We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

For the area, where there is not really a middle ground in terms of price, the Marriott is just fine. Definitely not the Ritz but also not a beach shack.

We had requested an ocean view room with a balcony and although a balcony couldn't be confirmed while making the reservation, it was noted in our profile. Upon check in, we were excited to hear that a room with a balcony was available but were disappointed when we saw the room and high wall that blocked most of the view (we believe our room was over a portion of the roof so not a balcony where one could lounge and look out).

The room itself was ok. The beds were horribly uncomfortable and in desperate need of a refurbish. The bathroom is updated but they could have done a better job. The common areas were clean and simple. The WIFI was iffy at best and we switched to 3G as the lag time just wasn't worth the "free" (you pay for it as part of the resort fee) benefit. Self parking is not available and valet at $30 is a little much.

We had dinner at the property at it was nice to sit outside have a drink and not be rushed. The food was fine, nothing exceptional but the service was great. Breakfast was another story, our order was wrong, no one checked in on us and it took almost 30 minutes for a 2 eggs (should have been 4), toast (only one slice for 2 people), potatoes on one plate but not on another, one cup of coffee that was never refilled and lingering wait staff when it was time to pay the bill. Restaurant service is definitely hit or miss.

The Marriott is an affordable option ($350 including tax, resort and valet parking) but don't expect anything special, just another Marriott.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and comments.. We are delighted that you enjoyed sitting outside on the Vue Patio to have a relaxing evening. We appreciate your compliments regarding our great staff service at the Vue Restaurant. We do regret that you did not have the same exceptional service from our staff the next morning at breakfast. We take every review very seriously and your opinion matters to us. We will address your concerns with our Food & Beverage team and we will assure you that these issues are resolved immediately. As I’m sure you are aware, we take great pride in providing a high level of service and quality to our guests. Usually we receive many fine compliments from our guests and we hope you will look upon this incident you experienced as an exception and not the rule. We hope you visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    276
    227
    80
    40
    42
See reviews for
185
205
28
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is our second and by no means last trip to this fine facility. From check in to departure we received top notch service and value. The staff is professional, the resort is well maintained and the food is outstanding.

You can expect to pay resort prices but the number of restaurants nearby make it your option if you want to relax and stay close to your room or venture out to the very tourist friendly South Laguna or San Clemente and Dana Point area.

The Spa at Laguna Cliffs is way, way, worth the cost; which is why it is frequently sold out. This trip we reserved ahead (as you might also do with a cabana at the "Laguna" pool) and we had an incredible time. Hour long couples massage followed up by champagne and access to the steam room and sauna is something you won't soon forget.

Plan to really find your way around the facility and you will have a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: If you're with small kids (the family), try the Del Mar pool side of the resort. Fantastic prog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are happy to hear that you experienced our exceptional service from our staff upon arrival. Our goal is to provide this unparalleled service to each and every guest. We thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at our Spa and we hope you left feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. We are delighted that you took advantage of our cozy cabana’s at the Laguna Pool while enjoying the views of the ocean and marina. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Beautiful view! One BR suite. Great staff. Need to expand room service menu or have a grocery store on site being a resort. Not everyone has a car. The spa was amazing. I has two clients and myself and they worked us in for an amazing day of pampering. Thank you. The spa manager was amazing in taking care of my request and needs.
The concierge hooked me up with the best driving service. I will continue to use them. Look forward to my next stay with you all!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your 10 star rating. We appreciate your compliments regarding our guest rooms, dining facilities, gym and our spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed the fireplaces in the lobby and Spa. In regards to the cost of Wi-Fi in your guest room, this fee is included in the resort fee. We thank you again for your review and we hope you visit us again when you are visit the United States.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnsburg, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Hotel is a short drive 35 minutes from Disneyland. 2 pools great staff and rooms. Excellent view nice rooms I could go on. Before you spend $350 or more per night for a Disneyland Hotel check this resort out.

Room Tip: Ask for the ocean facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your wonderful compliments about our resort. The resorts location is perfectly centered between Los Angeles and San Diego. We have a family friendly resort with a Kid’s Club that is offered during the summer months and a children’s splash zone that is a popular hit with all the children. We have many activities both at the resort and within walking distance. We appreciate your recommendation to those traveling to Disneyland and we hope that you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Pros: Good views from ocean room balconies, nice pool complexes, rooms well- appointed, most staff helpful and nice. Restaurant (dinner and brunch) and bar a bit expensive but nice views, OK service (slow); No- cover music bands weekend nights added to ambience outside on Patio (too loud inside for any conversation). Cons: Extra charges: Wi- Fi not free, mandatory $25/day resort fee, mandatory $32/day fee for parking (plus valet tip). Tried a massage and the Spa and found it expensive (mandatory tip was included), but adequate/ average for this level hotel - nowhere near the poor service reported by other reviewers...

Room Tip: Upper level balcony rooms the best....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments regarding our ocean-view rooms, pools, guest rooms and our helpful staff. Our resort is truly one of a kind with its panoramic ocean views and casually sophisticated vibe. Our staff does an exceptional job in providing our guests with exceptional service and following through with any requests. We do provide live entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights and most of our guests can enjoy the music both inside and outside of our OverVue Lounge. In regards to the resort fee, Wi-Fi is included in the resort fee so there is no additional charge to use the internet. We apologize for any confusion with the Spa gratuity. Spa gratuities are 100% optional and can be adjusted at any time on the final bill. We include the gratuity for the guest’s convenience but it is not mandatory. We again apologize for any inconvenience this may have brought you. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We love staying at the Laguna Cliffs! The grounds and view are beautiful! Staff are very pleasant and helpful. The rooms are very clean and roomy. They have bikes, boogie boards etc to rent. In walking distance to the harbor, which have several restaurants, boating excursions and you can also catch the Catalina Express! Close to Laguna Beach. The best is to just relax by the pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and lovely compliments about our resort. We enjoy hearing about your experience and we are delighted that we met all of your expectations. We agree, our location is truly perfect. There are many nearby activities that are offered at and within walking distance of the resort. We hope you have a chance to visit our spa the next time you visit. You will surely be relaxed and rejuvenated. We’re looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

First time visit for my wife and I, and we will surely return. While not directly on the Pacific Ocean, the views are breathtaking over the Harbor and Marina below. The staff did an excellent job. We had dinner the first night in the Restaurant, it was the best meal of the trip, with attentive service. The rooms are clean, and well maintained. This is a value compared to the five star resorts down the PCH.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your very first visit with us and will be returning in the future. We hope you enjoyed the beautiful panoramic ocean views of the resort. Thank you for your compliments regarding our staff. Our job is to be attentive to each guest’s needs prior to arrival and we are happy that you experienced the exceptional service from our staff. We are looking forward to your second visit here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott
Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Otel, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.