We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn UC Davis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn UC Davis to your Saves list
Days Inn UC Davis
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 Chiles Road, Davis, CA 95618 (Formerly Howard Johnson Hotel Davis)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Prescott, Arizona
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012 via mobile

January 2012

This morning I woke up at the Days Inn Davis California. Very nice hotel room with wooden floors and whitewashed, beamed ceiling. My room was steps away from a parking space. Very nice shutters on the window as opposed to traditional drapes. The building as a whole is not new but it is clear that they have put a fresh coat of paint and general maintenance on the entire building. There are certain areas that show some wear. But the room was oversize and very very comfortable. The price was very very reasonable. The room was also very clean. If you try you can hear the highway, but so much noise as would disturb your sleep. All in all I would very much recommend the Days Inn when you visit University of California, at Davis.

One weird thing, the showerhead was at about the five foot level which made it strange to wash my 6' 2" head!


  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    52
    39
    25
    18
See reviews for
77
14
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011 via mobile

Ginormous clean rooms, excellent beds and friendly, helpful staff more than make up for the bland breakfast. They're remodeling, and it's 97 percent done, but nothing marred our 2-day stay. Thumbs up on this one.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011 via mobile

As far as possible from campus and still within Davis. Rooms and atmosphere are standard. Nothing special but clean and good for the price. My mother in law asked for an extension cord to power a medical device, and the front desk attendant looked at her like she was from another planet and failed to provide one.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnUCDavis, General Manager at Days Inn UC Davis, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
We sincerely apologize that you felt this way. However, we do not provide spare extension cords at the front desk. All the rooms are fairly equipped with ample power outlets that are close to every seating, bedding and desk areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed there for a week with two little children in the summer. The room that we stayed must have been in the process of renovation. No towel hanger by the bathroom sink, but had towel rack above the toilet seat. The room was carpetted, but clean. Breakfast include Belgian waffles, cerials, breads, bagles, jam, butter, fruits, juice, coffee. It is better to go early to breakfast. Kids enjoyed outside swimming pool. Large room, good service at reception. Laundry room has one washer and one dryer, but never was crowded while I was there, and worked well.
Walking distance to nearby eateries (Taco Bell, Mexican restaurant, Chinese, Thai, etc), and Nugget supermarket. Close to Target, fruit/vegetable stand that has yummy fruit sorbet and I-80 freeway. When we were there, the sign of the hotel was not very clear at night. Hopefully they have fixed it by now. We were comfortable staying there. Good value for what you pay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnUCDavis, General Manager at Days Inn UC Davis, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Thank you very much for this very detailed review. We are very glad that your experience with us has been good and hopefully you will remember us if you are back in town. And yes the sign has been fixed and visible from a distance and the I-80 highway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

near UC Davis campus and eateries, updated room, crummy breakfast, not much there, but using Hotwire, room was very inexpensive. quiet too

Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnUCDavis, General Manager at Days Inn UC Davis, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our breakfast is basic continental breakfast that include two types of cereals, two types of fruits, brown and white breads, two types of bagels, coffee, two types of juices, hot chocolate, tea, peanut butter and also you can make your own waffle. Sometimes we have little danishes as well. However, it is not a lot but we do believe it is enough to start your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Stayed here for a night, clean spacious rooms . Close to highway. Convenient. Value for money!
Breakfast didn't have much options but manageable. Again more than sufficient for the money you paid.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnUCDavis, Manager at Days Inn UC Davis, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
We are really happy to know that your experience was pleasurable at our hotel. Our aim is to provide quality services at the lowest cost to our guests. Thank you for the your positive input and hope to see you again at our property if you are visiting Davis again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Our family stayed here for two nights to do some business and relaxing in Sacramento and Davis. Easy access from the I-80 freeway. Nice large room with clean wood floor, fridge, and microwave, but there was no dresser. Since we were travelling light we did not care too much, but were surprised when the front desk claimed that none of their rooms had a dresser. Perhaps the word "dresser" was not well understood, as I can't see how a hotel could offer travellers absolutely no place to put their clothes. We expect that most rooms really do have dressers and ours must have been recently renovated. Breakfast was very basic Continental in a small space. Our room was quiet as it was located at the back of the property, and we were able to open the window to enjoy the cool night air, but it did not have a screen to keep out bugs. The pool had leaves and seemed cloudy - like it needed some maintenance. Downtown Davis is a 5-minute drive away. Overall it was OK but seemed a work in progress.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn UC Davis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn UC Davis

Address: 4100 Chiles Road, Davis, CA 95618 (Formerly Howard Johnson Hotel Davis)
Location: United States > California > Davis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn UC Davis 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to newly-renovated, value priced Davis, California Hotel. As Davis' largest hotel property, our facilities have been designed with you in mind. Whether your stay here is for business or for pleasure, you'll find that have something to offer everyone, including spacious accommodations with modern amenities that are sure to make your stay a memorable one. Enjoy close proximity to shopping, dining, UC Davis, and Sacramento International Airport. Major Destinations such as Lake Tahoe and San Francisco are within a two-hour drive of our 100% smoke-free hotel. We're constantly evolving to serve you better and our knowledgeable, friendly staff is dedicated to enhancing your stay while helping you discover why we are Davis' most unique hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn UC Davis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Uc Davis Hotel Davis
Howard Johnson Hotel Davis
Howard Johnson Davis
Davis Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn UC Davis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.