We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond expectations.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   34744 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92624   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Above and beyond expectations.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Our impeccably clean room on the second floor with its high ceilings felt roomier than anticipated. The owners and staff provided excellent service, and the continental (expanded) breakfast was a nice surprise.
Very refreshing to find a place were great care is given.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    102
    29
    14
    13
See reviews for
125
141
26
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We just returned from an overnight stay; my husband and I were celebrating both of our birthdays. Upon check-in we met Fernando, who is truly wonderful! He checked us in, and gave us our room key. The room was on the first floor facing the ocean and had a nice, private balcony. I had just finished telling my husband that I wish I had requested a room on a higher floor when the phone rang. It was Fernando upgrading us to a bigger room on the second floor! He was at the door 30 seconds later with the new keys and mentioned that he saw that it was my birthday and wanted us to have an upgrade. He then mentioned that if we would like, he would make reservations for us at the Chart House up the street, where they will treat us like VIPs, provide us with a great table and a complimentary chocolate lava cake. Well, you guessed it, they did all of that (a welcome message from the hotel with our name on it was even on the menu!). As others have mentioned, the continental breakfast was nice, with eggs, sausage, waffles, fruit, muffins, etc. The continental breakfast room is a bit small, but there are tables outside that you can sit at, or I suppose you can take your breakfast back to your room (our room had a microwave, fridge, and sink). Parking was free, which is rare in this area, and the lot is covered. I loved the bed....I mean, loved it! It was really comfortable and the down pillows (which I usually hate), were really nice. The room was very clean and comfortable. Because the hotel is right on the Pacific Coast Highway, there is quite a bit of traffic during the day. However, we really didn't hear it much while we were in the room, and the traffic didn't bother us at night at all. With regard to the train, yes, it is a bit loud during the day, however, we didn't hear it in the evening after 9:00p. It blew through the next morning around 7:00a. But, really, this is the only negative about this hotel, and I think all of the positives completely outweigh this negative. We'll definitely return; thanks so much to Fernando and his family for such a nice stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternDanaPoint, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time in writing such a wonderful review. We are happy to see that we could play a small part in making your birthdays just a little more special. The Chart House is one of the best restaurants in Dana Point with spectacular ocean views and also a local favorite. We are the only 3 star hotel in this area that does not charge for parking and our beds are top of the line Sealy memory foam pillow top mattresses. Thank you for taking notice in the quality and value we provide and allowing us the opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in Sept. 2011 for 6 nights during a visit from Scotland and can honestly say it was one of the most enjoyable hotels we have ever stayed at. Steven and the rest of the family who own the hotel go out of their way to ensure that the guests are made to feel special during their stay for example we were loaned flashlights to walk along the beach at night. The location is excellent (only 1 mile from the harbour area) and the atmosphere is very friendly. The family even made our anniversary more special by upgrading us and leaving a lovely gift in our room which was totally unexpected
Continental breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and was a bonus as it was included in the price. The rooms were spotless and cleaned daily. The car park was free.
We will definitely visit this hotel again in the future and can thouroughly recommend it to anyone wishing to stay at Dana point.

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony facing the sea - recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We feel so lucky we found this place! The rooms were spacious, very clean and comfortable. The staff went out of their way to be be sure we had everything, including supplies for the beach, best places to go in the area, and places to eat. Free parking and breakfast were a definite plus. It was so nice waking up and eating breakfast on the porch enjoying the ocean view! This is how hotels should be run! Looking forward to the next time we can get to Dana Point!

Room Tip: Garden rooms are quieter and a great deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I spent two nights at this lovely spot in Dana Point, enjoying the view of the ocean from the deck and enjoying time with friends from PA and CA who also stayed there. The only drawbacks were the tiny breakfast room (but good food selection), and also trains traveled through the area across the street on a regular basis. (The motel provided earplugs for sleeping, but I didn't need them.) The room was clean, comfortable and quite affordable for the area, with restaurants within walking distance. Great stay!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back - you might not have an ocean view, but it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Highly recommend this jewel
. Management excellent with wonderful rooms and gardens. Breakfast was wonderful and pleasant atmosphere. Will mark this as a must return. You will too.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The service was outstanding, this is a family owned hotel and it sure makes a difference. Rooms are neat and clean with modern furniture and flat screen tv´s. Breakfast and parking are included. We left some items and inmediately received a call from the front desk to our house, the items were delivered to our home in Georgia in less than 2 days. We appreciate the gesture. Would go again. Steven, Fernando and the whole staff are very nice.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper the train may bother you, but really we did not have a problem with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea

Address: 34744 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Business Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dana Point Inn By The Sea Hotel Dana Point
Dana Point Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.