We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hallmark Inn at UC Davis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hallmark Inn at UC Davis to your Saves list
Hallmark Inn at UC Davis
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 F St, Davis, CA 95616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Loved this cool little inn where I stayed with my three kids on our recent visit to tour UC Davis with my oldest son. Complimentary bikes an awesome perk that kicked off a great afternoon biking through town and on path through the University area. Capped that off with great happy hour --wine and sodas, plus munchies -- and easy walk to a bazillion choices of ethnic fare and adventurous dinner. Staff was always gracious and accommodating. Complimentary breakfast lovely and generous. This would be my regular stay if UC Davis is in our future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkInn, General Manager at Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Our location is a great place to park and then run, bike or walk around to experience the Davis Community....thank you for sharing! I am glad you found the staff, breakfast, lounge services and accommodations to your liking. There are some wonderful galleries as well so you have something new to view should you have the chance to visit us again- Sincerely, Marisa Schaffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    67
    26
    11
    9
See reviews for
83
30
17
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our daughter has just started an Internship at Davis University and we stayed at Hallmark Inn in Davis. Our stay was for 5 nights and it was most enjoyable. The location is right down town so you can walk to many of the outdoor coffee shops and restaurants. Also the Market that is held twice a week is just a few blocks away. The inn was very nice with a pool and included breakfast and complimentary evening drinks at the bar. The staff was always very helpful, and we will be staying there again when ever we go to visit our daughter. What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Stay away from the train tracks if possible but not a big problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkInn, General Manager at Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
On behalf of the team at the Hallmark Inn Davis, Thank you for sharing your experience. Be sure to take advantage of our UC Davis Family rate when you come back to visit your daughter!! We look forward to seeing you in the future- Sincerely, Marisa Schaffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I had to travel to Davis as my Portuguese Water Dog required surgery at the UC Davis Vet Center. From the moment we arrived, everyone at the hotel was wonderful to us and to our dog. A gift basket from the hotel management awaited her arrival and they went out of their way to accomodate us. I was under a great deal of stress as this was a high risk surgery (hence the trip from Burbank to Davis), but Marissa and her staff did everything to make it as comfortable as possible for me while my dog was in the vet hospital. She had an employee move me to a non dog friendly room when Duffy was admitted to Davis; everyone of her staff signed a card for Duffy, and more gifts for my dog and a bottle of wine for me were extra special treats.
The rooms were very clean, and this is a critique coming from a very germ phobic person. The bedding was exceptionally clean and comfortable, and they actually use fitted sheets which is a nice change from the usual flat sheet that pulls out from the mattress in the middle of the night. I cannot comment on the pillows as I travel with my own chiro pillow, but I didn't notice them being particularly flattened out. The hotel is right smack downtown, so it has the advantage of shops, restaurants, and movie theaters. One draw back is that it is right across the street from the railroad depot, so the first night the train whistles were disturbing, but by the 2nd night I didn't even hear them. I am not a big breakfast eater; usually a toasted bagel and coffee do the trick. The cafe had wonderful coffee, but no bread products, only sweet rolls. I understand that the cafe is undergoing revisions of the menu this week, so this may be resolved as of this writing.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room in the newer building on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool. It is away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkInn, General Manager at Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
On behalf of the entire team at the Hallmark Inn Davis I want to thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us. We are all very happy that Duffy made it through a successful surgery and recovery. A few of our team are a part of the UC Davis Vet Med program so they were especially pleased that Duffy did so well. I am also happy to report that with the transition of the Cafe 110 to an independent establishment they are now offering additional selections that also accommodates your request for bread items. We look forward to the opportunity of future stay where you and Duffy can explore the wonderful parks here in Davis- Sincerely Marisa Schaffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel is centrally located which makes it perfect! Close to shops, restaurants etc. The staff was nice. As for the overall stay, the rooms were nice, comfortable beds, fluffy pillows. The breakfast is so-so, there isn't a big variety to really choose from for entrees. And you can only select certain foods.
If you travel with certain medications that need to be refrigerated or have to warm up a formula or reheat your meals. You are out of luck as this hotel does not have these type of amenities. Some people complain about the train whistle, but others such as myself enjoy hearing it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkInn, General Manager at Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for selecting the Hallmark Inn Davis for your overnight accommodations. Our location is wonderful for walking &/or bicycling around. We have recently made a change that will enhance our breakfast options to add more variety. Some of our rooms are equipped with microwave and mini refrigerators so please let us know in advance if you require these so we can make the necessary arrangements. We look forward to the opportunity of a future stay- Sincerely Marisa Schaffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

