We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Ocean View Location, Excellent Service, Great Restaurant on Site” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Ocean View Location, Excellent Service, Great Restaurant on Site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Laguna Cliffs Marriott overlooks Dana Point Harbor and was a fun mom/daughter "staycation.." The resort offers everything you need: great restaurants nearby, a wonderful spa, walking distance to the Dana Harbor and beautiful parks. Yes there is a resort fee and parking fee, but to be expected at large resorts now days. The attentiveness of the staff was perfection. I haven't been disappoint staying at a Marriott. This resort is great for a romantic getaway, families, business, and friends.

Room Tip: Second floor has balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your compliments and 5 star rating. We are honored that you chose the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa to have a mother/daughter staycation. We are delighted that you took advantage of the resort’s amenities and we hope that you had a relaxing and rejuvenating experience at the Spa. We couldn’t agree with you more, the resort is ideal for all travelers alike. We take great pride in our staff service and we appreciate your compliments. We will be sure to share your comments with our staff. We are looking forward in welcoming you back for another great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    277
    94
    48
    50
See reviews for
229
248
31
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We traveled with 2 other families and have 3 rooms. The rooms are great, spacious and clean but the floors are very thin - I was on the 2nd floor and could hear everywhere the people staying at the 3rd floor room walked. I probably wouldn't stay here again since there are so much beautiful properties at this area (VRBO homes).

Room Tip: Maybe the top rooms so no one is on top of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you and your family stayed with us on your vacation. We hope you enjoyed the panoramic ocean views of the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa. We hope that you do consider us the next time you are in Southern California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrush, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We were not sure what to expect when we booked the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa but any doubts were quickly gone when we arrived at this hotel. It is a beautiful resort, well located with excellent facilities and we were really pleased that we had made the booking. Our main disappointment was that we hadn't booked the hotel for longer - we spent two nights here in July accompanied by my son and his girlfriend.

Our rooms were very clean, well presented, each with a balcony and a sea view.

I looked at other reviews for this resort and I do agree that the resort fee along with a parking fee is hefty and these are costs which need to be factored into a holiday at this resort. It would be much better to have the option of a single resort fee which also includes parking at a reduced price. This would be the only negative comment for this resort.

On our arrival night we tried the BBQ buffet in the restaurant. Service was excellent, the staff were very attentive and there was a good choice of food - salads, meats etc. Desserts were delicious - a good variety along with the chocolate fountain which was awesome! We opted to sit outside beside the open fire and it was a lovely evening.

We used the pool which is just across the road from reception. From the moment, we walked into the pool, the staff were very attentive - they prepared our beds with covers and towels and they provided us with iced water along with some treats at different times. The beds were very comfy and we had a really relaxing time at the pool - one tip - don't sit too close to the water jets where the kids play - if there is a slight breeze, the spray from the water can be annoying. We also liked the seating which is beyond the pool, where you could sit, read and enjoy the wonderful view.

We had lunch at the pool and we opted to sit at a table on the terrace sheltered from the sun by an umbrella. Again service was excellent and the food - whilst pricey was very good. The platter of fresh fruit which we shared, after our hot food was substantial and excellent.

Wi-fi was included in the resort fee. My son and his girlfriend cycled from the hotel to the beach - the bikes were included in the resort fee. We also enjoyed walking from the hotel, through the park and down to the Marina.

For breakfast, we opted to use Starbucks within the hotel rather than the buffet. We were happy with this option as we wanted to have lunch at the pool. There was a good selection of cakes, muffins and healthy options. The yoghurt with fruit and granola was delicious!

On the morning of our departure, we had breakfast in the Brig restaurant which is a short walk down from the hotel towards the marina. Breakfast was excellent - I opted for Eggs Benedict and it was superb. Their hash browns, fresh fruit etc was all very good. This was a good find and when we go back, we will have breakfast at the Brig again.

Overall, an excellent resort with a beautiful view - very attentive and friendly staff - great facilities and we will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
WOW! Thank you for the detailed review of your stay and your 5 star rating. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay and did not want to leave the resort. There is no compliment greater than that. We promise to continue to provide you with new, life-long memories. We can't wait for your next visit! Take good care in the meantime and we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We booked this hotel because it has a Spa and was close to the beach. Upon arriving, it was paradise. The grounds are clean, and it has an excellent view of the ocean. The hotel is valet parking only, and the package we booked included the valet. As we drove up, we were greeted and helped with our luggage, Check in was a breeze. When checking in, Tiffany helped us with local recommendations, and upgraded us from the resort view, to a pool view at no cost! She highly recommended the Chart house steak & seafood house, we made reservations through the Consierge which upgraded our seating to a VIP window seat table, printed out our menu's with our party name & gave us a complimentary lava cake dessert! We enjoyed the Spa & got an hour long massage which was nice, grounds and pool area were kept up well & nice to walk around. The beach is about a 10 minute walk, but was enjoyable as well. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet one morning, it was a really nice buffet. It was about $24 per person, but there was a custom omlet station, fresh fruit, fresh waffles, juice, cereals & oatmeal, pasteries etc...
There was also a star bucks we stopped by one morning which had muffins, but they were muffins like you get at Costco, the buffet is much better! There is also a fitness center that has fresh water, headphones and state of the art equipment.
We stayed in a room with a balcony overlooking the pool, The bedding was SO soft and this bed had to be one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in at a hotel. The bathroom was the standard tub/shower combo. Granite countertops, tv in room ...etc... But the balcony was a nice touch to be able to enjoy overlooking the ocean.

