We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Will Never Tire of the View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Daily Credit
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“You Will Never Tire of the View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Gorgeous property. Ideal location across from marina. Short walk to famous Doheny Beach, hotel will rent you a surfboard for a mere $10. Good restaurants within walking distance overlooking marina. Nice walking paths with beautiful views wherever you look. Hotel has music in lounge on Friday and Saturday nights. This past Saturday, lounge was sparsely populated. May want to rethink choice of performers. They were a bit out there and, although I am fond of progressive rock, they seemed almost to be playing to/for themselves.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a room with a balcony. We had a great view but only if we climbed over the chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We cannot agree with you more, the panoramic views never become tiresome to look at. The sunrises and sunsets are truly breathtaking. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed Doheny State Beach and the walking and jogging paths that are located near the resort. Thank you for your feedback regarding our live entertainment. Your opinion matters to us and we will share your thoughts with our team. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    289
    101
    49
    51
See reviews for
240
251
32
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

What a great hotel. I stayed a week here for a conference. The room...beautiful; the staff...exceptional; the food...wonderful too. This is the place to come for a romantic getaway or fun for the family. With two pools, great balcony rooms and an incredible view, I couldn't have asked for a better location. Just a short walk to the harbor and one has many dining options. The hotel is valet only... so, be prepared for that, and the food/drinks are expensive... but not unexpected for a hotel of this class. I loved it and will take my husband back next year.

Room Tip: get one with a balcony overlooking the ocean. It's worth the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We are happy to hear that your conference was a great success and that everything from your room to our service levels exceeded your expectations. Our resort accommodates all guests; families, couples, conference groups, business travelers and such. We take great pride in the service levels we provide all of our guests and we are looking forward in having you and you husband visit us for a leisure stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our recent 2 night stay at the Laguna Hills exceeded our expectations. We wished we could have stayed longer. The resort, the room (2015) and the staff were great. Although the food in the lounge was pricey, the view was lovely and the food tasty. We are glad we stayed in Dana Point instead of other beach communities. The other communities were extremely busy. After a day of touring, we were happy to return to this resort because it was peaceful and quiet.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We are delighted to hear that your recent visit with us was superb. We appreciate all of your fine compliments regarding the resort rooms and our staff. We hope to welcome you back in the near future for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Not quite a 4, but definitely a 3.5 rating. The room was adequate (a bit on the small side), but the bathroom needs a massive upgrade. Having a small balcony helps to make the room seem bigger.

The best part of the hotel is the concierge (Linda) who was very helpful and personable. The restaurant food was also pretty good. However, the hotel is really not close to anything. Without a car, one is pretty much stuck on-site with little to do.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments regarding our attentive and personable staff. We have to agree with you, our culinary team is very talented and we offer a variety of menu items that will surely satisfy the pickiest of eaters. We hope you took advantage of the harbor and all of the shops and restaurants that are walking distance from the resort. We find that many of our guests enjoy the various water activities that are offered at the local beach. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We reserved a room with a balcony view of the garden. We also requested a room with 2 double beds and a sofabed. When we arrived to check in, we were told we had been upgraded to an ocean view for free and since there was no sofabed in the room, they would bring us a complimentary roll away bed. We were on the top floor of the San Clemente wing.

The room was very nice. Clean and decorated in a modern beach them. We had an adjoining room and the door between our rooms seemed to be paper thin. We could clearly hear the women in the other room talking. Awkward. The view was slightly disappointing because the driveway was right below us and the ocean view was pretty distant and what we can mostly see was the harbor. There was no balcony in this room either. But, I didn't want to seem ungrateful for the free upgrade, so I didn't say anything.

We were also notified that there was going to be an OC Chapter Porsche Club gathering on Sunday morning. So we expected more cars parked around the resort and more people. But, we didn't expect to hear revving car engines at 5:45am. They started arriving early to set up for their event and since our room was right above the driveway, we heard it all : /

Overall, the property is amazing and the service is very good.

Room Tip: -Del Mar & San Clemente wings are next to the kids pool. If you're in this building and wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you spent your “Girl’s Weekend Getaway” at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa. We are happy to hear that you found your room to be pleasant. We apologize for the disturbance of the Porsche Club event that was held in the park. Unfortunately, this was a city event and the resort did not have any control over the noise. We hope that this did not cause a great inconvenience to you and your friends. We always try and provide a comfortable environment for our guests and one with little or no disturbance. We apologize that your sleep was interrupted by the Porsche event. We look forward in welcoming you all back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I've never encountered worse service than I did at the Vue (or whatever it's called) bar inside this hotel.. Place was empty, asked for the check, got it about 30 minutes later, and the price for their horrible tasting cocktails cost as much as the filet mignon at the Ritz down the street. Don't waste your money at this wanna be upscale hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We regret that the service you encountered at OverVue Lounge was unsatisfactory. We want to apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered. Usually we receive many fine compliments from our guests about our outstanding service and we hope you will look upon this incident you experienced as an exception and not the rule. We want you to know that we take every review seriously and we will be addressing your concerns with our food and beverage staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

While attending a conference in Anaheim in the Fall of 2011, I decided to extend my West Coast visit by adding a vacation to the back of the conference for a few days. I found this property on the web and it was all that I expected, and much more!. My friend and I were treated like the divas that we are...the ocean view room was clean and beautiful. The staff was extraordinarily kind to us and the food and drinks were excellent. I cannot say that I have anything negative at all to say about our stay. I shopped in the gift shops...had a full body massage...walked on the beach...attended the Woodie car show out back and had the best time ever! I travel for my job a couple of times a year and I am so glad that I found the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel. As a matter of fact, I will be going there again (this time for vacay only) in the Spring of next year. Can't wait...Absolutely loved it!! V

Room Tip: Ocean view, which overlooks the property as well as the ocean. Very beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We are so delighted that you found us on the web and stayed with us for the very first time. Your experience is very important to us and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed all of the resorts amenities during your stay. We can’t wait to welcome you back in the Spring. We look forward in creating another memorable experience for you. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.