We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prepare for an expensive stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Prepare for an expensive stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Though the location of the hotel and it's surroundings are extremely pleasant, I felt that the extra charges tacked on the bill were not justified. When one is paying quite a hefty price for a fairly average room (on the noisy poolside), then having to pay extra for valet parking, "resort" fee, and daily wi-fi is a bit much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We thank you for your compliments regarding our beautiful ocean-view resort and the surrounding areas. We appreciate your feedback regarding our parking fees and will certainly take your comments under review. In recent parking surveys we’ve conducted with our fellow resorts located on the coastline, we have found our parking rates to be in line and are actually the most economical. In regards to the resort fee, this fee does include Wi-Fi in your guest room. There is not a separate charge. Our resort fee also includes many other amenities such as complimentary activity rentals and shoe shine service. We hope this gives you more clarity regarding the fees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    303
    252
    82
    46
    46
See reviews for
202
229
30
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belvidere, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very nice property with excellent accommodations . The staff was very attentive and professional. The only disadvantage that I found wad that your car had to be valet parked and every time you needed your vehicle the staff was waiting for a tip. Needless to say the parking was $32.00 per day. Other than that the hotel definitely met expectations .

Room Tip: Make sure you book a pool or ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your compliments pertaining to our beautiful resort and our attentive staff. We are “at your service” 24 hours a day and we want nothing more than your stay to be superb from arrival to departure. In regards to our valet staff, please note that gratuity is not mandatory and to the discretion of the guest. Our staff is extremely appreciative of any gratuity that is given to them and we apologize if they gave you the impression that they were expecting it. We will be sure to address this with our valet team. Thank you again for your review. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Beautiful resort overlooking Dana Point Harbor. Excellent resort, fabulous views........ However, beach right across the street at Doheny State Park not the best, pretty, but very rocky, lots of seaweed and twigs..... had to go too far out for good waves! But views magnificent. Walking distance to Dana Point Wharf shops and restaurants..........

Room Tip: Choose a room on upper floor for best views. Love the balcony, too..........
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and your rating of 5 stars. We are delighted that you enjoyed the beautiful views of the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor. We enjoy hearing about our guest’s experiences and the activities they took part in during their stay. We hope you enjoyed the beach and surfing in Dana Point. We’re looking forward to your next visit to Southern California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

These notes are intended to provide guidance for wheelchair users considering this hotel. If you are looking for comments on the hotel experience see the other reviews.

The hotel has a fine location at beautiful Dana Point. It is located high on a bluff with a steep set of steps leading to the beach and harbor area below. The hotel is on many levels with steps but all areas of the hotel are wheelchair accessible- although you may have to follow a convoluted route to get to some places!

There are three steps up to the entrance, with gently sloping ramps on both left and right. The front doors are automatic. The reception area is fully accessible. Off reception is a bar/cafe area up a couple of steps, with an outdoor seating area with fabulous views. Both are accessible via ramps but it is kind of hard to find them. Best to ask a staff member to show you. The restaurant is one floor down, accessible via lift (elevator).

All areas of the grounds, including the swimming pool, seemed to be accessible. The pool has a lift chair attached to one corner to enable transfer in and out of the pool.

The wheelchair accessible room I booked had two double beds since I was travelling with my family. The room was a long way from the elevator over thick pile carpet which made wheeling difficult. The room itself was very large with plenty of space around and between the beds. Sliding doors opened onto a balcony and there was no trouble wheeling over the small lip to access it.

The work desk was a comfortable size and height. The power sockets were below the work desk and a little awkward to reach, but not impossible. The closets, minibar and coffee maker were all accessible although the mini-bar dry goods and menu were out of reach. The TV remote was in a cradle in front of the TV and easy to reach. A/C controls were also at a good height. The bed was nearly impossible to get into. There is a trend in hotels at the moment for very high beds. This one was way too high for a comfortable transfer and the act of getting into bed was exhausting and risky. The room lights could not be controlled from the bed.

The bathroom was very large, the shower enormous! The shower had a fold down seat and the controls could easily be reached from that seat. There was a single hand held shower hose on a wall mounted rail. The toilet had plenty of circulation space around it suitable for anything from a 0 to 180 degree transfer, and well positioned grab rails. The sink had plenty of knee room and was easy to access. A large mirror gives a decent view of your upper body but it is not tilted making it difficult to get a full length view. The towels are hung on a bar in the shower and are accessible from a wheelchair.

We had two minor problems with the room - not worth complaining about at the time as we were only staying one night. However, when we mentioned them on checkout they immediately waived the resort fee as a courtesy gesture. This is a lovely hotel, with great facilities and service. However I don't think I can recommend it, or use it again myself, simply because of the ridiculously high beds.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and will take your suggestions into consideration. Our entire resort is wheelchair accessible and we are grateful that with the assistance of our staff you were able to find your way around our property. We apologize that the bed was too high for your to comfortably get into. We want to provide a comfortable experience for all of our guests and we will be sure to address your feedback with our team to see if there is anything we can do with our bedding to better accommodate all of our guests. Your review is very important to us and we take it very seriously. We thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I have stayed this location twice. It is the perfect escape from the craziness of our lives in Los Angeles.

The property is beautiful and well maintained. The rooms and bathrooms are typical Marriott sized but the views from the balconies, if you get a balcony, are exceptional. Views of the ocean allow for romantic sunsets.

