We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A high class hotel which made our honeymoon extra special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A high class hotel which made our honeymoon extra special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights during our multi-centre honeymoon. We had just travelled from a beautiful hotel in Maui and the Laguna Cliffs Marriott did not disappoint. The staff were all fantastic, professional, friendly and helpful from the waiters at breakfast, the reception staff and a very helpful woman on concierge who helped us to make the most of our stay and visit some wonderful local places. We would like to say a special thank you to Matt Darst, the front desk supervisor, who arranged for us to have a surprise bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries as well as a card congratulating us on our marriage. It was a lovely touch that meant a lot to us. The hotel itself was beautifully finished to a 5* standard and I was impressed with the decor, which was subtly seaside themed throughout. We were glad that our booking included breakfast as it saved us spending too much money on food while we were there and the breakfast buffet was delicious especially the freshly made waffles and fruit selection. Opposite the hotel is a harbour with a selection of restaurants and we recommend the El Torito Mexican restaurant which did delicious authentic Mexican food that was so much better than what we get in England. We would like to thank the Laguna Cliffs Marriott for a fantastic holiday that will stay with us forever.
Amy J

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Congratulations on your marriage. We are honored that you chose our resort to celebrate this special occasion. We thank you for your compliments regarding our staff. Our goal is to provide the level of service that exceeds your expectations and we are delighted to hear that we left you with fond memories. We hope that you visit us again the next time you visit the US.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    277
    94
    48
    50
See reviews for
229
248
31
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Firstly the hotel is very nice, clean and well presented as I would tend to expect of a Marriott, and the staff who I encountered were both friendly and helpful.
The rooms are reasonable size although there was it could be noisy with very little soundproofing to either the bathroom or external to the room.
When compared to other hotels in which we stayed the actual room price itself was competitive, however you then need to factor in additional costs of $32 per day (plus tip) for valet parking (there is no option of cheaper self parking), and also a $25 per day resort fee (this appears to have increased even from the $15 which I was quoted when booking, and which I had expected to pay). Even for a short stay, that equated to an additional $180 on top of the room rate, so beware!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for your compliments regarding our friendly and helpful staff. We appreciate your feedback regarding our parking and resort fees. In recent parking and resort surveys we’ve conducted with our fellow resorts located on the coastline, we have found our parking and resort rates to be in line and are actually the most economical. We hope that you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We just stayed AGAIN at this very nice property in Dana Point/Laguna California.
What great people they have their! Everyone is very poised, polished, professional and delightful.
They have a great location, great view and great rooms. We also enjoyed their casual indoor/outdoor Restaraunt called VUE. A very upscale Marriott that feels more like a Mini-Ritz Carlton. Can't say enough good about this hotel except, we'll be back again and again!

Room Tip: Anything with a view either mountain view or ocean view.
See more room tips
Green Features: They know what they're doing. They are very environmentally conscious.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Wow! Thank you for your wonderful compliments and praise. We are so delighted that you visited us again and that you plan on returning to stay with us in the future. We are looking forward to welcoming you back and we appreciate your kind compliments regarding our staff. We will be sure to pass along the message as we take great pride in the service that our staff provides. We are here to serve you and make your stay as pleasurable as we can. We hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have just returned from a multi-centre trip to the US with my family. We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights and loved every minute of it. I cannot believe some of the previous negative reviews are talking about the same hotel! This has to be the best Marriott I have ever stayed in (my husband is a gold member).

The hotel enjoys a lovely position overlooking the marina. It is close to a wealth of excellent restaurants - several of which we ate at. The outside appearance is quaint and pretty, with beautifully kept lawns and flower beds. The inside is open airy and modern. We had two ocean view rooms on the fourth floor, without balconies. We were offered a change to second floor on third day, but we declined as we were quite happy where we were. The bathrooms were quite adequate and I enjoyed the larger than usual Marriott toiletries, which were replenished regularly.
The staff were all very pleasant and professional and my husband found the concierge particularly helpful.

We used both of the pool areas, opting for the one that was least busy at the time. We had no problem getting 4 sun loungers together. Pool staff were very attentive.

