We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Needs Some TLC but Ambience Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Daily Credit
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Room Needs Some TLC but Ambience Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The view is spectacular and the staff is Marriott professional and trained. Especially good were the waitpersons in the dining/bar area. They did seem on one night to be understaffed. One hiccup occurred when I requested a sitting near the window for later that evening for a special occasion. Keep in mind that I was doing business meals/meetings all day, so they knew me & I am a Lifetime Gold Member. The one thing I believe is in the service industry you should never do is simply say "no" to a paying customer. I worked it out later and a very kind waitperson & bartender comped a drink and brought a cupcake! Good thinking.
Pool area is very nice and clean. I did not have the opportunity to use the spa due to business.
Pricy to park a car, but in fairness, parking is tricky in Dana Point.
All in all, I would return as I like the area but only on discounted pricing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your compliments regarding our staff. We thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are delighted to hear that we were able to fulfill your request despite the hiccup. We look forward to your next visit and we would definitely recommend that you experience the Spa. We know you will not be disappointed. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    289
    101
    49
    51
See reviews for
240
251
32
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This Resort is in a great location overlooking Dana Point Harbor. The room was clean but average. The bed was old and had body ruts in it, so the middle of the bed was the high spot. I was woken up several times by people yelling in the hallway throughout the night. This is more of a family resort than a couples retreat, kids of all ages everywhere. The pool was a zoo. I was charged $32 for Valet parking a car that I did not bring. I did confront the front desk who removed the charge with no question. Overall I was hoping to have an enjoyable weekend away, but was left a bit disappointed.

Room Tip: Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments regarding our resorts location and cleanliness. We regret that you felt the resort was not conducive for a couples retreat. We find the resort to be a perfect fit for business travelers, couples, and families. We do apologize if there were too many people at the pool. The beauty of Southern California is the sunshine that is present year round and our guests take advantage of this amazing weather by being outside. We encourage our guests to utilize the two pools that the resort offers (one has a children’s splash zone and the other does not). We are happy to hear that we were able to correct your parking charge and we apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Nick was terrific at check in. Demonstrating all the hotel's features. Ashley in the lounge was attentive and always smiling. Megan was a little swamped and hard to come by, but still overall the experience was decadent. Try the donut holes! really decadent. Trying the spa today.

Room Tip: ocean view is the way to go. if you cant get that try for the pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star rating. We appreciate your compliments regarding our staff and we will definitely share them with our team. I couldn’t agree with you more, the donut holes are my favorite dessert at the resort as well. We hope you enjoyed your spa treatment and we’re sure you left feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. We look forward in having you back the next time you are in Dana Point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed at the Lagune Cliffs Resort on 3-26-14 and I agree that the location and facility is gorgeous. My issue stems from someone in the mandatory valet taking liberties with my car. Went out for dinner the night I checked in and when my car was brought to me the next morning at checkout there was someone else's CD playing in the stereo, food wrappers on the passenger floor, and an empty orange juice container on the passenger seat. None of these were mine. As you can imagine, I am now worried who was been doing who knows what in my car?? I called the Desk Manager and she apologized saying she would look into it after talking to the Valet Manager and would call me back that day. No call. A few days go by and still no call. So I call the resort back, get the same Desk Manager, back on the phone and she's still looking into it and will call me. I never get a call back. More days and I call back and find out their investigation led to nothing. No valet says it was their items. No kidding....what did you think they were going to say?? Apparently there is zero protocol in place to monitor their valets in any way. Desk Manager offered to take care of my valet fee. I argued that's not enough and she said crediting the resort fee too was all she could do. Let's consider some more serious ramifications here....where could their valet could have taken my car for a spin to? what could they have done in my car without me knowing? what laws could have been broken that could only leade back to me? The sky's the limit really because they have no idea where their valets are. Someone clearly in my car taking a break for awhile. I consider this a violation of presonal property and the Laguna Cliffs feels that is worth about $50-60.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your review. We want to apologize for the experience you had with our valet service and deeply regret that you walked away from your stay disappointed and angry. We are very interested in learning more about this situation as our valet service is extremely professional and courteous and we have never received a complaint of this sort. It is quite puzzling to us. We take this very seriously and we would like to remedy the issue immediately. If you could please reach out to our Rooms Director, we would appreciate it. His number is 949-487-7517.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Beautiful property with magnificent views of the Pacific ocean. Being platinum members we got free upgrade to the suite without asking for it. Wifi worked well, breakfast was plentiful for about $25 per person. Rooms clean and room service was nice. would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We couldn’t agree with you more, the ocean views are magnificent. We thank you for the lovely compliments regarding our property, room service and speedy Wi-Fi. We hope you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade and we thank you for being loyal Marriott customers. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This resort is located at the top of cliffs over looking the parks and harbor. Many restaurants, shops and the harbor are within walking distance. The walk back is a bit of a hike since its quite a steep hill or stairs to get back to the resort. The pool area is relaxing with good music playing. The two down sides of this resort are the walls in the room are thin... And the prices for food and drinks are ridiculously high! Other than that it is a beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the resorts close proximity to the harbor and marina. We hope that you were able to relax and unwind at our pools during your stay. We appreciate your feedback and will definitely take your comments into consideration. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I've been coming here for years and I haven't wanted to review this place because I don't want people to know about it. Sure there are the Ritz and Montage and St. Regis down the street but I truly prefer the Cliffs based on price, accommodations and overall service. If I had a complaint, it's that they don't give you enough pillows in the room unless you ask for it. The pillows are somewhat older and flattens easily so if you want to prop yourself up to watch TV or work, you're out of luck. But requests extra pillows in the reservation or call housekeeping and they will happily give you as much as you need. Try this hotel at least once and I guarantee you will come back again and again.

Room Tip: I like the third floor with a pool view but the other side is the view of the wharf so you can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review and for all of your wonderful compliments. We appreciate your recommendation to travelers and we too hope that everyone visiting the Orange County coast experience this resort at least once because we are just as confident that travelers will be back. We want to thank you for your review and for allowing your “secret” to get out. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.