We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid: Paid for breakfast, got no breakfast” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   34744 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92624   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Dana Point
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avoid: Paid for breakfast, got no breakfast”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This funny hotel:
I checked in and was told by the lady that I needed to pay an additional USD 14 for breakfast. I could not opt out of that fee.
Well, the next day I had to catch an early flight, so I went at 7.10am to the breakfast room. Everything was locked, no one was there.
At 7.10am I couldn't expect to get breakfast which I have paid for?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    70
    19
    9
    10
See reviews for
87
102
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was our second stay. We come for an annual family event at Doheny State Beach. This Best Western is walking distance to the beach and bon fire, close to the overpass. It is a great location. This is a family-run hotel, clean, well managed. We really like the personal attention from the owners. Also, the beds and pillows are terrific, soft any comfy. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Rooms by the sea have a great view, but you can hear the trains passing. Rooms in the rear are qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We recently stayed at the Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn By The Sea for a short mini vacation. What a wonderful surprise! Great location minutes from the beach, free continental breakfast, caring staff, and soothing gardens. Convenient to adjacent cities--Laguna Beach, San Juan Capistrano, and San Clemente. Ear plugs are provided just in case the Amtrack doesnt lull you to sleep. What is nice is that the rooms have a balcony with views of ocean and you dont have to walk forever to get to your room. Rooms are tastefully updated and comfortable. You could take the overhead walkway to get to the beach quickly. All in all, a nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

To be fair the rooms are well appointed and clean. The staff was very helpful. The garden [less expensive rooms away from the highway] were much quieter and cooler. The high price rooms [facing the ocean] were noisy and hot. Every time the folks in the room above us took a step it sounded like a drum beat. The hotel is removed from the beach by both railroad tracks and the Pacific Coast Highway. The tracks serve both passenger and freight so can be quite noisy both day and night.

I have had better breakfasts at much lower price and quality motels.

Room Tip: Away from teh ocean, I think it is called garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I booked this hotel over the St. Regis because of it's great and consistent reviews and thought that there was a value play here. Everyone who rated this hotel highly must be deep sleepers and don't care about their freedoms.

Upon checking in, Fernando, who I'm assuming is the proprietor, wanted to scan my driver's license. As a staunch believer in my privacy, I refused. He gives me this BS about how it is for my protection. We compromised and I let him enter my D/L number in the computer. Then he wanted the license plate of my car. What next? My blood type? You allow yourself to give up a little bit of freedom each day until you wake up one day without any.

The garage was woefully short on parking. Worst of all, there was a trailer parked in the handicap spot which we utilize.

The room was actually nice for a Best Western (and hence a 2 star rating instead of 1 star). There's a nice flat screen TV with minifridge and microwave. The ceilings however are very thin. Any footsteps from people above you are heard very loudly. Also, I counted at least 6 trains passing by throughout the evening and night.

Breakfast was ok - scrambled eggs and sausages were the hot food items along with your typical continental breakfast items.

Room Tip: don't be on the ground floor!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternDanaPoint, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review and choosing to book with us over the St Regis. As an establishment which is a part of one of the worlds largest hotel chains, we ensure you that your safety and security is of the utmost importance to us. When we ask for your ID during the check in process, it is to ensure that you are in fact the owner of the credit card. Your ID is never scanned here at the hotel. Please understand that if merchants did not ask for proper identification with a credit card, it would leave identity thieves an easier means to using your credit card without authorization. We apologize if you find this to be a nuisance but we will continue to practice strict security measures to ensure the privacy and security of all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We loved this place! We are use to large hotels with big lobbies and lots of amenities, but we did not miss them as this quaint little hotel was comfy, quiet, and pleasant. The small sitting areas are surrounded by well kept gardens. The beds were a true Queen size, and the location was close to everything we wanted to do. The staff was pleasant and helpful from the time we called to make reservations until we checked out. The 'warm breakfast' is simple so don't expect a big buffet. Added plus: no hidden cost - free parking, and a staff that gave perfect recommendations and directions to the best beaches, restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

WAY overpriced. Friendly staff. Nice location. Over $400 a night! Totally not worth it. My husband booked this and was told it was a much nicer room than what it turned out to be. The room looked like it was incomplete/in the middle of a renovation. Jacuzzi closed at 9pm (even on the weekends) so we couldn't go for a soak after dinner. Nice place to ride your bike but we had to lock them to our car as there wasn't anywhere to store them. The bathroom was so small that the bath mat didn't even fit on the floor. Some mildew in the shower.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternDanaPoint, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for your candid comments. From the description of your stay, I am slightly confused if this stay was at our hotel. All of our shower areas have plenty of space for a floor mat and all of our rooms have been completely renovated for a year now. Our hotel has a bicycle locking area that is secure and is available for use by all guests. There is another Best Western PLUS that has recently joined our brand only a few weeks ago and I have been told that they are still in the process of finishing renovations. This converted hotel is only 1.5 miles away from us on the same street in Dana Point so it is very understandable for a possible confusion in hotels. Many guests have arrived at the wrong hotels only to be directed back to the correct one. If we are the correct hotel, please call us so we may understand which part of the room seemed under renovation or what we can do to ensure a more comfortable stay during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea

Address: 34744 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dana Point Inn By The Sea Hotel Dana Point
Dana Point Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.