Room Tip: I loved the balcony rooms on 2nd floor, Private balcony was a nice touch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for the detailed review. We are delighted that you found your “piece of paradise.” We appreciate your 5 star rating and thank you for the wonderful compliments regarding our resort and staff. We enjoy hearing about our guest experiences and it brings us such great joy when our guests have an exceptional time during their stay with us. We look forward in welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary here and Lauren B at the desk made it so special-she sent champagne and chocolate strawberries to our room with a sweet card, and made sure our dinner at the Chart House was special with a great table, personalized menu and complimentary dessert. We felt very special and pampered, and will come back to Laguna Cliffs again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Happy Anniversary! We are delighted that you and your husband celebrated this special occasion with us. We are happy to hear that our staff was able to provide a wonderful experience for you both on this special night. We hope you left with beautiful memories. We’re looking forward in creating more for you both on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We just got back from staying at this hotel for the weekend. We used Marriott points and had reserved a resort view room. I had asked for early check in and when we got there at 2:30 our room wasn't ready so the front desk clerk gave us another room even better-a slight harbor view. The room was a nice size and decorated fine with a decent bathroom. We were on the 2nd floor very close to pool. The pool service was great-they set up lounge chairs/umbrellas for you and of course you can order food/drinks from them as well. There were actually too many pool attendants but it worked out fine. The food/drinks by the pool were just ok and very expensive. I expect to pay $12.50 for a mai tai in hawaii but not here-a bit much. We ordered chips/salsa/guacamole and everything was good except salsa. It wasn't salsa but a bad version of pico de gallo. This is a beach resort so guess paying $11 for glass of champagne by pool isn't over the top. The pool itself was relaxing and there was a jacuzzi as well. Heard there was another kids pool on other side of resort. Ate all other meals off site. Looked at the sunday brunch buffet and it didn't look very good. Concierge recommended a great breakfast/lunch place down the hill by the harbor called RJ's cafe-best breakfast I've ever had and good prices. There is a $25 resort fee but that includes internet so I'm ok with that. My only complaints are the $32 parking fee and the fact that they don't have many cable channels. We didn't really want to pay $32 for parking when we needed to take the car out a couple times so there would be lots of tipping plus tax. They say there's no other parking but we parked just below hotel on Golden Lantern-all day parking. There's also parking on Park Lantern street hotel is on but it's only during day not overnight. As for the cable channels, we wanted to watch the Dodger game in our room after dinner and they didn't have Fox Sports Net-kind of weird since so many other stations. Oh well. This is a very cute hotel, clean and in a good location. We are already planning a trip back.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor is great because that's main floor and pool is right there. We had room 252 so pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We thank you for sharing your experience at the resort with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the pools and experienced your new favorite breakfast spot in Dana Point. We hope the next time you are visiting and need some relaxation you visit our Spa. We are sure you will not be disappointed. We do regret that you were not able to watch the Dodger game in your room. We will look into adding this channel to our cable televisions. Thank you for your feedback and we are looking forward to your trip back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We flew our sons in from SLC to celebrate their birthdays,we discovered this wonderful resort last year..so we knew what to expect,regarding staff ,views and amenities...our sons 29 and 33.. Had a blast and were just giddy with the ambiance of Dana Point,the beaches and the marina...also a couple excellent restaurants there in the marina
On both trips the staff,food and experience was excellent..to make an impromptu cookout possible in the adjacent park,the kitchen loaned us utensils ,etc...everyone couldn't have been more accommodating ,free bicycles,yoga in the park...a view of the ocean
The open air lobby and wonderful weather of Southern California just encourages relaxation and a spirit of happiness...we stay at many different marriott properties throughout the country..and we think this has to be one of the very best...we can't wait to return from N.C.to Dana PT...we recommend it

Room Tip: Choose rooms with a full height balcony view...as this property is not directly adjacent to the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Wow! Thank you for all of your compliments and 5 star rating. We are honored that you celebrated your sons birthdays with us. Your families wonderful experience at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa truly sets the tone for our resort. We are happy to hear that throughout all your travels and stays at various Marriott properties, we stood out to you. Your experience is very important to us and it brings us great joy to hear the wonderful memories we could create for you and your family during your stay. We are looking forward to your return visit from North Carolina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.