We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“favorite hotel in Davis area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place UC Davis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place UC Davis to your Saves list
Hyatt Place UC Davis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   173 Old Davis Road Extension, Davis, CA 95619   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
pismo beach, california
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“favorite hotel in Davis area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was our go-to location for two years of traveling to UC Davis every few months. Convenient, clean,
courteous, and breakfast included. The only concern is getting a reasonable price - we have seen ranges
from $110/night to over $200/night with popular UCD activities. If you think you are needing a room,
book as far as you can in advance for best rates. Staff and amenities were always great - free parking w/room.
Great for families due to the included continental breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Try for higher floors; usually the rooms toward UCD are quieter...train and freeway activity on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    74
    18
    8
    11
See reviews for
87
25
15
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nothing is perfect! The hotel is really good, the staff is very, very helpful (and polite), big rooms and the breakfast was also great. My only complain is about the rate... I paid almost $200.00 for one night (and ops... I booked two weeks in advance)... but it is a great place to stay if you must attend a conference on campus or a performance at Freeborn Hall (as I did when stayed there to see Phoenix last week - a great one). I recommend this hotel and will definitely go back... specially with a better rate!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed for a few nights for a conference on campus. Rooms are a good size, with a very nice floor plan for use of space. Front desk was very friendly. Breakfast was also great. A nice plus about this hotel - is that they have bike rentals to get around campus and town!

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the train tracks - it can get noisy around 11pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I had a great experience at the Hyatt Place last weekend! Jay and the rest of the staff were very helpful and provided great service. I'll definitely go back the next time I need a place to stay in Davis.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

the best location for campus events- walk everywhere, visitor's center for tours 2 minute walk, Mondavi center 2 minute walk- campus dorms may take longer.
great free breakfast. don't try riding one of their bikes if your're rusty- I fell off in the parking lot but their supplied helmet saved my head!
Remember rooms can accomodate up to 6 with 2 Queen beds and a pullout couch in the living area.
if you are a light sleeper bring earplugs- it's near a train track and trains honk randomly at night. My family was more disturbed by my snoring.

Room Tip: even on the side away from the highway and rail tracks, can still hear rail horns, so bring earplugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverhead, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed at the hotel during the conference. Courteous and professional staff. Their AGM is the greatest. Rooms are spotless. Good breakfast: yogurt, fresh fruit, waffles, oatmeal - all you need before a day of training. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed two nights the Hyatt at UC Davis. It is a nice spot on campus with flat land and bikes to lend out for free. With the trees and the fields it is pleasant. And if doing something at UC Davis, it cannot be beat. $149 per night on the weekends.
The touted breakfast: an overcooked muffin with Canadian bacon and an egg--overcooked and not worth eating; overripe bananas and apples no longer for sale in grocery stores in Davis; bagel tasted old and if new not appetizing. Coffee was very good, so were the juices and the cream cheese and the jam.
The windows on one side look out over the train, which is very close to the hotel and whose sounds are intrusive and disturbing to sleep or rest. Beyond that are the hum and roar of the freeway, which also sizzles day and night.
The interior of the rooms is very nice with a sitting room and a bed area separated by a half wall and very nicely decorated that helps let travel stress slip away. There is a refrigerator, a desk, lots of plugs, bedside tables, lamps, lights, closet with amenities, big tv. The bathroom is clean and very comfortable in size and use. The colors are designed and go together well.
The check in, though. That is a story on its own.
I called three days before going. Spent some time with the robot voice and gave it all my information and was forwarded to a person who asked for everything, I think, again. At the end, to confirm, I was returned to the robot voice, which confirmed for me wrong dates. I called back immediately and could not confirm the correct dates, but went through the process of the robot and the person again and again set the dates and confirmed the stay. Called back next day to see if my room was all set but there was no record of it so I again went through the process, asked for the person's contact information, asked about how to confirm, etc. Go to know the robot too well. This person was quite annoyed with me and at one point started to yell. I hung up after expressing my hope that her call would be on record and used for training.
Confirmed online, and the reservation held.
Checked in, and was asked if the people using the other two rooms I had reserved would be coming soon. When I said I had one room only. The person asked if I wanted to cancel the other two rooms. I responded by saying that I did not want to cancel them because I never made them, so the person apparently cancelled them. I was a little wary of the idea that I'd be charged for late cancellations for two rooms, but so far this is not the case. Today, at home again, I did find a confirmation for a room cancellation, but one that I never made. I won't be calling unless I also get billed.

So the room is noisy from the highway and the train and from the customers who in the hallway can be heard at near whisper levels of volume. Doors that swing closed and carts that hit the rubber strip across the hallway sound like someone is coming in-- locked door or no.

Still, the night is quite and the room is very well kept and designed. It's clean and it's the countryside between Sacramento and San Francisco.

It's hard to rate the hotel. I like it a lot, but the booking and the noisy train and freeway and interior noises....

Room Tip: Take a room on the opposite side of the train tracks and freeway. Get the agent's name and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place UC Davis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place UC Davis

Address: 173 Old Davis Road Extension, Davis, CA 95619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Davis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place UC Davis 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Place UC Davis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Uc Davis Hotel Davis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place UC Davis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.