We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a real mixed bag” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Davis

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Davis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Davis
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4835 Chiles Road, I-80 at Mace Blvd, Davis, CA 95616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Tracy ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's a real mixed bag”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Thanks for your reviews I haven't laughed that hard in days.
I had to change rooms a couple of times.
The first room was like an inferno with a filthy carpet.
The second room you guessed it filthy carpet but at least it wasn't blazing hot.
And after I cover the blinking smoke detector I was able to get to sleep.
Don't I repeat don't drink the coffee unless you like tolit water it will ruin your day.
Oh ya and I am not sure you should be drinking that ice cube water lol
But besides that it was great.
Cheers

Room Tip: Away from the freeway and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
1
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sav260
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

What do people expect from a Motel 6. For our needs it was a perfect location. We stayed in room 102 which is away from the noise of I-80 which really helps. When we got to our room it had a smell as if the carpet had just been cleaned and it wasn't dry or the room hadn't been used after it had been clean. Other then that it your typical Motel 6 room two full beds, a tv, a night stand and your bathroom. The only draw back we had in our room was the A/C in low it seemed that the fan of the bathroom was on all night and once I turned it to high it seemed that we had a washing maching top lodding one. If you get chance and stay here make sure you go to Guadalajaras which is just down the street on Mace ave. in the shopping center were Burger King is located. Their Burrito grande can feed a family of five. Just to tell you we had burrito for dinner and lunch the next day. We well stay again when we came back.

Room Tip: The closer you are to Chiles Rd the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for three nights while attending our son's graduation. As others have mentioned, this is a no-frills hotel. Our room was clean and had a new shower. There are no hairdryers in the room, but I was cherrily provided one at the front desk. There is a coin laundry on site that came in handy for some wet hiking clothes. Our room faced the highway, but that wasn't a problem. One night some people were very noisy in the pool at 3 am, but some things you can't do much about. The price was VERY reasonable, and we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

I stayed here one night before visiting UC Davis the next day. The room itself wasn't the cleanest Motel 6 I've ever stayed in: namely, it smelled slightly of smoke and dogs, even though it was labeled a non-smoking room. I could not tell whether the smell was coming from my room or wafting in through the vents. On the other hand, the sheets, towels, and bathroom seemed clean, which is, of course, what's most important. The room was just large enough to fit the two full-sized beds and desk.

I was given a room facing the pool, away from the freeway, so noise wasn't an issue. This may not be the case on the other side of the building. The receptionists were wonderful. Wifi costs money.

Because the rates here were so much cheaper than nearby motels, I only expected the basics and that's what I got. Recommended for budget travelers.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2007

I don't mind staying in budget motels but I expect a certain level of cleanliness that this Motel 6 didn't provide. I arrived late and wasn't in the mood to complain to the front desk or ask for housekeeping. But there were insects and spiders in the room, the bathroom wasn't very clean, the carpet was dirty and stained, and the furniture had sticky spots. There was no shampoo - just a bar of soap. However, I just needed to crash for one night and checked out early. Will not be staying there again!

  • Liked — Location, right off highway
  • Disliked — Cleanliness (lack thereof)
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

I stayed at this motel 4 years ago, but this site wasn't around at the time so here is an update of my truly horrific adventure. I stayed there 4 nights. The second night I saw a bat fly out of the air conditioning vent. I was very panicked because I don't want to get bit and have to get rabies shots. I freaked out and ran in the bathroom having to leap over the bat crawling on the floor. I tried to decide what to do. I was looking for something to kill it and then I thought I can't kill a bat. So I opened the door and walked very carefully and opened the motel door and waited on the balcony for the bat to fly out and sure enough it did. Motel 6 in Davis should inspect for bats because they are going to have a lawsuit on their hands if someone else DOES get bit in the future. I'm not a sue happy person, but I know mostly everyone else is. We called the person at the front desk and told them there was a bat in our room I was told, "Yeah we get bats in here sometimes."

Here are the other problems with the motel at the time in Oct. 2003:

Location: They placed us in one of the only rooms left that faced the freeway. Very loud to hear cars whizzing by.

Scratched car: Someone scratched our rental car in the parking lot. We know it was in the parking lot because we didn't see the huge scratch on the door 9 hrs ago when we parked it the night before.

Bed problems: Stained sheets and pillowcases. Springs sticking out of mattress. Pubic hair on mattress.

Rude staff: When we checked in we were met by a very rude young woman. She informed us that there was one room left and then she said "Will that be a problem" like she wanted us to leave her alone and let her go back to her magazine reading. We should have took her warning.

Ice machine: It wasn't functioning properly. Gave half melted ice cubes and took a long time to fill up the bucket.

Puddles: Puddles were around the building like they hosed down the place to clean it and I almost slipped, but I grabbed onto a railing.

Trash cans: When our trash can was filled up in our room I went outside to look for one. The one nearest to our room was overflowing, the next one.....you guessed it....overflowing.....so I just found another trashcan that wasn't seriously overflowing and put our trash on top of the trashcan.

Maid service: The first day the maid cleaned my room, the second day she came too early so I told her to come back when I was gone in the afternoon. No one ever came back and for my last 2 nights there I had no maid service.

  • Stayed October 2003
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2006

This is the cheapest place in town so what does that tell you right there? Yes this is Motel Six, not the Embassy Suites or the Sheraton Grand. They have done some major renovations to the hotel recently and it is looking much better. If you're on a budget and need a place to stay then this is it. It's right off the freeway and there are fast food places and gas stations nearby. If you want to fork out more dough then go elsewhere!

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Davis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Davis

Address: 4835 Chiles Road, I-80 at Mace Blvd, Davis, CA 95616
Location: United States > California > Davis
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Davis 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Davis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Davis
Davis Motel 6
Davis Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Davis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.