We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A weekend away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoyed our vacation stay at the Cliffs. The room was nice and the service was outstanding. From the moment they opened our car door until we departed again it was first class. We used the bar, pool, dinning, and guess services. The food was great and again the staff was very pleasing.

Room Tip: Lower floors BBQ areas are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage or the resort’s amenities. Our goal is to provide you with first class service from arrival to departure and we are happy that you experienced the high level of service our staff provides. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    276
    227
    80
    40
    42
See reviews for
185
205
28
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for a conference, it was the most amazing view and location for a hotel. I felt like I had been to a vacation and not a conference for work! The conference was really well organized by the hotel and the staff was very friendly and helpful at all times.

Room Tip: Partial views are nice and the ones that look out onto the pool are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. We are delighted to hear that your conference was a great success and that you felt you were on a vacation during your business trip. Our goal is to provide the comfort and luxury to make you feel at home while away on business. We hope you visit us again in the near future for pleasure or business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encino, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I want to start by saying that the staff was amazing especially Gene at the front desk. They all bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable. The room was clean and our view of the pool and a little bit of the ocean from our balcony was worth it. The negative was the buffet dinner and breakfast. Though there were choices, some entrees were cold and inedible and when they ran out of fruit it was never replenished while we were seated. The big negative was the Resort Fee, which is really nothing more than a double tax. You don't get anything for it. The spa and it's amenities still cost money as does the child fun zone. I would have given a 5-star review if it weren't for that Fee.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony overlooking the pool. Quieter than you think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that our staff was able to accommodate your requests and that they provided great service during your stay. We take great pride in the exceptional service our staff provides to all of our guests. We regret that you were not satisfied with the dinner buffet and breakfast. We will certainly share your observation with our staff. Our resort fee in fact includes such items as complimentary Wi-Fi in our guestrooms, complimentary rental of recreational items such as bicycles, surfboards, boogie boards, board games, etc. The children’s splash zone and movie nights are complimentary for overnight guests. We hope this clarifies some of the inclusions in our resort fee. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward in welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Were there for a 4 night stay at the beginning of August and had a fantastic time. Room was large extremely comfortable and clean with wonderful ocean views. The hotel is in a fantastic position looking over the ocean with easy access to the beach and marina for restaurants etc. The resort fee includes bikes for 2 hours and this was great fun. Pools were lovely with great poolside service, comfortable loungers and table tennis. Outside bar/restaurant is lovely again with great views and heaters for the sometimes chilly breeze! Service throughout was friendly and professional - all in all a great hotel, a fantastic stay and hopefully a return visit soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and 5 star rating. We are delighted that you enjoyed the resort’s ocean views and comfortable rooms. We are happy to hear that you took advantage of the bike rental that is included in your resort fee. We enjoy hearing about guest’s experience and we thank you for sharing. We are looking forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We went to the Laguna Cliffs Marriott for the 4th of July and reserved full oceanview with romance package and breakfast for three nights. We arrived mid-day on the 4th, and the area was already quite busy. The hotel valets indeed had their hands full with many simultaneous arrivals. When I asked the valet whether we should take our luggage or leave it in the car (because check in isnt' technically supposed to occur until 4pm), he was flustered and said he didn't know. When we went into the lobby, there was a bit of a wait, many people checking in, but that's to be expected. Our room wasn't ready, so we went to have lunch at the OverVue. When we went into the restaurant, we asked for a table outside, and we were led to a nice table and left with *one* menu, for two people. That was very odd. I then had to search for a second menu. When our entrees arrived, we didn't have utensils or napkins. The restaurant was *not* busy, and the service was sub-par. Also, we asked about the availability of gluten free products, namely, gluten free bread, and we were told that the hotel didn't have any. We then received room 243 at the end of the north-most wing. We immediately noticed that the ocean view was blocked by a tall privacy wall on our terrace. To see the ocean, you had to walk out on the terrace. This odd arrangement was something that we wanted to correct, but the front desk was unable to offer us any other type of room (we looked at another room, but it was smaller). Back at 243, we noted that the room stank from a bathroom sink odor. A strong sewer smell was coming up from the sink drain and it was very strong. We definitely needed to correct this. We couldn't get an alternate room, and the maintenance folks came up and tried to fix the sink, but it still stank at night, and we had to call a second time the next day before it was finally corrected. Near dinner-time on night one, we spoke to the manager, and he explained that we unfortunately couldn't get a room with an open "picket style" fence (there were some, for sure), so that we could see the ocean, and he apologized for the stinky sink. We also asked what happened to the welcome champagne, and he said that it wasn't brought to us because there was initially some confusion about what room we were going to be in--but by now it was late afternoon... I told him that he could buy our $65 lunch, but instead, he offered a $50 credit, which we took (actually, he should have done both, in retrospect). As mentioned, when you book "ocean view" in this hotel, you should be aware of the "privacy wall" that blocks the view from the room (completely!) and this is in rooms on the second floor at the end of this north wing (and other wings). All you can see from this room is the sky. To "view ocean," you must get up and stand at the privacy wall. I would not call this "ocean view." I do concede that the nighttime view for fireworks from this room was excellent, but I would never book this room again. For $500+ a night, I would expect better. If you don't want a privacy wall, then book the third floor rooms above 243. We asked if during our three day stay whether we could move upstairs, but this was not possible. Also, the first day we had the room, we had Fiji waters, the second day, none were provided, the third day, we had Fiji waters. Yes, it was a busy weekend, and yes, "these things happen," but I would say better planning, having more staff available, and being more on top of room maintenance would be key goals. Overall, I would have to say that the staff at the hotel was top notch: almost every person seemed happy that we were there, very interested in our business, and most of them had a great attitude all around. The French lady at concierge (I regret that I can't remember her name), and Linda Duffy at the front desk/concierge, are the sort of people who make one inclined to return to a hotel. We had lovely assistance from these ladies all the way around. The breakfast buffet was good, especially the fruit selection and the omelette station. However, the cooks (and servers) know absolutely **nothing** about gluten free cooking (the cooks use the same utensils to handle waffles as they do to turn an omelette that is being made for a gluten free diner). It is disappointing that the food and beverage team at this hotel was not in tune with common food allergies and special dietary issues like gluten free dining. Then, to end the whole dining experience on a very dour note, on the very last day, we were informed that the hotel does in fact offer gluten free bread. This was a great disappointment to the one of the two of us who could not eat products that contain or touch wheat-based foods or foods that contain wheat flour. In any hotel of this caliber, when customers ask servers about gluten free options, a customer should get an intelligent response, not a blank look (as was the case many times at this hotel). For comparison's sake, at the St. Regis, a Starwood property nearby, the chef and his crew were all well versed in gluten free dining, and they knew about the gluten free offerings that were available at breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The St. Regis even offered limited gluten free baked goods. In the end, I would have to tip my head slightly in favor of the St. Regis over the Laguna Cliffs Marriott, just for this reason alone. Nonetheless, I wouldn't rule out a return to the Laguna Cliffs Marriott in my future.

