We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Would Definitely Return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
St. Louis
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Would Definitely Return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just completed a 3 night stay at this hotel and everything was great from start to finish. Checkin was a breeze and they accommodated us by moving us to a room on the 4th floor that had a view of the coastline. The room was quaint and perfect for two people. The bed was comfortable, the furnishings were very nice and in good shape except for the area at the bottom of the desk where the chair legs appear to have scuffed up that area. The bathroom was small but not problematic. The hallways were in good shape and we witnessed ongoing painting and maintenance of scuffs, etc.

The pool and grounds a lovely and the view is fantastic. I found it to be totally relaxing.

The level of service stood out the most. Every single person we encountered said hello and asked if we were enjoying the hotel. I do mean every person, no exaggeration. They have customer service down pat. The concierges were so friendly and helpful. I can't say enough good things about the service.

We had breakfast in the Vue each day and it was always fresh and delicious. Our package included breakfast and parking. The breakfast voucher was enough to cover the full cost of the buffet. The buffet included cold and hot items including fresh omelets, bacon, sausage links, potatoes, waffles, fresh fruit, oatmeal, salmon, bagels, delicious pastries, yogurt, dry cereal including granola. There are plenty of options.

I think the package including breakfast and parking is a good deal. Parking is valet only and $32 per day. The Resort Fee is $25 per day. The resort fee includes internet service, bicycle usage for 2 hours (which we did and enjoyed it very much), tennis, bocce ball, table tennis and many more services. You can get your money out of the $25 fee if you take advantage of those services. The valet service was always quick and very friendly. They opened our car doors for both of us and just were very pleasant.

The only area of improvement I could see is with regard to beach services. If the hotel could loan or rent beach chairs and umbrellas & beach towels that would be a nice added service. They load towels but just regular size towels. I understand they used to loan umbrellas but have stopped that service.

Room Tip: I would definitely get a room that faces the ocean or coastline. The side of the hotel that faces a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review. We are happy to hear that you stayed with us for 3 nights and experienced our outstanding service from arrival to departure. We anticipate our guest’s needs and our goal is to make your stay as pleasurable and comfortable as we can. We are delighted to hear that we accomplished this during your stay. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the amenities of the resort and take advantage of our complimentary bike rentals that are included in the resort fee. We hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    281
    95
    48
    50
See reviews for
231
248
31
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was a big birthday for my wife and I choose the Laguna Cliffs Marriott to spend the night. I used my Marriott points for the room and noted the special occasion. When we checked in they upgraded our room to an ocean view room with a balcony. Lauren B from the front desk also send up champaign and chocolates to our room. What fantastic treatment by the hotel staff, we love this hotel resort and plan on coming back. I highly recommend this property, it is top notch is so many ways.

Thank you,
James

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and for rating the resort with 5 stars. We want to wish your wife a happy birthday and we are delighted to hear that we were able to make this day special and memorable for the both of you. Thank you for recommending this resort to others and we appreciate your compliments. We hope you and your wife visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
663 helpful votes 663 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My first visit to the USA and I fell in love. Nothing better than a horrible journey to walk into a hotel and be given great service to start of your vacation. We asked for adjoining rooms and was pleased that we got them, they also put us on the ground floor as my friend had a baby with her.

The rooms were beautiful and the beds....so comfortable. The view was of the park and you could see the ocean.

The breakfast .... Not just any breakfast, you are absolutely spoilt for choice. The eggs Benedict were very filling.

The service was faultless. The pool area was wonderful to lounge around in.