We especially like this property because it is very family friendly. One might expect a resort to be less for families but the staff goes out of its way to make families feel welcome. There are two pools. One is more for kids and families. The other pool is more geared toward adults and is quieter.

Both pools have food and drink service. One tip – I suggest asking for a menu from the Overvue Lounge for food instead of the food that is served at the pool. For no additional charge the servers will bring higher quality and seemingly healthier/fresher food from the Overvue Lounge. The lounge has food beyond burgers and quesadillas. It’s veggies also taste much, much fresher. We got a veggie plate from pool service and the veggies tasted like they had been soaked in some sort of lime juice for hours to keep them fresh. They were like rubber and tasted like lime. The food from the lounge is much fresher.

The cost is what you might expect from a resort location. Drinks and food are not cheap but prices are not extreme.

One of our two nights on the most recent trip there were several weddings and receptions being held on the property. At night, there was a dance floor right outside of our room. It was fine with us and actually added some life to our evening but it would be understandable that not everybody would be okay with thumping music and crowd noise until ten o’clock at night right off their balcony. If you’re staying during a weekend be warned there may be loud weddings and you might want a room away from the area if that will be a problem for you. We thought it was fun. I’m sure the front desk can put you in a room away from the weddings but it might mean not having an ocean view room.

We are huge fans of this hotel. You will be very comfortable and happy. We love it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Wow! Thank you for your detailed review. We want to thank you for recognizing our resort as your favorite weekend getaway spot. We must admit, it is a hidden gem that is very peaceful and beautiful. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the pools and the “Family Friendliness” that we provide. In regards to the noise from the wedding music, we do have a noise curfew so that we do not disturb our guests. We are happy that you enjoyed the music and found pleasure in listening to it. We are excited that you have become fans of the resort. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Room-

Do not get the Executive suites! You can save a lot by getting two connecting rooms. The hotel has no floor plans or pics of this room online and now we understand why. Its a awkward setup. We wanted to invite friends back to the room and this room makes it impossible.

I wish I could upload pictures on here.

The Pool-

The hotel has two pools but you can't find a chair at either of them. We had to wait 4 hours to get a chair. Then when we requested to move the chair near our friends.... They said "Sorry, waiters have their sections and can't be moved".

We also waited over an hour for a hotdog and fish tacos at the pool. No one seemed to want to help us. Pool was run by collage kids who just wanted to blame it on someone else.

The Hotel-

The hotel is ok, at best.... But expect no cell service while your here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and regret that you were unsatisfied with the Executive Suite you stayed in during your stay. In regards to the pool service wait time, during busy summer months there may be times when guests have to wait longer for a chair because occupancy is high. However, we try our best to provide poolside chairs as quickly as it is requested. We do apologize if this caused any inconvenience to you during your stay. Usually we receive many fine compliments from our guests and we hope you will look upon this incident you experienced as an exception and not the rule. Thank you again for your review, your opinion is very important to us and we will discuss your concerns with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a great experience at Laguna Cliffs. The only surprise (dah) was that it wasn't actually in Laguna Beach which I thought I was booking but at Dana Point. Turned out fine. From a medium sized city in Ohio to Cali, with all the people in Cali, I was actually pleased to away from the crowds of Laguna Beach, which is kinda like Pacific's Coast Myrtle Beach. Besides, there are no Mariott's in LB, unless you can afford the Ritz. Ok back to LCMRS. Check in was fine and I love the "at your service" tag line. All staff was friendly. I am sorry the last reviewer had a bad experience, but I know the valet staff was crazy busy, there always seem to be 5-10 cars being processed at Valet, and I always had a good and helpful experience. The Valet Manager even likes the Browns! Just goes to show you that they converse in a friendly way. The kids and I had room 2030 just above the Del Mar Pool. Clean, comfy beds, clean tub, etc. I was worried about noise being poolside but once we closed doors, we heard nothing. We ended up booking an additional night. TEenage boys loved the pool, the hot tub, the pool side ping pong, the tennis courts, the water fountains, and our most favorite, the big circular lounge chairs. Landen (forgive misspelling) took great care of us for three days pool side and I wish this fine young man the best in all future endeavors. Pool side service was great, the towels set up is a great touch, and the food off the kids menu is standard fare, but prepared well. Getting your drink took a long time, and I think they need more bartenders or something. Couple of more points - try RJ cafe for a great local breakfast, we had 3 meals there. There is a CVS and Rite Aid on PC coast highway 1 heading north if you need something. We skipped walking down to Doheny state beach, because we enjoyed the pool set up so much. ONe night, we had hot chocolate and tea at the Upper Vue and played scrabble by a heating lantern. Upon checkout we basically didn't want to leave, but they allowed us to store our bags and we sat at the pool till about 2:30 and hung out. Overall, LCMRS is not Desert Ridge in PHoenix or Cancun Mariott, but overall a good experience if you are loyal to the Mariott brand!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your review and for being loyal to the Marriott brand. We appreciate your compliments regarding our resort and the services we provided to you and your family during your stay. It brings us great joy to hear that you did not want to leave and that you enjoyed your stay so much that you extended it for one additional night. We are “at your service” 24 hours a day and it is our pleasure to provide you with an experience that leaves you completely satisfied. We appreciate all of your pointers you’ve addressed for future guests and we hope you visit us again when you are in California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.