We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, nice bed, friendly staff, but just decent value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great view, nice bed, friendly staff, but just decent value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and I booked a room here as a one hire get away. We paid extra for an ocean view and it was beautiful. Overall the room was spacious. The bathroom however was small and dated compared to the last couple hotels we have stayed in. The staff was very friendly and professional, but mistakenly overcharged us, which was a minor annoyance and they quickly fixed the issue. Fortunately valet parking was in our package deal, otherwise it would have been $32, plus there is a $25 resort fee, which included free wi-fi, but the speed was a rather slow. The breakfast buffet was great, but the dinner menu was limited and expensive. We went to the Chart House instead and had a great time. So, our overall opinion was we enjoyed ourselves, but it was over priced when you add in all the extras.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your spacious, ocean view room. We appreciate your compliments regarding our staff service and we will be sure to share them with our team. We appreciate your feedback regarding our parking and resort fee and will certainly take your comments under review. In recent parking and resort fee surveys we’ve conducted with our fellow resorts located on the coastline, we have found our parking and resort fee rates to be in line and are actually the most economical. We look forward in welcoming you back and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    331
    119
    61
    58
See reviews for
266
292
35
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I got a room that I paid for with a living social deal. The picture they had showed a hotel on a cliff above the ocean, so I upgraded to the full ocean view with a king size bed. When I got to the room, I have to say I was disappointed. The room was pretty small, the bath was something you would see in a best western, and my view was decent, but not what was shown in the ad. The view is actually of Dana Point harbor and marina, and half of the view was cut off by the room next to us, so it was really only half a view. The balcony had barely enough room for my wife and I to stand on. I know it's standard to pay for parking, but $35 a night? Also, to order pay per view, it's $17. I can buy the dvd for that! On a positive note, the staff is really friendly, and as everyone else confirms, the bedding is freakishly comfortable. Don't get me wrong, it is a nice place, but not THAT nice and not for the price. if you go there, don't bother to upgrade for the view, just drive up to laguna beach and walk around at sunset. it doesn't get much better than that.

Room Tip: Like I said, don't waste your money upgrading to a room with a view. Its not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments regarding our exceptional staff service. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful views of Dana Point harbor and marina. We regret that your room was not to your liking. As you will read from previous reviews, we receive great compliments regarding our ocean view rooms. Your opinion matters greatly to us and our ultimate goal is to provide a completely satisfactory stay. We are happy to hear that you did enjoy the comfort of our beds. We hope you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

My husband and I visited here the week of nov. 10. We had an aewsome time here just relaxing and enjoying the beautiful view. The elephant parade was happening here at the time which was a real treat. And we thoroughly enjoyed listening to the blue moonies in the lounge on saturday night. I would highly recommend this hotel....great room, 2 nice pools with jacuzzi, and a wonderful view.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We are happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed the beautiful views of Laguna Cliffs. The elephant parade auction was a treat for all of us to host and we are delighted to hear that you were able to experience this event during your stay. Thank you for sharing your stay with us, your opinion greatly matters to us and our goal is to create a relaxing, warm and hospitable environment for all of our guests. We hope you visit us again soon. We look forward in welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The property is beautiful. Staff is outstanding. We too were upgraded at arrival. Beds were very comfortable. Dining room and room service was outstanding. They serve a to die for Rueben. The best part was the spa. Had a deep tissue message by Angela Rafferty and had to be the best one yet. I normally prefer a male and initially was disappointed I had a female but she knew her technique and was outstanding. I would fly to Laguna again just to have a massage by Angela.If you have the time you will not be disappointed to schedule a massage with Angela. She is the best. Wish she were located in Arizona. I would be there once a week.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We appreciate all of your wonderful compliments. We create WOW experiences for our guests every day and we are delighted that you were able to experience the high level of service the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa provides to its guests. We are so happy that you enjoyed your deep tissue massage. Angela is outstanding and we will be sure to share your review with her and the entire Spa team. We cannot wait to welcome you back for another WOW experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The room was great. I was upgraded to a room with a balcony and ocean view. The ocean is a bit of a distance away, but there are no building obstructing the view to the ocean. Just a park with trees.

The bar was great and had a great view and patio to enjoy your beverage and food of choice.

The bed was so comfortable and makes you not want to get up.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We are happy to hear that you were upgraded to an ocean-view room. We hope that you were able to enjoy the live music in our OverVue Lounge Friday and Saturday nights. We’ve received many great compliments regarding the comfort of our beds and we are delighted to hear that you too had a good night’s rest. We hope that you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The Laguna Cliffs Marriott is a great stay. There was a surfing contest just a couple of blocks away and a good golf course close by. I thought that the pricing was reasonable given the location and property. Mandatory parking and resort fees were too much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to watch the surfing contest during your visit. We hope you enjoyed your day of golfing. We appreciate your feedback regarding our parking and resort fee and will certainly take your comments under review. In recent parking and resort fee surveys we’ve conducted with our fellow resorts located on the coastline, we have found our parking rate and resort fee to be in line and are actually the most economical. We hope you visit us again soon. We look forward in welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We tried to visit the lobby art exhibit which benefits the Asian elephants today. Two security guards told us that we could not go in because we were not registered guests. Our friends who are guests there were waiting for us in the lobby. Ridiculous and rude treatment! . It is a lovely place but over the top stuffy. Won't ever stay there!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, the elephant parade auction was a private event and the organization that was putting on this event had their security team assisting in keeping this event private. We apologize if you felt that our staff poorly handled the situation. Your opinion matters greatly to us and your satisfaction is of upmost importance. As you will read from our past reviews, we usually receive many fine compliments from our guests and we hope you will look upon this incident you experienced as an exception and not the rule. We certainly hope you'll reconsider giving Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa another opportunity in the future to restore your faith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
7.8 mi away
Inn At Laguna Beach
Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 21 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
7.2 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
21.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 19 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.