We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fresh salads sandwiches; strange service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Davenport Cash Store & Restaurant

Davenport Cash Store & Restaurant
1 Davenport Avenue, Davenport, CA 95017
831-426-4122
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Davenport
Cuisines: Californian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“fresh salads sandwiches; strange service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We visited the Roadhouse Restaurant last year on our visit to California and looked forward to a return visit. There is a gorgeous beach across the street, so we like to visit the beach then eat at the restaurant. Last year we raved about the restaurant. This year our experience was only average. The salad was fresh, the soup was very good and the sandwiches were delicious. The prices were a little too high and the service was just okay. We waited several minutes for our server and she seemed distracted and disinterested. She served our water in two small plastic cups. Every other adult patron had glasses but the kids in the restaurant were drinking from the cheap plastic cups we were given.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    18
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellant value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Had breakfast twice, both times the food was great and very filling. Also had dinner on the Tuesday. Tuesday night is one of their special evenings when Taco's are $3 and beer $3.50 a pint + live music. The food + live music were excellent but be warned it was very popular with the locals (always a good sign) so try and book in advance.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious Dinner with Live Music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had a delightful here just before a granddaughter's graduation. I was initially concerned as we saw musicians coming in, but the singing and background music was fabulous. I had halibut that was excellent. I have a dietary restriction and the chef adjusted my dinner so that I, too, had a flavorful and beautiful dinner. One of our family had vegetarian lasagna--also excellent. Others had fish sticks and pizza! All were very good.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“dont order the calamari”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Interesting restaurant along coastal highway 1, The fried calamari (8 dollars) was very bad, the breading/batter was so crunvhy that the calamari were actually sharp -like biting through glass. The rest of the food was average diner fair, nothing special here.
supposed to have historic past, but none evident now.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
741 reviews 741 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
421 helpful votes 421 helpful votes
“Average restaurant in a facility with very good lodging”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We loved our stay at the Davenport Roadhouse, but the associated restaurant was a bit of a disappointment, at least for breakfast the morning of our departure. The food quality was decent, but the quantity small and somewhat overpriced, and with slow service. It wasn't annoying, but was also not memorable. It will do for a meal, particularly in an area of the coast where dining establishments can be few and far between, but I wouldn't recommend making a special trip to eat here.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Davenport Cash Store & Restaurant also viewed

Been to Davenport Cash Store & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Davenport Cash Store & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.