There were four weddings while we were there and a number of corporate events - none of which impinged on the service we received. We enjoyed watching some of the ceremonies from the bar.

Most evenings we ate out, however we had buffet breakfast in the restaurant, which offered a good selection of food and included an omelette station. There was also the Starbucks cafe which was a quick and convenient alternative. We had lunch in the bar a number of days and we found this entirely satisfactory.

Our only negative comment would be the price of the valet parking - $32 a day is very expensive!

We wished we could have stayed longer, but couldn't change our arrangements. At the end of our trip, which included venues on the East Coast and other parts of California, we took a family vote on our favourite hotel - this hotel was voted No 1 by all of us (we have two teenagers) and the other contenders included a Four Seasons, a Ritz Carlton and several other Marriott's! We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Wow! Thank you for your compliments and 5 star review. We are so delighted that we provided you and your family with such a wonderful experience. Our goal is create fond memories for our guests from arrival to departure. It is an honor to have had you stay with us for 6 nights. We hope we made Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, you home away from home. We look forward in having you and your family back the next time you are in the US.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a picturesque setting, high on the cliff with a vista across a stretch of grass and the bay. It's quiet and is well positioned to get into Laguna Beach which is about 10-15 mins away. The hotel has a great patio to sit and enjoy the view with friends and family.
The hotel is a popular place for weddings and functions but that doesn't deter from the warm and friendly service. Breakfast at the hotel can be taken inside or on the terrace. The food is varied and good. The rooms to go for are the ocean views. The ocean is a fair sight away but at least you have the privacy and the views to enjoy.
There are lots of activities nearby, restaurants, dolphin and whale watching. Bikes are available on a complimentary basis, but it's a bit of a hill together back to the hotel.
Thanks to the staff and in particular Cari for making our stay so memorable. We hope to return!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful compliments and 5 star rating. We always enjoy hearing about our guest’s experience with us and we appreciate you sharing all the fun activities you participated in during your stay. We hope to welcome you back during your next visit to the US.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel with my in-laws for a long weekend while we were attending a family wedding in the area. At first glance the hotel is very striking and the back drop of the ocean is beautiful. However, our first impression was immediately dismissed when we interacted with the front desk. My father-in-law had reserved 3 rooms, all with king beds and one with an ocean view for him and my mother-in-law. The person at the front desk told him there were no Ocean view rooms with a king size bed available as he had reserved online. They told him since he was not a Marriott Rewards member, those people get first dibs on the premium rooms and that he didn't actually reserve that type of room, he "requested" one. ??????? No apology was given and my in-laws were given a regular room with 2 double beds and a crappy view. Meanwhile, they are still being charged the extra $100 for the ocean view. The following day, my in-laws appropriately demanded they give them the right room they had reserved or to remove the $100 fee. The hotel was able to find them a new room but not with out complaint. Customer service was non existent here. The real kicker was when we had the hotel call us a taxi from a restaurant we were dining at one night. When my husband first called the front desk, he was routed to the concierge in which he was immediately sent to voicemail. He called back a second time and was finally routed to someone who could help him. They said they would call a taxi cab right away to come pick us up..... 45 minutes later and no taxi! A group of people at the restaurant were luckily traveling back to our same hotel and had some extra room in the taxi they had called so we hitched a ride. Fuming we went straight to the front desk and told them what happened. NO apology still at this point. The front desk manager disappeared to the back for a few minutes then returned and told us he checked the log and someone did in fact call a taxi for us and it must have been the taxi's fault. Still no apology. The only place i think i have ever stayed where everything was the customer's fault. The rooms were nice and clean but the walls were paper thin and you could literally hear people going to the bathroom in the next room. The customer service is enough for me to never want to return to this hotel. AWFUL!!!!!

Room Tip: Their idea of an "ocean view" is not an ocean view. Save your extra $100. You'll need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We take every review very seriously and we are appalled that your experience with us was unsatisfactory due to our lack of customer service. We want to take a moment to apologize to you for any inconvenience you may have experienced and for the lack of empathy you received from our staff. Our highest mission is to provide the exact service and facilities that our guests want, deserve, and expect and we clearly missed the mark. Usually we receive many fine compliments from our guests regarding our excellent customer service and our attention to detail. We hope you will look upon this incident you experienced as an exception and not the rule.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This review is long overdue. We spent the weekend here sometime May 2013 and had a great time.

