We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ocean View!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   34744 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92624   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Hemet, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Ocean View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is one of the smaller Best Westerns that I've stayed in, but it was as nice. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean, the breakfast was great, and the ocean view was well worth it. I thought the room would be noisy because it was close to the street (Pacific Coast Highway), but the double-pained windows drowned out the noise and we slept just fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    75
    21
    12
    10
See reviews for
100
109
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel has a boutique feel to it. The staff is very friendly and so accommodating. Very refreshing to have staff interact in friendly yet professional manner. LOVE the view from the ocean view rooms, great balcony for a large group, quiet sitting areas throughout. Quick walk over the pedestrian bridge to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A friendly staff greets you here, and the courtyard setting is charming. This hotel lacked a small convenience/gift shop for items like aspirin or toothbrushes, but is in walking distance of SUNSETS BAR CAPISTRANO -- a great restaurant/bar with open air indoor & outdoor seating, great service and a distinctive menu. BW Dana Point is only a couple of miles from San Juan Capistrano's edge, and a short walk to the beach over the PCH on a pedestrian bridge. The hotel is relatively near the John Wayne Airport by car.

Room Tip: Rooms at the ground level were the only ones available, yet we were not bothered by noise from rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa Clarita
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I've stayed here a few times and always had a great experience. The staff is very nice and helpful, can't beat the view, right across the street from the sand and ocean and just a few short miles up PCH is Doheny State Beach, plenty of great restaurants, shopping, water sports etc. The beds are very comfy and it's obvious they care about decor and ambiance throughout the hotel. I'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Be aware of the reservation service with Best Western. Made a reservation and had an illness in the family which made it necessary to cancel. Called the toll free number on the confirmation email 5 hours after the cancellation period was up. The agent said that we could not cancel. Really? "Yes, you cannot cancel the reservation". No supervisor to talk to and no way around it, but said that I should call the customer care number, which she gave me. Same answer from them and no suggestion that I should contact the hotel directly. So, I let it go, thinking there was nothing else I could do. I get a call the day after our arrival date asking what happened and if we were going to show up for the rest of our stay (2 more nights). Apparently the reservation center, (even though it was documented on the on-line confirmation that we attempted to cancel) does not communicate anything to the hotel. So, the person at the hotel put the blame on us for not calling the individual hotel "and now they have a room they can't rent". Really? I tried twice through their own reservation service to convey the message in no uncertain terms that we would not be showing up and their own reservation service does not inform them? That's pretty bad customer relations in my book. I will take the hit on my credit card for attempting to cancel late but they need to get their act together between reservations and the hotel and not blame the customer for the disconnect between the two. I knew there was a reason why I have avoided Best Westerns in the past and this experience has validated that.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

There is no better stay for overall value if staying in South Orange County, CA. Great views and staff. I highly recommend staying there. Fernando and/or Steve will insure everything is to your satisfaction.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This Best Western was lovely!!! Great location, great view and we love the size of the room! It was a pretty good price for the location, breakfast and size of the room. Very convenient walk to the pedestrian crossing to the beach. Has a lot of restaurants nearby. Lovely area to begin with. Breath taking view. Parking is included and it's on the basement of the building. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the second or third floor and overlooking the ocean. It's along Pacific Coast hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea

Address: 34744 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Business Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dana Point Inn By The Sea Hotel Dana Point
Dana Point Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.