We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is much better in Davis” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Monticello Seasonal Cuisine

Monticello Seasonal Cuisine
630 G Street, Davis, CA
+1 530-792-8066
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 182 Restaurants in Davis
Cuisines: Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Winters, ca
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“There is much better in Davis”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The food tasted great and was nicely presented, but as other reviews say, portions were small. Three small pieces of bread came when the meal was presented. Service was comical - hopping and skipping waitress provided inefficient service at best, but was fun to watch. Good piano.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Great local food. All fresh and exciting. Interesting wine tastings clean airy comfortable surroundings.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Go for Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My friend and I meet up in Davis once a week for lunch and like to try places we haven't been to previously. I'm a vegetarian, so Monticello sounded like a great option. This was my second visit and I knew from the first time there that the food service is slow and you can't be on a timetable when you come here. Lunch is a good choice because there are fewer people and the prices are not quite as expensive. I am a vegetarian who has never liked eggplant but was encouraged by the server and my friend to give the sandwich special a try. It was incredibly good and has turned an eggplant hater into one that can appreciate a well made eggplant dish! The sandwich was a lightly breaded piece of eggplant, heirloom tomatoes, fresh goat cheese on fresh rosemary bread......it was out of this world!! My friend loved her chicken dish and the serve was excellent! Cost of $9 was very reasonable and the sandwich came with fries or a salad. Slow, yes.......worth the wait for the food we ordered.....absolutely!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Tiny portions hamper this restaurant's rating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We went to Monticello for dinner after UC Davis graduation last night.

Pros: Stylish, fun decor. Food was good (but see below). A pianist added a nice touch to the atmosphere. Wait staff was nice.

Cons: Miniscule, and I do mean miniscule, portions for some of the entrees. The salmon (about $25) was good, but it was about 2/3 of the size of a portion you get at most restaurants. It's on a plate with some corn under it. That's it. It dwarfed the plate. Plus it was almost raw -I had to send it back.

But the WORST was the vegetable plate dinner. It would have been almost laughable if we hadn't been paying $15 a plate. It was 3 small pieces of potatoes, two baby carrots, 5 snap peas, a piece of fennel and two spring onions. There was something else on the plate that my friends thought was something like straw or a corn husk - couldn't eat it. Unbelievable! We were shocked. We had to order several sides of macaroni and cheese for those who ordered this disaster.

In contrast, the people who ordered the flat iron steak (about $28) had a huge tasty steak, creamy scalloped potatoes and some sort of green (asparagus maybe). My husband felt the need to give away some of his steak dinner to those of us eyeing his plate hungrily. The lamb chops were good, but again, tiny portions.

If you wanted to order vegetables for your dinner, it was another $7.

The service was slow, but the wait staff was nice.

In summary, the salmon and vegetable plates felt like a rip off. It was like the kitchen ran out of food and instead of telling us we needed to order something else, just cut the portions in half.

The night before, we ate at The Mustard Seed. For the same prices of entrees, we had fabulous halibut and lamb chops that were delicious, well portioned and with plenty of black rice and vegetables. Go there instead of here.

Maybe the management of Monticello will make some changes to give diners a better value for a pricey dinner. Hope so. The atmosphere is nice, the chef is good -- but just stingy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Food is fresh, priced high but a worthy venture.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

Came for the first seating on graduation day and thought that the service was excellent and wondered what these other reviewers are talking about. The prices are high for how small the portions are but with how much artisanal food costs nowadays it's not a surprise to pay 18 bucks for a wild mushroom spaghetti, although they should really be making their own pasta at a restaurant like this. Lamb chop was overcooked and steak portion was maybe 5 ounces. Ambience was enjoyable and I'd come back to try something different. They're doing a good job and I wish them great success. Wine list was so so and I'd recommend paying corkage to have something you know will be great.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monticello Seasonal Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Monticello Seasonal Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monticello Seasonal Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.