The only thing I would say that its a tad expensive on the food and drink side.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and for rating the resort with 5 stars. We want to welcome you to the United States and we are very happy to hear that we not only made a great impression for your first visit but that we were able to create fond memories for you. We appreciate your compliments and we hope that we can create many more great memories for you the next time you visit the United States.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We checked in at approx 4pm Memorial weekend and stayed for two nights. The room we were given was lovely, one of their newly furnished rooms that overlooked the pool and ocean. The room was great, large with a sitting area and a balcony to breakfast, have coffee or just simply take in the view.
The grounds to this hotel are stunning and the property throughout beautifully appointed.
The location is a walk down to the Marina where there is an abundance of restaurants and shops and if you walk a little further you will be on the beach, in fact some of the restaurants are situated near the beach with ocean views.
We new there was a $25 resort fee but there usually is a resort fee in hotels with such beautiful grounds and location. We didn't mind too much as Wifi is included in this fee and it meant we were able to use our iPads. Valet parking is $32 per day which is quite expensive but many hotels charge this and you really need valet parking at Laguna Cliffs Resort & Spa.
This is a relaxing hotel and you can spend all day at their lovely pool where the attendants bring your towels, make up your sunchair, put the sunshade up for you if you want it and best of all serve you cocktails and bites to eat from the chef at the pool.
We usually go out in the evening to dinner although we breakfast at the hotel's 'The Vue' restaurant - we thoroughly recommend having breakfast at the hotel, delicious, you can have a buffet or be served 'a la carte' from the menu. We had breakfast outside on their terrace with the view of the grounds and ocean. There is also a restaurant inside for just coffee and pastries which is very nice.
One of the nicest things to do is to have waitress service of cocktails and, if wished, bites of food on their attractive balcony/terrace where you have the best view from the hotel of their stunning grounds and marina.
They do have weddings here often, however, we didn't here any noise this year and any music that is played is always stopped at 10pm.

Room Tip: Overlooking ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Wow! Thank you for your detailed review of your visit. We appreciate your wonderful compliments. It was our pleasure having you with us and we are so glad you took advantage of our incredible surroundings. We couldn't agree more that our resort is situated in just the perfect location, high on the cliffs overlooking the Pacific and walking distance to the marina and beach. Our team is outstanding and they look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy another fun filled with more sun, relaxation and pampering by the pools. We enjoyed creating memories for you and your guest and we look forward in creating more for you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I spent the night here in celebration of our anniversary. We live in the area so we were just looking for a relaxing night away from the kids. We were not disappointed. The hotel is very nice as was the room. We requested an ocean view and had a wonderful view of the harbor and ocean. The balcony was a little small and only had two high chairs rather than lounge chairs. If we go again, we'll clarify our request. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel's restaurant "The Vue". While the food was decent and priced about what you would expect for a resort hotel, the service was fantastic for both meals. I will definitely recommend this hotel to any friends coming in to town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and happy anniversary! We are delighted that you chose our resort to celebrate your special day. Thank you for the wonderful compliments regarding the outstanding service you received from our staff. We take great pride in the outstanding service we provide to our guests and we thank you for recommending our resort to friends and family. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I am giving this hotel 4 stars primarily on location, as well as beauty of the grounds and nearby park. The setting of the hotel is superb and the hotel, itself, is a beautiful site atop the cliff/hill. That said, everything else about the hotel is typical Marriott. Nothing special about the rooms or facilities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments regarding the resorts beautiful grounds and ocean views. The location is quite superb with breathtaking panoramic views of the Pacific. We hope you and your guest had a lovely experience and we would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

It looks from the outside fabulous. It is also a very nice looking hotel. Unfortunately, it is totally overpriced. The room I was given was at the very back of the hotel in an adjoining building. My view was that of the traffic down below. In comparison to other hotels I felt the room was rather small. I do not think the hotel was even close to being half filled, unlike a previous review I have read I was not offered an upgrade. Given that this is an overpriced hotel that would have been nice. There is a $25.00 resort fee which basically lets you have Wifi and the use of the pool. It is a nice pool and the staff of the facility is extremely friendly. I suppose I could have found a parking space on the street, but would have had to drag bags up a hill, so for $36.00 I let them park my car. Oh, the $25.00 resort fee was not what I was told with my written confirmation. I suppose they had raised the price. I was told $15.00,
Dinner was good but overpriced. Unfortunately they talk about an ocean view, but from the restaurant you really can't see the ocean, it is obscured by an event lawn. In fact when you hear the name "Cliffs" you assume it overlooks the ocean. The ocean is actually a distance away. I believe I was also hurt by a fog that I understand comes in the end of May and early June.
It wan't an awful experince. It is a very nice hotel, but really not worth the money. I wouldn't go there again. The drain was also slow in my room.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments regarding our “extremely” friendly staff and nice pools. We regret that you felt the resort was overpriced. Our resort fee of $25.00 is stated on all confirmation e-mails and we apologize for any miscommunication with the fee. Our restaurant does in fact have an ocean-view but on very rare occasions it may be obstructed due to fog or an event on property that has special requests. Another area at the resort that captures the ocean- view quite beautifully is our OverVue Deck which sits above the Vue Restaurant. We want to thank you for your feedback. Your opinion is extremely valuable to us and our goal is for every guest to be completely satisfied during their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.