Inn at UC Davis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Inn Davis Hotel Davis
Hallmark Hotel Davis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.