The resort itself sits atop Laguna cliff; amazing view and pristine grounds. At first glance, it’s truly a wow factor! Everything here is impressive. Staffs are all comfortable, friendly and accommodating. My gold status was acknowledged upon check-in and my preferences honored. We initially were upgraded to an ocean view room but we opted out of it since the room was not ready. I preferred the early check-in (arrived a little after 1pm) than the ocean view room. We wanted to get settled so we can start our day. Our room was close to the pool; convenient since that is where we spent most of our time. Our room was as expected of a Marriott brand – pleasantly designed, clean, comfortable beds and fully equipped. We also had a small balcony, which was nice to lounge at during the cool night. We requested for a mini fridge, which was not included in all room. Fridge was delivered in due time and fee was waived. That was nice.

There are two outdoor swimming pools. We stayed mostly in Del Mar pool because they have splash area and wading pool for the little one. Both pools were average sized but somewhat smaller than other Marriott resorts we’ve visited. We did not have problems finding lounging chairs or spot both days we were there mainly because the staffs made sure we were taken care of. The pool side was fun, alive with music and children. Staffs attentively asking guest if they needed anything; towels are offered freely and no need for towel cards either like some resorts (Marriott Shadow Ridge Resort). The Delmar pool area also provides ice pops for kids for free. We had lunch and snacks at Del Mar pool side and the food were just mediocre. Nothing special but absolutely not that bad either. We sampled their hotdog, nachos, cheeseburgers, chicken nuggets and fries. The price is well… expensive and is not really worth it. But it is what it is, you pay for the convenience. The wait for the food to arrive was also somewhat a long wait so order ahead. I think they’ve forgotten about our order the first time but when I reminded them (after 40mins wait) and I pointed out that my toddler is hungry, they brought fish crackers and juice for him to get by. That was nice.

Because this resort sits atop of the hill, it is also somewhat secluded; private. Parking is valet only so that deterred us from going in and out of the resort. We pretty much stayed in the entire time, except for a walk by the park. Therefore, we had all our meals in the resort, which was again pretty expensive but convenient. We ate breakfast in THE VUE, had lunch or snacks at Delmar Pool side and dinner in Overvue lounge and deck. Unfortunately, the food was ALL mediocre at best. I guess you can say, I was somewhat disappointed in that area. Breakfast buffet was very simple, the usual American and continental breakfast choices, really. No frills. I guess I expected more.

Overall, albeit expensive, we had a great weekend get-away here and will definitely be back.

NOTE: I would like to specially thank a young lady named Liza in Delmar pool side. I’m ashamed to mention that my son threw up in the swimming pool one afternoon (he was not sick, just choked on the pool water) and they had to close to pool down. I was truly embarrassed, it was our first experience and I definitely did not know what to do or what to expect. Liza came over to us, to check on my son. She was sincere and her smiles were honest, full of concern. She wanted to know if he ate anything bad or if he is ill. What really overwhelmed by heart is when my toddler, who apparently was also embarrassed said he was sorry. Liza rubbed his head and told him that it was okay. She also assured me that it happens all the time. She really assured us that it was not a big deal. She even invited my son to come back again the next day when the pool re-open. That perked up my toddler really quick! I really thought that was very, very grand of her.

I called Marriott the next week after because I wanted to give her something and to thank her again for her kindness. I was forwarded to HR and I left a msg. I have not heard from them since.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Wow! Thank you for your detailed review. We are grateful for your loyalty to the Marriott brand and we appreciate all of your fine compliments. We are delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy the Del Mar Pool and experience the excellent service our staff provides to all of our guests. We are at your service 24 hours a day and our attentive staff is here to make your stay as relaxing and pleasurable as they can. We promise to continue to provide you with new, life-long memories. We can't wait for your next visit! Take good care in the meantime and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.