We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very basic rooms, not the cleanest but a great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Davis - Sacramento Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Davis - Sacramento Area to your Saves list
Motel 6 Davis - Sacramento Area
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4835 Chiles Road, Davis, CA 95616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Davis
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very basic rooms, not the cleanest but a great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

I stayed here one night before visiting UC Davis the next day. The room itself wasn't the cleanest Motel 6 I've ever stayed in: namely, it smelled slightly of smoke and dogs, even though it was labeled a non-smoking room. I could not tell whether the smell was coming from my room or wafting in through the vents. On the other hand, the sheets, towels, and bathroom seemed clean, which is, of course, what's most important. The room was just large enough to fit the two full-sized beds and desk.

I was given a room facing the pool, away from the freeway, so noise wasn't an issue. This may not be the case on the other side of the building. The receptionists were wonderful. Wifi costs money.

Because the rates here were so much cheaper than nearby motels, I only expected the basics and that's what I got. Recommended for budget travelers.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Missouri
Level Contributor
283 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2007

I don't mind staying in budget motels but I expect a certain level of cleanliness that this Motel 6 didn't provide. I arrived late and wasn't in the mood to complain to the front desk or ask for housekeeping. But there were insects and spiders in the room, the bathroom wasn't very clean, the carpet was dirty and stained, and the furniture had sticky spots. There was no shampoo - just a bar of soap. However, I just needed to crash for one night and checked out early. Will not be staying there again!

  • Liked — Location, right off highway
  • Disliked — Cleanliness (lack thereof)
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

I stayed at this motel 4 years ago, but this site wasn't around at the time so here is an update of my truly horrific adventure. I stayed there 4 nights. The second night I saw a bat fly out of the air conditioning vent. I was very panicked because I don't want to get bit and have to get rabies shots. I freaked out and ran in the bathroom having to leap over the bat crawling on the floor. I tried to decide what to do. I was looking for something to kill it and then I thought I can't kill a bat. So I opened the door and walked very carefully and opened the motel door and waited on the balcony for the bat to fly out and sure enough it did. Motel 6 in Davis should inspect for bats because they are going to have a lawsuit on their hands if someone else DOES get bit in the future. I'm not a sue happy person, but I know mostly everyone else is. We called the person at the front desk and told them there was a bat in our room I was told, "Yeah we get bats in here sometimes."

Here are the other problems with the motel at the time in Oct. 2003:

Location: They placed us in one of the only rooms left that faced the freeway. Very loud to hear cars whizzing by.

Scratched car: Someone scratched our rental car in the parking lot. We know it was in the parking lot because we didn't see the huge scratch on the door 9 hrs ago when we parked it the night before.

Bed problems: Stained sheets and pillowcases. Springs sticking out of mattress. Pubic hair on mattress.

Rude staff: When we checked in we were met by a very rude young woman. She informed us that there was one room left and then she said "Will that be a problem" like she wanted us to leave her alone and let her go back to her magazine reading. We should have took her warning.

Ice machine: It wasn't functioning properly. Gave half melted ice cubes and took a long time to fill up the bucket.

Puddles: Puddles were around the building like they hosed down the place to clean it and I almost slipped, but I grabbed onto a railing.

Trash cans: When our trash can was filled up in our room I went outside to look for one. The one nearest to our room was overflowing, the next one.....you guessed it....overflowing.....so I just found another trashcan that wasn't seriously overflowing and put our trash on top of the trashcan.

Maid service: The first day the maid cleaned my room, the second day she came too early so I told her to come back when I was gone in the afternoon. No one ever came back and for my last 2 nights there I had no maid service.

  • Stayed October 2003
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PinkLemonade7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2006

This is the cheapest place in town so what does that tell you right there? Yes this is Motel Six, not the Embassy Suites or the Sheraton Grand. They have done some major renovations to the hotel recently and it is looking much better. If you're on a budget and need a place to stay then this is it. It's right off the freeway and there are fast food places and gas stations nearby. If you want to fork out more dough then go elsewhere!

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 8031pc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2005

I stayed here with my two daughters while visiting family in the area. The Lobby area is clean and nice and so are the employees - but that's it for nice! Our room had peanut shells inside and outside of the front door area,carpet generally dirty, toilet was broken, but I was able to fix it myself. The bathroom fan was hanging by a wire. Walls too thin. I've stayed in Motel 6 before in Tahoe, Seattle and up and down the CA coast, never had one this bad.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2005

I have stayed at this place many times over the years when overnighting in Davis for bicycle rides. As Motel 6's go, this place is slightly above the norm. It's a ways from Davis proper, but you're not paying for a downtown location, either. The place is relatively clean, and the staff is friendly. Request a "quiet" part of the motel (ideally facing Chiles Rd); if you're in any part that faces the I-80 freeway, it's quite noisy.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank twowheelsReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davis hotels
0.4 mi away
Days Inn UC Davis
Days Inn UC Davis
#8 of 11 in Davis
3.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Place UC Davis
Hyatt Place UC Davis
#1 of 11 in Davis
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Davis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hallmark Inn at UC Davis
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Davis - University Area
2.5 mi away
University Park Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Davis - Sacramento Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Davis - Sacramento Area

Address: 4835 Chiles Road, Davis, CA 95616
Location: United States > California > Davis
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Davis - Sacramento Area 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Motel-6, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel 6 Davis - Sacramento Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Davis
Motel Six Davis
Davis Motel Six
Davis Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing