We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel; would stay there again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good hotel; would stay there again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

Stayed here for a week while on business and brought my boyfriend, recently. The rooms were very nice -- not overly modern, but nice and clean (except for the occasional hair left behind by the maids - when will hotels have maids start wearing hairnets?). We stayed in a room on the ground floor and I was worried about the sound, but the room was nice and quiet. Bed (we had a king) was nice and comfy, too.

The front desk was very pleasant, although weren't able to answer all of my questions. The two pools were great and the location - a short walk down the hill to the beach/marina.

Didn't appreciate the $17/day for self-parking (I'm pretty sure you can park on the street area at the entrance for free). I didn't use the spa as the prices were (IMHO) way too high. Didn't eat or drink at the hotel - go to the wine store down the street and bring back your own wine to enjoy. And there were plenty of restaurants in the area, so drive around and check it out.

While it isn't the Ritz, I'd stay here again and definitely recommend.

  • Liked — Good location near beach, comfortable, pleasant employees
  • Disliked — Expensive parking, no free Wi-Fi, expensive spa svcs
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    310
    106
    54
    56
See reviews for
251
266
33
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

I recently stayed at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott and booked 2 rooms for my daughter's 16th birthday. We found the hotel beautiful, clean, and the staff very friendly. It is not a typical looking Marriott, more of a cottage style; which I enjoyed. We asked for an early check-in and was able to check in by 12:00 noon. I'm an Orange County native, and the beach around the hotel is not my favorite, but the hotel is very close to Dana Point Harbor which has a really good inexpensive seafood restaurant/market called Jon's Seafood. The pool is also very nice with views of the beach. Great beaches are not far away in Laguna Beach. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Liked — The locatoin near Dana Point Harbor
  • Disliked — Nothing. It was great.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

for $240/night with free parking it's a very nice place.
might look old from outside, but interior was very nice.
may be a little bit noisy on weekends

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vegas/LA/Dallas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

Wow,
Yes, I was a bit hesitant with the Marriott brand. My wife pointed out as we pulled up, that she had stayed here in 1989. So I was a bit sceptical about the age and potential quality. We own at the Signature MGM and stay mostly Starwood prefered. But I must say that I have NEVER had a better, consistant customer service experience than with this property.
From valet, to check in. Room service to made service. Everyone greeted us and made sure our every need was taken care of.
Even on check out....on the 4th of July. No delay in the bell service and our car was ready in the drive loaded with our bagage and cold water (along with 15 other cars coming and going)
I really could not believe the service.
rooms are OK
Views are awsome, but it's Dana Point....what do you expect

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — a bit older property
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

Overpriced, not particularly well located, and just not that nice. I can't think of any reason to return.

We stayed here for one evening at the end of a very exhausting trip for friends' weddings and family obligations. It was our wedding anniversary, and my husband (who has silver level status) booked a room with points and told them it was an anniversary. On top of the points, they charged an $80 supplement for a room with a view.

When we arrived at 2pm, we were told that our room was not ready, but that it was a very nice room and worth the wait. We waited, fully dressed, at one of the pools (over-crowded and noisy, with no loungers available - the pool/bar staff was pretty nice, the drinks were mediocre). After an hour, the front desk called our cell to let us know the room was ready. It was pathetically small (we're from NY, and very used to small spaces), with a small balcony. The chairs on the balcony were bar chairs - necessary, because with regular chairs, you couldn't have seen over the balcony. Furnishings were unimpressive, bed and linens were fine.

The hotel's location was okay, but not great. The ocean views are certainly nice. The large lawns in front of the hotel are a public park, so if someone is holding a wedding, or having a noisy birthday party - or if an entire high school's worth of kids are having their prom pictures taken, as was the case when we stayed there - you have a good view of that, as well. The hotel is up a steep and windy street, uphil from a Dennys. The closest water is the very large marina downhill from from the hotel, just a walk through the park and down 100+ steps.

The parking situation is every bit as annoying as the other reviewers have said. I can understand paying $20+ for parking in an urban environment, where the parking structure may not be owned by the hotel and/or where many visitors will not have cars. But when the garage is on hotel property, when every visitor will need to drive to the town, and when the town has helpfully marked all street parking within 1/2 mile of the hotel as "no parking for hotel guests"? That's just egregious.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

My boyfriend and I wanted to stay in a nicer part of California while we were visiting his home state. We chose Laguna Cliffs Marriott based not only on the location, but on the Marriott website's photogallery and reviews. Upon arriving we were completely shocked to find that we had to pay for parking (about $24 a night) while locals and others could park outside the hotel on the street. The staff however was incredible and answered any questions we had about directions, restaurants, shops, anything! Our hotel room was a total disappointment. We had no kitchen...not even a kitchenette! No mini fridge, microwave...nothing! Therefore leftovers, breakfast foods, and drinks were stored in a styrofoam cooler that we had to buy at the local grocery store! We had no balcony as well, just a window that cranked open to the pool. Although we were really disappointed about the lack of kitchen and balcony, the bed was comfortable and the room was nice and clean. We expected that much for the amount that we paid. The pool was very nice as well as the view at the pool. The website is very misleading. Although we knew that the beach was not immediately outside the hotel doors, we didn't realize that you had to hike down the side of a very steep and not small hill, cross multiple roads and still you were just at a marina. The drinks at the pool were incredibly expensive and not good at all! However drinks at the bar inside were great, but if you were out at the pool it was a bother to have to go all the way over to the other building just to get a drink! I can't say enough about the staff though! They were really helpful and nice and really wanted to make sure we had a great stay. They also made it incredibly easy to check out even though my boyfriend and I split the bill! We couldn't have been happier with the staff...the hotel itself on the other hand was a disappointment!

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — price, parking, and hotel accomodations
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

The service at this hotel is awesome! My daughter got married this weekend in San Juan Capistrano and we used the hotel as our home base for the wedding party and preparation. The hotel staff was incredibly helpful, friendly and accommodating. The grounds are beautiful and the view is gorgeous. A special warm thank you to Tiffany at the front desk...she was wonderful!
I would most definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it to everyone.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Parking fee
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Marriott, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.