We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place UC Davis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place UC Davis to your Saves list
Hyatt Place UC Davis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   173 Old Davis Road Extension, Davis, CA 95619   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Davis
California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

In Davis for girls soccer tourney. Great hotel and great location but even better service and value. Free shuttle took 8 or so players for yogurt and also took them to their game one morning, allowing the parents to relax a bit longer. They also have free bikes for guests to use and you can get anywhere on campus or downtown. Clean, comfortable, and a great value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    65
    13
    6
    9
See reviews for
73
22
14
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have stayed at this property before and it is a good one. The staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are spacious and well appointed. If you will be attending a function at the Mondavi Center, it is right next door and within walking distance. This hotel is relatively new and a very good value. The main disadvantage is that is is not within walking distance of downtown Davis with all of its charm and, of course, all of its restaurants. If you choose to stay here and don't have a GPS, follow the signs to the Robert and Margrit Mondavi Center and go right past it, otherwise it can be hard to find using a road map. I visit Davis regularly and will stay here again, although I will also continue to stay downtown when I have friends visiting at the same time so that dinner is within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This is a lovely hotel on the campus of UC Davis. Very convenient if the purpose of your visit is campus-related, but also close to town. The beds were comfortable, staff was friendly and breakfast was very good. The only problem (and the reason I rated it 4 stars instead of 5) was that we could hear people walking in the room above us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed 2 days in early June. Hot outside, cool in building. Nice room, bed. Excellent breakfast options (ate too much). Odd in that one can sit on the toilet and see who is at the front door if one does not close the bathroom door. Good, friendly staff. Internet computers in lobby were a bit on the slow side, but was able to print out boarding passes with no problem. Let us check out later than the usual time due to graduation ceremony. (Bonus: Parents paid for room both nights.)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob P, General Manager at Hyatt Place UC Davis, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very proud to be on the beautiful UC Davis campus and we are here to serve our guests 24/7.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Easy booking, superior service, comfortable beds, very modern and clean rooms. Walking distance to Mondavi Performing Arts Center and the beautiful & lush Arboretum walkway (I had a great 5k run there). Lots of variety & quality in their free breakfast, and free apples in the lobby. Downsides: Not very close to Downtown restaurants & shopping; no WiFi in rooms (had to go to lobby); elevator was often under repair during my stay; pool area was small and unattractive; room view was ugly (looked over a parking lot and Interstate 80); the bathroom light took forever to illuminate due to some energy-saving device. The oddest thing was the "soft" alkaline water in the shower - once you soaped up, you couldn't get the soap rinsed off leaving your skin feeling slimy. Price was just average for this type of accommodation, not a great "deal".

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This Hyatt is on the UC Davis campus and close to their performing arts center. We were traveling through Davis scouting out colleges for my daughter. We were happy with cost, cleaniness, and overall value of this hotel. Breakfast was included, which is always a welcome bonus.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Recently, I took my children to Hyatt Place UC Davis while visiting family in the area. The room was clean, spacious and had a mini fridge. I was surprised how small the pool was as the pictures made it look bigger! I liked that food and drinks could be ordered 24 hours and there was free breakfast each morning. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We enjoyed staying on and exploring UC Davis campus and the town of Davis!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place UC Davis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place UC Davis

Address: 173 Old Davis Road Extension, Davis, CA 95619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Davis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place UC Davis 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place UC Davis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Uc Davis Hotel Davis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place UC Davis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.