We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms, Great Prices, GREAT Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hallmark Inn at UC Davis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hallmark Inn at UC Davis to your Saves list
Hallmark Inn at UC Davis
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 F St, Davis, CA 95616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Rooms, Great Prices, GREAT Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

First timer in Davis, I can't wait to go back! Booked the hotel based on the reviews and they did NOT disappoint! Hallmark Inn was very clean and exactly what I was looking for. The person at the front desk (Richard?) was extremely helpful and suggested several places to visit during my business trip. Lets just say I came here for business but left with pleasure...Nuff' said!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkInn, General Manager at Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
On behalf of the entire team of the Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, I want to say Thank You for staying with us and sharing your experience. The staff does their best to insure guests are enjoying their visit to town. Thank you for acknowledging the efforts of team member, Richard....we appreciate all he does to insure guests are well taken care of. Looking forward to a second visit...Sincerely-Marisa Schaffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    67
    26
    11
    9
See reviews for
83
30
17
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here during move-in weekend for UC Davis. The look of the hotel was of an older hotel remodeled to reflect a modern boutique look. The lobby was very nice, as well as the hallways, but the room looked to be a little older. The location was wonderful, right in the heart of the downtown area, convenient walking distance to restaurants and theaters (one right across the street). A simple breakfast is included, not a buffet, but definitely a cut above continental. You are give a choice of eggs, oatmeal, bread pudding, or granola/yogurt, coffee/tea and juice provided.

While the bed was comfortable, and I slept well, the sheets were scratchy. I also found the housekeeping to be a little lax. There was a lot of dust in the room, but the bathroom was clean. We also had the room above what we decided was the meeting place for Davis students, a cookie/ ice cream store open until 12 am. It was a bit noisy.

Next time I stay in Davis while moving my daughter might be here, or it might be at the Hyatt Place. The Hyatt had a better breakfast, was cleaner and had better linens, but the Hallmark Inn can't be beat for the location and the beds, linens not withstanding, are more comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkInn, General Manager at Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
On behalf of the Hallmark Inn team I want to say thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. I am glad you liked the newly renovated areas and our central location. Cafe 110 has just recently taken over the operations of breakfast service so you will see some new variety in the selections they offer. I forwarded your concern about the sheets to our linen supplier to insure they are following the right Quality Control along with discussing how our team can do a better job of inspection of the linens and removing of the dust. It appears you were here on the Grand Opening Day for CREAM: Cookies Rule Everything Around Me shoppe so I apologize if there was excessive noise. I have spoken with the owner and managers to make sure they are enjoying but not at the expense of others such as yourself. I hope you will give us another opportunity next time you come to Davis. Sincerely- Marisa Schaffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here when dropping my son off at UC Davis to start school. The location was perfect. We were close to the university and in the heart of downtown where all the restaurants and shops are. The beds were very nice and the hotel is very clean and has an upscale look about it. Even though it looks fancy the price was lower than most of the other hotels that I called when deciding where to book a room. When I told my husband that it was the least expensive place I called, he was worried about what it was going to be like. Let me tell you that he was pleasantly surprised! The people working there are all very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed the complimentary drinks in the bar each night too. The train is nearby but don't let that scare you. Every once in a while I heard it but it was a very soft sound and we never had our sleep disturbed by it.

Room Tip: We had a view of the inside courtyard and pool which was nice but next time I would ask for a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkInn, General Manager at Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you on behalf of the entire team at the Hallmark Inn for sharing your experience at our hotel. Our objective is to be not only competitive in our pricing but to also offer a great value to our guests as we all appreciate the expense of putting a child through college. If you have joined the Cal Aggie Alumni/Parent Assoc be sure to let us know and present your membership card to get a complimentary upgrade to your room. Ask for a view of "F" Street as you will definitely get to experience the local street activity from our newly opened retail spaces including......Massage Envy, Cafe 110 and CREAM--Cookies Rule Everything Around Me!!! Looking forward to the opportunity of a next visit.....Sincerely, Marisa Schaffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The location is right in the middle of town one street over from the Amtrak station. Everything in town is close to Amtrak so few toots in the night didn't bother me. Each night free drink in the bar which was very nice. Free wireless, free breakfast included. Seemed to change slightly during stay but effectively get $8.50 credit which can use on hotbreakfast (eg egg omelete) or make up to that value from muffins etc. Coffee and juice included. Recommend making use of the free bikes - hugh amount of fun to ride and Davis is bike paradise. Good location and recommend. Pool wasn't heated, so "refreshing". Thanks

