We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dana Point, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

This was the perfect stay. We went for my boyfriends birthday and it was such an incredible view and centrally located to the harbor and delicious food. We rode bikes around all weekend and ate awesome food. We would definitely visit again. Only disappointment was the restaurant "The Vue" inside the hotel. I will say we ate appetizers upstairs, behind the bar and sat outside. BEST calamari I have ever had and the cheese plate is the perfect combinations.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you had a “perfect” stay for your boyfriend’s birthday. We are happy to hear that you took advantage of our complimentary bike rentals and were able to ride around the city of Dana Point. Thank you for your compliments regarding the calamari and cheese plate offered in our OverVue Lounge. We look forward in having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    315
    263
    87
    47
    48
See reviews for
220
234
30
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed at the Dana Point Marriott Cliffs Resort for a long weekend. The property and location is spectacular, but the rooms are average at best which is to say over priced. Food and service at the resort was very good, however room service was terrible. We ordered breakfast two mornings and although it arrived on time, all the food was cold and the coffee at best was just warm. Notified the room service kitchen, but nothing was done to correct the situation nor were the meals deducted from our checkout bill.

Room Tip: Arrive early to check in and ask for a ocean view room.
See more room tips
Green Features: Room staff replaced all towels and bed linens everyday, Room had energy saving light bulbs and state of the art heating/cooling devices.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments regarding our food and staff service at the resort. We apologize that you were not satisfied with your order from our in room service. We take every review seriously and will address your concern with our Food & Beverage team to assure that this does not happen in the future. We hope you will look upon this incident you experienced as an exception and not the rule. We hope you visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We just held our daughter's wedding at this hotel and everything exceeded our expectations. The location and view of course are great, and since this was a destination wedding, being within walking distance to Dana Point marina was very nice. We had a large group staying at the hotel, and everyone enjoyed their rooms and the hotel service was outstanding. We held 3 separate events at the hotel over the course of the weekend, and they were all executed flawlessly. Excellent setup, food, service... I would definitely stay at the hotel again. And, I highly recommend it for an event!

Room Tip: I'm not sure all rooms have an ocean view...so definitely ask for one. We got the Exec Suite an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful compliments and 5 star rating. We want to congratulate you on your daughter’s wedding. Nothing means more to us then executing a “flawless” event for our guests. We are delighted to hear that all of your out of town guests enjoyed their stay with us as well. We will share your compliments with our staff and look forward in having you and your family return for another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here with our extended family - had 4 rooms - and we loved it! Our room had the biggest balcony and best views, it overlooked the ocean and coastline which was amazing. The pool/spa were very relaxing for adults and they had an area for the kids to play. You could walk to the beach, we have 3 young kids and we managed fine going downhill but holding an infant (and all the beach gear) while walking uphill was challenging. So if you plan to walk, pack lightly. The beach there was a bit rocky but the ocean water was really warm. I do NOT like cold water and even I was playing in the ocean. They ONLY offer valet parking no self parking so be aware of that. Location is great - to save some money we dined at Stack Pancake House and also Bubba Kahuna's Pizza - Go to both YUM! Ordered room service for the kids - chicken strips and also cheeseburgers - the servings were so large that it could feed an adult. We drove to SeaWorld and Wild Animal Park, about an hour away. The hotel room has a fridge so I packed A LOT of snacks and drinks for the kids. I have back/neck probs but I will say the beds were very comfy. Overall, a great luxury stay in a gorgeous ocean community not a cheap place but worth the price. In fact, saw an actor upon checking out so if it's good enough for a celebrity, it's good enough for ME!

Room Tip: Request the big rectangle balcony rooms that face the sunrise, the rooms that face the restaurant ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed the two outdoor pools and that you visited Doheny State Beach during your stay. We enjoy hearing what kind of activities our guests partook in during their vacation. We are a basecamp between Los Angeles and San Diego and our guests find that our destination is ideal for visiting theme parks and other tourist attractions in both locations. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed the resort’s views and all of the amenities we provide. We look forward in having you all back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is my 3rd visit in 2 years. This hotel rocks. Beautiful grounds and property. Outstanding personal and friendly service. Wonderful spa with unique treatments. Right near Dana Point Harbor where you can take the ferry to Catalina Island. First stay was in a one bedroom suite with balcony and waterview. Very comfortable beds. Second was basic standard with no balcony. This time upgraded to a balcony with seaview. Great views of the water. Near markets and restaurants. Restaurants at the Marriott are excellent. They run some fabulous deals at marriott.com. Keep an eye on it!

Room Tip: Get a balcony with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to make every visit of yours as charming and fabulous as the first. We are delighted to hear that you are a loyal customer of ours and we appreciate your wonderful compliments. The resort offers exceptional amenities and we are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the spa as well as our restaurants. We look forward to having you back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I reviewed this hotel back in 2009, and made sure to illustrate that this was a resort that seemingly catered to screaming children with the hope that it would properly prepare readers of what to expect.

We'd since stayed there for a wedding, and noticed that they were building a KIDS ONLY pool on the opposite side of the property. This piqued our curiosity, so we figured we would give it another shot to see if this could be the relaxing resort it has the potential to be. So we booked a night after the kids pool was completed, and it was fantastic. Not sure if the staff had been upgraded too, or if the staff was simply more calm and focused in the absence of maniacal screaming children. It was like we were VIPs in a movie or something. People that I had never met before were greeting me by name as I walked past their stations, and asking if I needed anything. We walked up to the hostess for dinner and before I could say hello, she said "Right this way Mr. & Mrs. ****** ". Like our faces had been flagged. (Dinner was delicious by the way. Really good cocktails as well).

The manager at the time was Tiffany, and she was infinitely accommodating, as was the entire staff. Seriously, stay here.

Room Tip: This isn't really a "room tip", but I hope you appreciate it. Go to Turks in the harb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful compliments. We are so delighted to hear that you returned to our resort and that that we completely changed your perspective from your first visit in 2009. We truly are grateful for your business and we are even more grateful that we were able to create new and lasting memories for you. We take great pride in our high service levels and all of our guests are VIP’s. Our job is to make sure that your stay is nothing but exceptional and we are happy to hear that we created this experience for you. We appreciate your positive feedback and we will be sure to share this with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grayslake
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I recently stayed at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa with 2 friends. THe Resort was lovely, and the service was great. Our reservations were for 3 people, and there was onlly 2 coffee cups, 2 wine glasses, and not enough towels for three women. This has happened in other hotels, but I find it unacceptable at the prices being charged.

Room Tip: We requested ocean view and had a corner room. It overlooked the grassy area, where a wedding was ta...
See more room tips
Green Features: Kudos to Marriott for choosing to be eco friendly.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you and your friends found the staff service to be great. We apologize for the inconvenience of having to ask for any additional items for your room. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will address your concern with our Housekeeping department. Thank you for your feedback. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.