We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3.5 Stars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Midwest
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“3.5 Stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Not quite a 4, but definitely a 3.5 rating. The room was adequate (a bit on the small side), but the bathroom needs a massive upgrade. Having a small balcony helps to make the room seem bigger.

The best part of the hotel is the concierge (Linda) who was very helpful and personable. The restaurant food was also pretty good. However, the hotel is really not close to anything. Without a car, one is pretty much stuck on-site with little to do.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments regarding our attentive and personable staff. We have to agree with you, our culinary team is very talented and we offer a variety of menu items that will surely satisfy the pickiest of eaters. We hope you took advantage of the harbor and all of the shops and restaurants that are walking distance from the resort. We find that many of our guests enjoy the various water activities that are offered at the local beach. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    304
    106
    54
    56
See reviews for
250
262
33
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We reserved a room with a balcony view of the garden. We also requested a room with 2 double beds and a sofabed. When we arrived to check in, we were told we had been upgraded to an ocean view for free and since there was no sofabed in the room, they would bring us a complimentary roll away bed. We were on the top floor of the San Clemente wing.

The room was very nice. Clean and decorated in a modern beach them. We had an adjoining room and the door between our rooms seemed to be paper thin. We could clearly hear the women in the other room talking. Awkward. The view was slightly disappointing because the driveway was right below us and the ocean view was pretty distant and what we can mostly see was the harbor. There was no balcony in this room either. But, I didn't want to seem ungrateful for the free upgrade, so I didn't say anything.

We were also notified that there was going to be an OC Chapter Porsche Club gathering on Sunday morning. So we expected more cars parked around the resort and more people. But, we didn't expect to hear revving car engines at 5:45am. They started arriving early to set up for their event and since our room was right above the driveway, we heard it all : /

Overall, the property is amazing and the service is very good.

Room Tip: -Del Mar & San Clemente wings are next to the kids pool. If you're in this building and wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you spent your “Girl’s Weekend Getaway” at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa. We are happy to hear that you found your room to be pleasant. We apologize for the disturbance of the Porsche Club event that was held in the park. Unfortunately, this was a city event and the resort did not have any control over the noise. We hope that this did not cause a great inconvenience to you and your friends. We always try and provide a comfortable environment for our guests and one with little or no disturbance. We apologize that your sleep was interrupted by the Porsche event. We look forward in welcoming you all back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I've never encountered worse service than I did at the Vue (or whatever it's called) bar inside this hotel.. Place was empty, asked for the check, got it about 30 minutes later, and the price for their horrible tasting cocktails cost as much as the filet mignon at the Ritz down the street. Don't waste your money at this wanna be upscale hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We regret that the service you encountered at OverVue Lounge was unsatisfactory. We want to apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered. Usually we receive many fine compliments from our guests about our outstanding service and we hope you will look upon this incident you experienced as an exception and not the rule. We want you to know that we take every review seriously and we will be addressing your concerns with our food and beverage staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

While attending a conference in Anaheim in the Fall of 2011, I decided to extend my West Coast visit by adding a vacation to the back of the conference for a few days. I found this property on the web and it was all that I expected, and much more!. My friend and I were treated like the divas that we are...the ocean view room was clean and beautiful. The staff was extraordinarily kind to us and the food and drinks were excellent. I cannot say that I have anything negative at all to say about our stay. I shopped in the gift shops...had a full body massage...walked on the beach...attended the Woodie car show out back and had the best time ever! I travel for my job a couple of times a year and I am so glad that I found the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel. As a matter of fact, I will be going there again (this time for vacay only) in the Spring of next year. Can't wait...Absolutely loved it!! V

Room Tip: Ocean view, which overlooks the property as well as the ocean. Very beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We are so delighted that you found us on the web and stayed with us for the very first time. Your experience is very important to us and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed all of the resorts amenities during your stay. We can’t wait to welcome you back in the Spring. We look forward in creating another memorable experience for you. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I live in the area but needed a little getaway, it happened to be in the middle of the week after a holiday weekend so the rates were amazing for this hotel. They gave us a great room with ocean views, however, at 11pm a loud noise in wall started rattling and didn't quit, they couldn't figure out what is was and ultimately put us in another great room and gave us a breakfast voucher for the next morning. All in all it was great place to stay, the staff was great and very accommodating. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you and your husband decided to stay at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa for a staycation. We apologize for the noise that was coming from your room and we are happy to hear that our staff was able to quickly resolve this issue for you and place you in another room. We look forward in welcoming you back for another staycation! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a wedding in Dana Point, so decided to make a mini vacation out of it. We stayed at the marriott 3 nights. The hotel is wonderful. You can walk down to the beach, it has a pool, they were showing a movie on the park, and only a short drive to Laguna Beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We are delighted to hear that you stayed at our resort for a wedding in the area. We must agree with you that the location is quite perfect; walking distance to the marina and beach. We hope you were able to enjoy the complimentary movie in the park. We know that it is a very popular activity during the summer. We hope you found our resort to be a new destination spot for you to visit. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Beautiful Resort! Great Hospitality! Breathtaking Views! 9/9/2013

From the moment Valet opened our car doors and greeted us to the time they packed us up 2 days later I must say it was the very best stay we ever had at a Marriott property. If your looking to stay in this area of California, look no further! Its all right here at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa!
We travel a lot and always use Marriott. Love, Love , Love this resort! The staff was the best! Everyone was extremely nice and friendly. They knew exactly what we were looking for in a room / Resort / Spa. We did get a upgraded room overlooking the Marina / Ocean and all the shops and dining area’s down by the Marina. Breathtaking views!!!!! We sat out on our balcony every evening. Walked down to the Marina for dinner, lounged around out at the pool and hot tub. The area was very clean. The hot tub was nice and warm.
The room was very cozy. Loved the bed and pillows. Very clean. Nice big flat screen TV. There was a sofa and chairs in our room along with the outdoor balcony patio furniture. The furniture was also in great shape too. The bathroom was beautiful and very clean. We LOVED everything about this stay at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa. My husband and I cannot wait to come back here! A BIG THANKS to everyone at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa. Especially the front desk Manager Tiffany! She was wonderful is assisting us with our stay making sure our visit was perfect~ She really went the extra mile. Thanks we sure appreciated everything you did for us and we will return next year for sure 

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
WOW! Thank you for the detailed review of your stay. We are so honored to have you as part of our family. We are grateful for your loyalty and we are delighted that you were able to experience the warm and hospitable staff that we have here at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed the comfortable guestrooms, the ocean views and our helpful staff. We promise to continue to provide you with new, life-long memories. We can't wait for your next visit! Take good care in the meantime and we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.