We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location! Once you arrive you really don't need your car- which is good because it is all valet. Parking is a bit expensive, but in line with other area hotels. The partial ocean view gave us a nice view over the lawn and park to the ocean. The balcony was a great place to have morning coffee. The room was very clean and nicely furnished, and the bedding very comfortable and crisp. The lounge had live entertainment both nights. The hotel was just a set of stairs away from the harbor, and several waterfront restaurants. A whale watching company offers sunset cruises if you feel like a few hours out on the water. Doheny beach is a easy walk away. Great way to spend a weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and for rating our resort with 5 stars. We are delighted that you enjoyed the ocean and park views from your guest room and that you enjoyed the décor. We are happy that you enjoyed the music in our OverVue Lounge. Our live entertainment is every Friday and Saturday nights. I would highly recommend the Sunset Whale Watching Cruises too. We hope that you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    251
    82
    46
    46
See reviews for
200
228
29
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I planned a weekend getaway. We loved the hotel grounds, the restaurant was ok, rooms were standard. However the valet parking was quick but yet the 29.00 a day fee plus tipping becomes a bit much,especially if your just making a quick run to the store. I would recommend this hotel based on the hotel grounds and the location.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you and your husband had a weekend getaway at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful, panoramic ocean views of the resort. We will be sure to share your compliments regarding our efficient valet staff with our team. We hope you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel had a quaintness to it, although it had everything there, and somewhat large, it was also quaint. It was in a great location. The kids loved it. There was their breakfast bar area that has beautiful views and it was so nice to have a cup of coffee there and take in all the views.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful compliments and for rating the resort with 5 stars. We are delighted that you enjoyed your cup of coffee in our OverVue Deck overlooking the Pacific Ocean. It’s the best way to start of your morning. We are happy to hear that your kids enjoyed the resort as well. We hope that they were able to play in the Splash Zone. We are looking forward in welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Attended a conference, but only stayed one night. The staff (e.g. front desk, concierge, valet parking, etc.) was uniformily very friendly and helpful. I had a standard room on the second floor which was spacious, and there was a small patio. The bathroom had no bathtub but the walk-in shower was large. The beds were fine, but the air conditioner was a little noisy. The hotel is not on the beach but a short walk down a driveway and across the street (all about 350 yards away). There is only valet parking (about $30/day) and a "resort" fee is also normally charged but, because of the conference, those were waived for our conference attendees. We also received a group rate, which was very reasonsable. The facilities are attractive and well maintained. Overall, while my stay was short, the hotel was sufficiently impressive that I wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope that we could make your conference a success and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much that you wanted to stay longer. We hope that you have a chance to visit us again soon for a vacation and enjoy the Spa and resort amenities that Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa has to offer. We thank you for your kind compliments and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is very beautiful and surprisingly kid friendly. The welcoming and capable staff made our stay very enjoyable. We stayed in a suite and it was a nice room but not at all worth the $800/night price tag. The suite was really on the small side, no balcony, with only two windows. We have stayed in Marriott suites before and this room did not measure up at all. We would have been better off getting two connecting rooms with balconies.

The location of the hotel is excellent. We took the ferry to Catalina island and the dock was a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The beach is a quick stroll down the hill. The hotel does seem a bit isolated because of it's location perched on a hill.

The hotel seems to host quite a few conventions and weddings but still manages to keep a personal feel. The only parking is valet with a steep price tag of over $30/day.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your review and for complementing our staff on their excellent service. We take great pride in the high service levels the staff at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa brings to its guests and we will be sure to share your compliments with our team. We enjoy hearing the activities are guests participated in during their stay and we are so delighted that you were able to visit Catalina Island during your vacation. The resort definitely caters to all kinds of travelers including families, couples, business travelers and vactionists. We regret that our suites were not to your liking. Your opinion is very important to us. We hope that you do visit us again soon the next time you are visiting Southern California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Ok so the thing about Laguna Cliff, CA is that the Ritz Carlton has the best spot around! That $500+ per night is worth it but if you don't have it the Marriott Laguna Cliffs offers similar amenities with a bit more reserved charm. The pool area and spa are wonderful and the outdoor lounge/restaurant is a great atmosphere! Being up on the cliff you feel on top of the world but I wish the view of the water was a little bit more! Still spectacular! The balcony on the room was very charming and the bathroom shower head was amazing! The king bed was a true luxury and clean is an understatement however the hallways smelled a little like mold but it is by the water! For a much more affordable stay on the cliff with a short ways to the beach and small walk down the hill or bike to the wharf I defiantly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the two outdoor pools and our spa. We hope that you took some time to pamper yourself with one of our signature Spa treatments. The location of the resort is quite spectacular, overlooking the Pacific Ocean and walking distance from the beach and marina. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend our resort to others, that truly is the biggest compliment that someone can give us. We hope you come back to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, AZ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I just stayed two nights and will definitely return. The view is lovely! I found the price-point for my room to be very reasonable, considering the prices at nearby 5-star properties are easily double. The hotel and grounds are well-kept, the decor is stylish, and the finishes are in line with a 4-star hotel. The bedding is very comfortable and of high quality. I dined at both Vue and OverVue and found the food/drinks/dessert to be fine, but not great. The prices are "resort-typical", at $60 for two flavored martinis and two lunches. There are some good restaurants by the harbor across the road and are worth the walk. Keep in mind all resort parking is valet at $32/day. I would absolutely recommend this resort!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and your kind compliments about our resort. We can’t agree with your more, the panoramic ocean views are breathtaking. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our beds and the beach chic décor. Thank you for highly recommending our resort. We hope that you visit us again when you are here in Dana Point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
Charming, Pool...
Show More
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Romantic, Free...
Show More
7.7 mi away
Inn At Laguna Beach
Inn At Laguna Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Quiet, Restaura...
Show More
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
5.9 mi away
Casa Laguna Inn & Spa
Casa Laguna Inn & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Luxury, Beach...
Show More
21.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 16 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.