Room Tip: As mentioned, when reserving oceanview, insist on a picket fence railing, not a privacy wall, if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review. We appreciate your wonderful compliments regarding our staff’s attentiveness and friendliness. We are delighted to heat that our Concierge team left a lasting impression on you and your girlfriend. We do want to apologize for any inconvenience the odor in your room caused you during your stay. We appreciate your bringing this to our attention and we will get this issue resolved immediately. We also want you to know that as you mentioned in your review, we do offer gluten-free bread as well as many gluten-free menu items. We take our guests dietary restrictions very seriously and do not mix our cooking utensils in any way. We have many guests that have allergies or have other dietary restrictions and it is our responsibility to provide the appropriate dishes that accommodate their requests. We apologize that our staff was not informative and we will address this issue immediately. We hope you will look upon this incident you experienced as an exception and not the rule.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Having a lovely Labor Day weekend at Laguna Cliffs. Exceptional staff, views, and accomodations throughout resort. Pool staff exceeds expectations.. Particularly Tyler, Lauren, and Alex! Thanks for making this stay memorable! Oh yes, and cannot forget Spencer at breakfast. What a pleasure he was as he greeted us each morning.

Room Tip: We have an full ocean view, but the partial views looknicetoo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you spent your Labor Day weekend with us. We appreciate your 5 star rating and we take great pride in our exceptional staff service. We cannot agree with you more, our staff service levels exceed our guests expectations and we are at your service 24 hours a day. We thank you for sharing your experience with us and we will be sure to let our staff know the wonderful compliments they received. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed one night to attend a nearby wedding. The staff -- the valets, front desk, and room service - were courteous and efficient. But we were disappointed by our dark and musty smelling fourth-floor coastal view room -- no balcony with a slider or french door, just a small bay window set too much high to see the water unless standing up directly in front of the window. Sitting in the cozy chairs underneath the windows provided no opportunity for any view at all. The personable front desk staff listened to our concerns and quickly switched us to the only other room available, a 2nd floor poolside room. Not particularly private or romantic, but at least brighter and no musty smell. At 10am the next morning, loud music began playing poolside and that ended our quiet morning. Like other reviewers, the silly $25 resort fee and mandatory $32 valet parking (no self parking, extremely frustrating since the garage is on site) detracted from our so-so experience with this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope you enjoyed the wedding you attended. We appreciate your fine compliments regarding our staff’s courteousness and efficiency. We are delighted that we had another room available that was to your liking. We appreciate your feedback regarding our parking fees and will certainly take your comments under review. In recent parking and resort fee surveys we’ve conducted with our fellow resorts located on the coastline, we have found our parking and resort fees to be in line and are actually the most economical. Thank you for sharing your comments and we hope your travels will bring you back to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott
Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, Otel, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.