We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location , Hot room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of University Park Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added University Park Inn and Suites to your Saves list
University Park Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Richards Blvd, Davis, CA 95616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Southside, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location , Hot room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I made a reservation here on the morning before i arrived that afternoon about 4pm. ....since i was already within the cancellation-fee time period when i made the reservation ,i would've expected the Inn to at least have the AC in the room turned on when i arrived but no such luck. It was 103 degrees outside and the room was cooking when we got in. I went to ask the clerk why and she said they don't turn the AC on for any rooms because it's not economical. Since i would've lost my cancellation fee by leaving I asked if she had a portable fan to help cool it off. She said no , she couldn't help me. So i drove to Rite-Aid and bought a portable 25 dollar fan before they closed. By 11pm the room was finally cooled off enough to sleep. The fridge and coffee-maker were great as was the bed and T.V.'s , the proximity to downtown Davis was just two blocks away and the pool was nice too.There's a high quality Italian restaurant next door that has the best omelettes of all-time (popeye). If the room had been cooled down on a 103 degree day or they had offered a cooler room or even a fan , this place would've been tolerable and even nice. But when one drives 4 hours through the hot valley in 100 plus temp's ,one expects to at least have a room cooled below the upper 80's, especially after securing the night's payment earlier that day. The staff at the desk seemed unconcerned about our discomfort.

Room Tip: Once you have secured your reservation and are on your way ,phone the front desk and have them prep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianne M, Guest Relations Manager at University Park Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear American_llonggo,

Thank you for staying at the University Park Inn and Suites! Please allow me to apologize about how hot your room was when you checked in after a long day. The hotel policy is to make sure the room is cooled down because a guest enters. Management is meeting with the front desk and housekeeping staff and will be using this incident as a, "teachable moment". Thank you for mentioning the nice swimming pool area and restaurant we have on site. As well as our convenient location close to both downtown and UC Davis.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
17
8
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I came down to Davis to see my niece. I picked this place because I have stayed at many different locations in Davis. This was to perfect. I love the pool. At night time LED lights come on as well as jazz music. Great relaxing place to have a wonderful dinner and conversation with my family. Worth every dime.Woke up very early and Katie at the front desk gave me some fresh coffee to hit the road back home. Coming back here soon.

Lori Ann V.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianne M, Guest Relations Manager at University Park Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Lori,

Thank you for staying at the University Park Inn and Suites! I'm glad you had time to enjoy a relaxing evening by our lovely pool. It's a small oasis available for our guests at the end of a long day! Thank you for your nice comments about our staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Safe Travels!

Brianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We rented several hotel rooms, as well as the conference room, during graduation weekend. We would definitely recommend the conference room as a party location, you have it for the whole day, it has a nice big indoor room with A/C and bathrooms, and an adjoining outdoor patio complete with outdoor kitchen, BBQ, and refrigerators. We had the staff set up several big round tables inside and outside, and there was still plenty of room for mingling. We set up a buffet inside, and used the outdoor refrigerators for all the drinks. They even let us go in the day before to decorate and stock the fridges. They also brought in a coffee station when we asked for coffee to go with our cake. We all enjoyed breakfast one morning in the lobby, and it was a short walk downtown for other meals. Some of our guests took a swim in the pool when the party was winding down. All in all it was a great experience, everyone loved it and the staff couldn't have been more helpful!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianne M, Guest Relations Manager at University Park Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments about the University Park Inn and Suites! I'm glad you enjoyed all of the nice amenities we have to offer at our hotel. The conference room and swimming pool area are popular with our guests and give our hotel a "resort" like atmosphere. Thank you again for staying and we look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Safe Travels!

Brianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Service was great, maria was extremely helpful and assisted us with everything we needed, house keeping did an amazing job and the rooms were grest as well. The hotel is outstanding, we will definitely be comming back soon

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianne M, Guest Relations Manager at University Park Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Solecito73,

Thank you for your nice comments about the University Park Inn and Suites! We appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Maria at the Front Desk and our entire housekeeping staff are great assets to our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Most Sincerely,

Brianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Dear trip advisor, I had an excellent stay and experience @ this hotel, thanks very much to the helpful staff... Particularly Maria was very helpful in helping me to find the right amenities around town... including recommendations for local resturants and shopping... also the late night front desk lady Katlin was very kind and curtious... wonderful Stay @ your hotel as always. I will come again

Chris

Room Tip: Pet Friendly Hotel, Walking distance from downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianne M, Manager at University Park Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Chris B.,

Thank you for staying at the University Park Inn and Suites! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate your loyalty to our property as a return guest. Thank you for complimenting Kaitlin and Maria. They are exemplary associates. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This hotel is right next to the highway and at the same time only walking distance from Davis down town. This convenient location and its modest pricing definitely speak for Univ. park inn.
One light bulb was broken in our room and generally it was quite dark inside. There's some noise from the road.
Otherwise everything is fine, the rooms are clean and spacey. We enjoyed our stay!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianne M, Manager at University Park Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Kon V,

Thank you for staying at the University Park Inn and Suites! I apologize for the broken light bulb in your room. I'm glad you enjoyed your spacious and clean room. We have a very convenient location in Davis and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Hockey brought us to the city of Davis, but university park inn and suites gave us reasons to extend our stay. Coming to town a day early gave us A hotel with large clean rooms with a central location. Parking was a breeze and the king room suite gave the family of 4 two tv sand a convenient door between us. Waffle breakfasts in the foyer and cookies at supper are a plus. The pool was refreshing after cruising the Davis markets for fresh bread, veggies and olive oils.

Downtown, whole foods and the regL cinemas are less than 5 min walk under the train line. If that's too far simple pop into cafe italia for breakfast lunch or dinner, in n out burgers or the quick mart are over the road for snacks.

Coffee at Dutch Brothers drive thru or walk up right at the entrance never had less than 3 cars waiting in each direction. Yes virginia, the coffee was good.

Need some physical activity, yoga studio over the road, rock climbing next door and bring a bike to take in the sites of Davis.

Room Tip: Back from entrance and upstairs are good options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianne M, Manager at University Park Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Dphipps4,

Thank you for staying at the University Park Inn and Suites in Davis! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We have lovely large guestrooms and our pool is a nice place to escape after a long day. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Park Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Park Inn and Suites

Address: 1111 Richards Blvd, Davis, CA 95616
Location: United States > California > Davis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — University Park Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your University Park Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Park Hotel Davis
Park Inn University

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Park Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.