We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for the Price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member to your Saves list
Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   245 First Street, Davis, CA 95616   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Okay for the Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We got put up here by UCal Davis so I can't complain too much, but it's only average. Getting to the room was a trip in itself, as we had to go up a stairway (no elevator) and then outside. The room itself was clean and pleasant, however, with a fridge and water provided. Good bed, and generally pretty quiet though right on a fairly busy street. There is a breakfast provided but don't expect much beyond cold cereal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, Front Office Manager at Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Please visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    12
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
18
9
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed here on a recent trip to UC Davis. The Inn is close to campus, and a short walk from downtown Davis. The room was clean and neat, though the furniture was a bit beat-up. The desk staff were helpful. Breakfast was marginal, though there was lots of fresh fruit. The one downside is that the Inn is on a busy street. I realized on the second night that ear plugs were provided, and found sleep easier when I wore them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, Front Office Manager at Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hi! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you found our location ideal for your stay. We apologize for the noisiness of the street and are glad to hear that the ear plugs worked great for you. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you on your next visit to Davis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for a night on our way to a wedding in Napa in one of the cottages.
Can't speak highly enough on the quality of the rooms, comfortable bed, spa bath, friendly and helpful staff and general condition of the property.
Very close to UC Davis.
Will stay here again when next in Davis.

Room Tip: Can't go past the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, Front Office Manager at Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our cottages. I'm glad you found us on your way to Napa. We hope to see you again if you are ever in the area. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Thank you Aggie Inn for making our stay so wonderful. Our family had most of the cabins and and many rooms. We were able to visit each other and enjoy the time of our son's wedding in a wonderful relaxed setting. We also had grandchildren with us and I was at first unsure how they could be entertained without a pool, but the cabin areas worked out very nicely for them too. A big thanks for adjusting our bill to the wedding rate too! Barbara Johnson

Room Tip: Get the cabins if you have a group and want to hang out together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, General Manager at Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Mrs. Johnson,

Thank you for your review and Congratulations on your son's wedding!. We are very excited to hear you and your family had a fantastic time at the Aggie Inn. It is our goal to give our guests the best possible service. We sincerely hope you will give us the pleasure of your patronage again in the near future.

Maria Lara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We were upgraded to a two room cottage/casita and it was fabulous - clean, spacious (includes couch, desk, TV in the main room, a mini kitchen and a separate bedroom) and convenient. Our private deck (room 304) was facing B street but there are others with more private decks. There is a restaurant across the street that did play loud live music at one point during the day but they ended early.

A VERY basic breakfast room (coffee, oatmeal, bagels, cereal, make your own waffles, fruit) is included. The TVs, towels, etc were fitting a more expensive hotel although the pillows could use upgrading. as could the lighting in the main room (in our cottage at least). Lots of windows tho!

At First and B, this is a perfect location - two blocks from the park and farmer's market and many restaurants and shops. You can easily walk or ride a bike anywhere.

For the price and location this was an excellent hotel and we'll likely stay here next year.

Room Tip: Cottages are large - there are two that have decks facing the parking lot that I'd avoid. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Please accept our sincere thanks for your candid review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at one of our cottages. We credit our success in the lodging industry to providing good service and accommodations at affordable prices.

Hope to see you again soon,

Maria Lara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos, California
Level Contributor
245 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The Aggie Inn gets high praise for it's proximity to campus, restaurants and the wonderful Farmer's Market. Stayed here twice, once in the spring and again in June. During spring visit last year, weather in Davis was cool and comfortable so no reason to turn on the a/c, hence sound sleep. On recent visit, temps were in the 90's so yes, a/c a must! Our second floor room was comfortable and familiar, but the noise from the a/c was not. For the person sleeping next to the controls and motor, it made for a very restless sleep! Sink and shower fixtures were squeaky when used, but a minor annoyance. Tip: if a light sleeper, bring ear plugs as the a/c might shake you from your slumber in auto mode. On the plus side, a clean room w/comfortable beds, easy check-in/out and convenient parking is worth another visit...when it's cooler!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
I apologize for the issues you encounter during your stay. I thank you for the taking the time to let us know where improvement is needed and we will work into fixing this issues so that we may continue to maintain the high standards the guest deserves.

I sincerely hope you will gives us another opportunity to extend our usual hospitality.

Sincerely,

Maria Lara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Had a great 3 night stay at the Aggie Inn recently. Upgraded to a Premium Cottage Suite which was simply excellent. Lovely spacious accommodation and spotlessly clean. The cottage has a separate living area with settee, TV and a small kitchenette with fridge, kettle and microwave. The bedroom itself has a wonderful, comfortable super king size bed and a nice big LCD TV. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub and separate 'his and hers' wash basins. The cottage has a small outdoor seating area although that does look directly over the car parking area which isn't too picturesque!

The accommodation came with a more than adequate complimentary breakfast comprising juice, coffee, pastries, waffles and cereals.

Aggie Inn is really well situated - just a few minutes walk to the UC Davis campus in one direction and into downtown Davis in the other direction. An airport shuttle from SFO aiport is $85 plus tip.

I'd heartily recommend the Aggie Inn for anyone looking for accommodation in Davis.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, General Manager at Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you for sharing your great experience at the Aggie Inn. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at one of our cottage suites. Housekeeping is an area we have always focus, we like to offer a clean and comfortable experience, so I'm glad to see you have been able to notice our efforts to give our guests a great experience.

Thank you again for your review and hope to serve you again in your next visit to Davis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davis hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place UC Davis
Hyatt Place UC Davis
#2 of 11 in Davis
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Inn at UC Davis
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Davis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
University Park Inn and Suites
2.4 mi away
Days Inn UC Davis
Days Inn UC Davis
#7 of 11 in Davis
3.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 245 First Street, Davis, CA 95616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Davis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aggie Hotel Davis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aggie Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.