We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding location, breakfast, room and customer service!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   34744 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92624   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Dana Point
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding location, breakfast, room and customer service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was a great hotel to stay in for our spring break vacation. Conveniently located across the street from the beach and close to I-5, this hotel has good access to almost all that there is to do in Southern California. The street in front of the hotel is a little busier than we had hoped (not the hotels fault), but the sidewalks are wide enough that it was not a real concern. The full breakfast was very good and had a wide variety of food options for the whole family.

What sets this hotel apart from the rest is the super nice, friendly staff / owners! We left there knowing the owners would do anything for us to make our stay a great one. We would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great place to stay in the Dana Point / Capistrano area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternDanaPoint, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for finding our location central to all Southern California has to offer. We are grateful that you allowed us to be a part of your vacation plans and appreciate the notice of our customer service. We hope you will let us serve you for future memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    72
    20
    11
    10
See reviews for
94
103
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This was the best of five hotels we stayed in while visiting California. It was impeccably clean and comfortable. The free parking under the bldg was fantastic and the free breakfast was delicious and offered everything from make-your-own-waffles to cereal, eggs and sausage, muffins and bagels, juice, coffee and tea and fresh fruit! Great way to start our days! The hotel manager could NOT have been nicer and was incredibly kind and accomodating. Little tip - if you are too tired to go out and eat, there is a great Italian restaurant in walking distance! Eat there or pick it up and eat in bed!

Room Tip: Ask for second floor for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternDanaPoint, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are grateful when a seasoned traveler and highly ranked reviewer leaves candid comments about their stay. Agostino's Italian restaurant is only a few steps away and is a local favorite, thank you for feeling at home enough to dine in your room. Whether enjoying the afternoon sun, having dinner, or just a night cap, our ocean view balcony rooms are enjoyable for their spanning Pacific Ocean views and relaxing sounds of waves crashing ashore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed just the one night (March 23) at your Dana Point Inn by the sea and were greeted by a very pleasant young woman at the desk by the name of––I think––Aspen. She was particularly helpful in securing a suitable room for us and offering advice on restaurants and local activities in the area which we investigated during the later part of the day. A very enjoyable stay and a charming and personable employee to deal with.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternDanaPoint, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your trip from Canada. Aspyn is a great front desk agent and we are proud to have her on our team. Our staff is trained to be courteous and we encourage them to be familiar with the local area so all of our guests may maximize their time during their visit to our uncommercialized ocean front town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

A very nice place with friendly people (staff). Beautiful and peaceful landscape (garden, flowers and fountains). Big and clean room. Nice breakfast. A place where we spent good moments and recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternDanaPoint, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments and taking note of our garden areas. Our basic room is called a Garden View room so we do pride ourselves in having beautiful flowers and well groomed plants around our neptune and mermaid fountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Read about BW Dana Point IbtS on tripadvisor and decided to book. Beautiful grounds in a tightly built location. Free parking and WiFi. Carpet was worn,but clean. PCH and train noise blocked when patio door closed. We booked the Quality Inn immediately next door on our return night from Catalina, nicer room and better price.

Room Tip: We got ocean view but was put in a 1st floor room, not worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternDanaPoint, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your trip to Catalina, we hope you had a good visit to the island during one of our warm sunny days this year in Southern California. We appreciate you bringing the worn carpet issue to our attention but unfortunately I was not able to see wear in any of our ocean view balcony rooms. Our carpet is fairly new since we are newly renovated and we have a regular carpet cleaning schedule to keep everything fresh and clean. If you have a moment, please call us with a little more detail on the carpet issue. We value feedback like this so we may constantly improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel. I usually don"t stay at Best Western so i didn't know what to expect. We got a terrific value for the money. Cleanliness is very important to me and this place was top-notch! Super clean. Very comfortable beds in an over-sized standard room. The grounds were landscaped very nicely with Asian touches. Very zen-like with various sitting areas and fountains. Soothing Asian music playing in courtyard area. This was overlooking the ocean and provided an outdoor patio with oceanviews. This was where we ate our breakfast. This was one of the nicest places I have stayed. Staff was very welcoming and helpful with directions. I would definitely return here, and recommend it for anyone visiting this area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side would be a little further from the train tracks. We did not hear the trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternDanaPoint, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay. We are very pleased to hear that you stay with us was a relaxing one and we left a positive impression as your first Best Western PLUS hotel. Welcome back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The hotel is south of Dana Point proper so not within walking distance of many restaurants, grocery stores, etc. Still, there were a few restaurants nearby. Free WiFi worked well in the rooms. The breakfast was good.

The good news is that you can see the ocean from the hotel. The bad news is that there are train tracks between the hotel and the beach although there is a pedestrian overpass nearby.

Amtrak and Los Angeles commuter trains use the tracks and need to blow their horns due to a road crossing. We were there on a weekend and the trains started at 7:30 AM and ended and 10:30 PM so they did not disturb our sleep.

Room Tip: Get one of rooms at the back so you are a bit further away from the tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternDanaPoint, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel and the great comments about our free WiFi and Hot Breakfast. As travelers ourselves, we understand the importance of a good hearty breakfast in the morning and having fast reliable WiFi connection to command the day. You will be glad to know that the Train will no longer blow it's horn on your next visit to our hotel. After working for 3 long years with the local residents, our area is now a quiet zone and the trans can zip right by without a sound.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea

Address: 34744 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Business Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dana Point Inn By The Sea Hotel Dana Point
Dana Point Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.