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkInn, General Manager at Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you on behalf of the team at the Hallmark Inn Davis for staying with us and sharing your experience. I am glad you enjoyed our proximity to the central part of town as well as the train station. The Cafe 110 has transitioned to new owners/management and they are creating some wonderful food choices so our guests may have more freedom in their breakfast selection. I'm glad you took advantage of our bicycles and hope you used one of the great maps we have available to tour the area. We look forward to the opportunity of your next visit to our great town....sincerely Marisa Schaffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel itself is pretty nice with a nice lobby, modern room and comfortable bedding, but my experience there was not great. At 2 a.m., the fire alarm went off and I exited the hotel. I stood outside with some other guests, but there was no hotel employee to let us know what was happening. After a few minutes, the alarm was silent and we returned to our rooms- no employee was ever seen during this time. At breakfast the next morning, the space was chaotic. You have to order your breakfast at the counter and there was a long line. There was nowhere to sit for the first 5 minutes after I had ordered. Also, not all of the offerings are included and they were selling the other items (drinks, pastries, etc.). I waited for about 30 minutes and finally asked to have my breakfast wrapped to go, since I had to leave. So, not a bad hotel, but not one that I would be excited about a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkInn, General Manager at Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
On behalf of the team at the Hallmark Inn I must apologize that you were not informed that the alarm was a false one as one of our International Guests thought the "Pull Station" would bring an attendant to her room....of course it did much more. By the time the Security walked the area after being given the all clear most guests had returned to their rooms. We have transitioned to an independent owner of the Cafe 110 so you will be finding a new variety has been added to our selections with coffee and juice included for our overnight guests. I hope you give us an opportunity of a future stay-
Sincerely, Marisa Schaffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I happened to stay at the Hallmark Inn on a night when they were having some sort of annual wine tasting event. There was free beer and wine, incredible hors d'oeuvres, and a really fun atmosphere. The room my wife and I were in was clean and comfortable. The hotel is situated in the heart of downtown Davis so we were within walking distance of many fine restaurants (in case the free food didn't fill us up). Another plus is that there is a movie theater situated directly across the street. We took advantage of that and caught a flick before retiring to a pleasant and quiet slumber. Free breakfast in the morning was the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkInn, General Manager at Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hallmark Inn during our Fall Welcome Reception held annually in conjunction with the September 2nd Friday ArtAbout in Davis. We like to showcase to visitors and community the wonderful creations that local artists, wineries and chefs have created to enhance our hotel. The wine and beer you sampled that evening was all produced in the Yolo County region which we also offer each evening in our lounge along with some incredible hors d' oeuvres from Seasons Restaurant located right here on our property. I am glad you enjoyed the party and accommodations.....we hope to have you visit us again soon! Sincerely, Marisa Schaffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Loved this cool little inn where I stayed with my three kids on our recent visit to tour UC Davis with my oldest son. Complimentary bikes an awesome perk that kicked off a great afternoon biking through town and on path through the University area. Capped that off with great happy hour --wine and sodas, plus munchies -- and easy walk to a bazillion choices of ethnic fare and adventurous dinner. Staff was always gracious and accommodating. Complimentary breakfast lovely and generous. This would be my regular stay if UC Davis is in our future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkInn, General Manager at Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Our location is a great place to park and then run, bike or walk around to experience the Davis Community....thank you for sharing! I am glad you found the staff, breakfast, lounge services and accommodations to your liking. There are some wonderful galleries as well so you have something new to view should you have the chance to visit us again- Sincerely, Marisa Schaffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hallmark Inn at UC Davis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn at UC Davis

Address: 110 F St, Davis, CA 95616
Location: United States > California > Davis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hallmark Inn at UC Davis 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm, comfort and convenience is what you will find when you stay at the Hallmark Inn at UC Davis. Our outdoor pool and patio is an oasis for you to relax and unwind while enjoying locally produced wines and beer from the Courtyard Lounge. Our spacious 120 guest rooms have plush bedding, complimentary Wi-Fi, and so much more. We are proud to have been recognized for our eco-friendly efforts, including providing complimentary bicycles for our guests. For business or pleasure, we're the only full service hotel located in downtown Davis. Our location puts you within walking distance of the UC Davis campus, restaurants, boutiques and art galleries. A few steps from the hotel lobby leads you to dining, relaxing at Massage Envy or taking in a show. Cafe 110 features items such as a daily egg scramble, homemade breakfast bread pudding, a variety of grilled sandwiches, salads and soup for lunch and for your sweet tooth CREAM is right next door. Voted Best in Davis, Seasons restaurant in the Hallmark Inn at UC Davis features an open kitchen with stone hearth oven and outdoor dining for lunch and dinner. The seasonal menu focuses on locally grown and organic products with an extensive wine list. Private dining and catering are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hallmark Inn at UC Davis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Inn Davis Hotel Davis
Hallmark Hotel Davis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.