We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better choices in area” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   34744 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92624   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
nc
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“better choices in area”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

my wife and i stayed here in september for three nights. i'll give you the bottom line first...there are much better choices in the area at lower prices. i can only blame myself for waiting to the last minute and doing too little research. we had enough time while there to visit other hotels for future visits to the area. i have traveled quite a bit and have done trip advisor reviews for at least three years. the positives for this property are decent staff, some rooms recently renovated, free underground parking, and little else. knowing what we were paying (>$200/night), we were dissapointed on arrival and was frankly a bit embarassed in front of my wife. the negatives are: dark and musty rooms (albeit with recent furniture/carpets), a general feeling of run-down and "homeyness", a terrible breakfast buffet (poor coffee, supermarket white flour packaged breads and "pastries", scrambled eggs and sausage that was brought out in tupperware, stale cereals in plastic bins cleared out ?when, all laid out in a tiny area with people eating while standing, smokers right outside door), and as mentioned in other reviews...hear-it-to-believe-it train noise. i finally figured out that the hotel is right at the point where the train is required to blow its whistle (repeatly) before a crossing...almost HOURLY, including most hours of the night and early morning. and it is difficult to justify choosing based on location because the view is a four lane highway and train tracks...not from most rooms, mind you, but from the front public areas. this is a quirky place that does not seem to have the consistency or status to be part of even the best western chain. if the rooms were $89 then maybe...but regardless of any response the manager may make to my review...believe me there are many better choices, even if you have to stay inland (the roads here get you to the beach quickly anyway).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    82
    24
    13
    11
See reviews for
108
118
22
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is an older hotel but is well kept and the owners a friendly and accommodating. I recommend getting a room with a fireplace even if you aren't needing to use it, because the room is bigger and has a high ceiling, as well as being on a higher floor. The highway noise on the first floor is worse, but is constant no matter what-otherwise we could have listened to the ocean right across the street. We were usually only there during the evening-and the train didn't bother us at all. If you want to take any cruises or go to Catalina, the harbor is only about five minutes away. The room does have a musty odor so you may want to take some air freshener or incense. I think it is just due to the age of the hotel. The bed was very comfortable!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I spent a weekend there recently to just recharge and enjoy some beautiful scenery and relaxation. The staff was very attentive, nice beautiful gardens with lovely classical music playing; very nice rooms with comfy pillow top beds and balcony with spectacular ocean views and sunset. The only drawback (which has to do with location) is the amount of traffic noise from PCH. It dies down later at night and I would have loved to open the windows to get fresh air and hear the ocean waves at night but the porch light was so bright and could not be turned off so I had to keep A.C. on all night instead.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This funny hotel:
I checked in and was told by the lady that I needed to pay an additional USD 14 for breakfast. I could not opt out of that fee.
Well, the next day I had to catch an early flight, so I went at 7.10am to the breakfast room. Everything was locked, no one was there.
At 7.10am I couldn't expect to get breakfast which I have paid for?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was our second stay. We come for an annual family event at Doheny State Beach. This Best Western is walking distance to the beach and bon fire, close to the overpass. It is a great location. This is a family-run hotel, clean, well managed. We really like the personal attention from the owners. Also, the beds and pillows are terrific, soft any comfy. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Rooms by the sea have a great view, but you can hear the trains passing. Rooms in the rear are qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We recently stayed at the Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn By The Sea for a short mini vacation. What a wonderful surprise! Great location minutes from the beach, free continental breakfast, caring staff, and soothing gardens. Convenient to adjacent cities--Laguna Beach, San Juan Capistrano, and San Clemente. Ear plugs are provided just in case the Amtrack doesnt lull you to sleep. What is nice is that the rooms have a balcony with views of ocean and you dont have to walk forever to get to your room. Rooms are tastefully updated and comfortable. You could take the overhead walkway to get to the beach quickly. All in all, a nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

To be fair the rooms are well appointed and clean. The staff was very helpful. The garden [less expensive rooms away from the highway] were much quieter and cooler. The high price rooms [facing the ocean] were noisy and hot. Every time the folks in the room above us took a step it sounded like a drum beat. The hotel is removed from the beach by both railroad tracks and the Pacific Coast Highway. The tracks serve both passenger and freight so can be quite noisy both day and night.

I have had better breakfasts at much lower price and quality motels.

Room Tip: Away from teh ocean, I think it is called garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea

Address: 34744 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dana Point Inn By The Sea Hotel Dana Point
Dana Point Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.