New pool mural is huge and reflects Davis' tradition of art for everyone's enjoyment. Clean, nicely appointed lobby. Ample and delicious breakfast which was free. Plus they loan you bikes and helmets so you can move around Davis like a native.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkInn, General Manager at Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
On behalf of the Hallmark Inn Davis team I would like to say Thank you for selecting us for your overnight accommodations. The mural you referenced was created by local artist Stephanie Taylor showcasing her vision of Yolo County from Davis towards Winters. If you are looking for a great all day trip on bicycles, the town of Winters would be a wonderful excursion. We look forward to your continued patronage- Sincerely, Marisa Schaffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, AZ
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My family has stayed here several times while visiting my elderly father in Davis. I agree that the location of the Hallmark Inn is great for enjoying Davis. Lots of places to eat, shop, etc. Also the staff is very friendly. Rooms are pretty good (a little dark for my taste), tho I agree the pillows need to be replaced. At least there are a lot of them :D Loved the bath products, and the towels were nice also.

The minuses would be the occasional train & street noise, and the breakfast is not what it used to be. Better than some - but would rather enjoy some local spots nearby. We used some extra timeshare points to book this last stay, and it went off without a hitch.

Room Tip: Try to get the pool side in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkInn, General Manager at Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience while visiting in Davis. We are always open for ways to improve and are reviewing options regarding pillows. Give breakfast a chance as we just transitioned from a self serve buffet to served. As the Cafe 110 becomes its own they will be expanding the menu to provide more options for the vouchers &/or to purchase. I am glad it all worked out for you and your family. Looking forward to a future visit. Sincerely- Marisa Schaffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Great location in Davis- Warm and homey hotel that is both sophisticated and casual at the same time. We love the perfect location to both visit UCD and enjoy the downtown area. You can walk everywhere from this location Rooms are spacious and clean. We have stayed here many times and it has been consistently good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkInn, General Manager at Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences about the Hallmark Inn, Davis.....your description is our objective. A welcoming, comfortable atmosphere that you can enjoy for professional or leisure events. Our location is wonderful for walking around, bicycling the arboretum or taking a pedicab to the Mondavi Performing Art Center.....in style! Looking forward to the opportunity of a future stay.
Sincerely, Marisa Schaffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hallmark Inn at UC Davis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn at UC Davis

Address: 110 F St, Davis, CA 95616
Location: United States > California > Davis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hallmark Inn at UC Davis 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm, comfort and convenience is what you will find when you stay at the Hallmark Inn at UC Davis. Our outdoor pool and patio is an oasis for you to relax and unwind while enjoying locally produced wines and beer from the Courtyard Lounge. Our spacious 120 guest rooms have plush bedding, complimentary Wi-Fi, and so much more. We are proud to have been recognized for our eco-friendly efforts, including providing complimentary bicycles for our guests. For business or pleasure, we're the only full service hotel located in downtown Davis. Our location puts you within walking distance of the UC Davis campus, restaurants, boutiques and art galleries. A few steps from the hotel lobby leads you to dining, relaxing at Massage Envy or taking in a show. Cafe 110 features items such as a daily egg scramble, homemade breakfast bread pudding, a variety of grilled sandwiches, salads and soup for lunch and for your sweet tooth CREAM is right next door. Voted Best in Davis, Seasons restaurant in the Hallmark Inn at UC Davis features an open kitchen with stone hearth oven and outdoor dining for lunch and dinner. The seasonal menu focuses on locally grown and organic products with an extensive wine list. Private dining and catering are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hallmark Inn at UC Davis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Inn Davis Hotel Davis
Hallmark Hotel Davis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hallmark Inn at UC Davis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.