We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort! Great Hospitality! Breathtaking Views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Daily Credit
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Howell, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort! Great Hospitality! Breathtaking Views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Beautiful Resort! Great Hospitality! Breathtaking Views! 9/9/2013

From the moment Valet opened our car doors and greeted us to the time they packed us up 2 days later I must say it was the very best stay we ever had at a Marriott property. If your looking to stay in this area of California, look no further! Its all right here at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa!
We travel a lot and always use Marriott. Love, Love , Love this resort! The staff was the best! Everyone was extremely nice and friendly. They knew exactly what we were looking for in a room / Resort / Spa. We did get a upgraded room overlooking the Marina / Ocean and all the shops and dining area’s down by the Marina. Breathtaking views!!!!! We sat out on our balcony every evening. Walked down to the Marina for dinner, lounged around out at the pool and hot tub. The area was very clean. The hot tub was nice and warm.
The room was very cozy. Loved the bed and pillows. Very clean. Nice big flat screen TV. There was a sofa and chairs in our room along with the outdoor balcony patio furniture. The furniture was also in great shape too. The bathroom was beautiful and very clean. We LOVED everything about this stay at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa. My husband and I cannot wait to come back here! A BIG THANKS to everyone at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa. Especially the front desk Manager Tiffany! She was wonderful is assisting us with our stay making sure our visit was perfect~ She really went the extra mile. Thanks we sure appreciated everything you did for us and we will return next year for sure 

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
WOW! Thank you for the detailed review of your stay. We are so honored to have you as part of our family. We are grateful for your loyalty and we are delighted that you were able to experience the warm and hospitable staff that we have here at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed the comfortable guestrooms, the ocean views and our helpful staff. We promise to continue to provide you with new, life-long memories. We can't wait for your next visit! Take good care in the meantime and we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    288
    100
    49
    51
See reviews for
240
251
31
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SoCal
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed here a few weeks ago with my husband, who was attending a conference. Thank heavens his company picked up the tab or else I would have felt seriously ripped off. It's not horrible but several issues make it feel much less than the four star resort it claims to be. I arrived on a busy Friday afternoon. The valet was very pleasant but I kept waiting for him to put his cell phone away and get my bag out of the trunk. He finally put the phone away but then started chatting with another valet. Ok, I'm a strong capable woman....I can get my own bag....I've just never had to at an upscale resort. The lobby was swarming with people and there were only two desk clerks available so the wait to check in was long. They were both pleasant. Our room was on the first floor, which is reached by a small gloomy elevator. The hallway was dark with a funky, musty smell. Thankfully the room didn't smell but it had other issues. It was good sized but the decor was very dated and tired looking. The carpeting looked like it could use a good shampooing and the couch was positively grimy looking. Baseboards were cracked, with peeling paint. The bed was comfortable but I was disgusted that there were stains on the sheets and there was also a large stain on the bed skirt. Ick! The sloppy housekeeping continued. The coffee maker still had the used grounds from the previous guest and our used wine glasses were not removed. If a place is going to claim to be upscale then they need to get all those details right

The positives: the grounds and view are lovely. Room service was prompt and pool service was very pleasant and attentive. All the staff members we spoke with were also very nice. The facilities, however, are so mediocre that I would advise other travelers to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review and compliments regarding the resort grounds and our friendly and attentive staff. We apologize for the poor service you received from our valet and for your wait time during your check-in. Our valet staff do carry radios (that look like cell phones) to communicate with others on our property to make sure that our guests are well taken care of. They do not use their cell phones during working hours. Fortunately, the resort is busy during summer months and sometimes the wait time to check-in is longer than usual. We appreciate your understanding and hope that this did not cause a great inconvenience to you and your husband.
In regards to the cleanliness of the rooms, we are going to address this with our Housekeeping Managers immediately to be sure that the issues you addressed are taken care of in a timely manner and to avoid anything like this in the future. Our staff is extremely detail oriented and this is clearly below the standards of the resort and unacceptable. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We certainly hope you'll reconsider giving Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa another opportunity in the future to restore your faith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We love staying at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott at least once a year. It is so convenient to walk to local restaurants (as long as you can take the steep set of stairs!) and the view along the park is beautiful. It's best to wait for a deal - sometimes they'll include the buffet breakfast, and we love their omelet bar. The beds are comfy. The pool is nice. The workout room is my husband's favorite part!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We are delighted to hear that you are loyal visitors of the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa. We are delighted that you visit us once a year. We must agree, our fitness center is one of a kind and the equipment is state of the art. We thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward in welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoyed our vacation stay at the Cliffs. The room was nice and the service was outstanding. From the moment they opened our car door until we departed again it was first class. We used the bar, pool, dinning, and guess services. The food was great and again the staff was very pleasing.

Room Tip: Lower floors BBQ areas are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage or the resort’s amenities. Our goal is to provide you with first class service from arrival to departure and we are happy that you experienced the high level of service our staff provides. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for a conference, it was the most amazing view and location for a hotel. I felt like I had been to a vacation and not a conference for work! The conference was really well organized by the hotel and the staff was very friendly and helpful at all times.

Room Tip: Partial views are nice and the ones that look out onto the pool are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We are delighted to hear that your conference was a great success and that you felt you were on a vacation during your business trip. Our goal is to provide the comfort and luxury to make you feel at home while away on business. We hope you visit us again in the near future for pleasure or business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encino, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I want to start by saying that the staff was amazing especially Gene at the front desk. They all bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable. The room was clean and our view of the pool and a little bit of the ocean from our balcony was worth it. The negative was the buffet dinner and breakfast. Though there were choices, some entrees were cold and inedible and when they ran out of fruit it was never replenished while we were seated. The big negative was the Resort Fee, which is really nothing more than a double tax. You don't get anything for it. The spa and it's amenities still cost money as does the child fun zone. I would have given a 5-star review if it weren't for that Fee.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony overlooking the pool. Quieter than you think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that our staff was able to accommodate your requests and that they provided great service during your stay. We take great pride in the exceptional service our staff provides to all of our guests. We regret that you were not satisfied with the dinner buffet and breakfast. We will certainly share your observation with our staff. Our resort fee in fact includes such items as complimentary Wi-Fi in our guestrooms, complimentary rental of recreational items such as bicycles, surfboards, boogie boards, board games, etc. The children’s splash zone and movie nights are complimentary for overnight guests. We hope this clarifies some of the inclusions in our resort fee. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward in welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Were there for a 4 night stay at the beginning of August and had a fantastic time. Room was large extremely comfortable and clean with wonderful ocean views. The hotel is in a fantastic position looking over the ocean with easy access to the beach and marina for restaurants etc. The resort fee includes bikes for 2 hours and this was great fun. Pools were lovely with great poolside service, comfortable loungers and table tennis. Outside bar/restaurant is lovely again with great views and heaters for the sometimes chilly breeze! Service throughout was friendly and professional - all in all a great hotel, a fantastic stay and hopefully a return visit soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and 5 star rating. We are delighted that you enjoyed the resort’s ocean views and comfortable rooms. We are happy to hear that you took advantage of the bike rental that is included in your resort fee. We enjoy hearing about guest’s experience and we thank you for sharing. We are looking forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.