We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but not too close to water” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful but not too close to water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Ok so the thing about Laguna Cliff, CA is that the Ritz Carlton has the best spot around! That $500+ per night is worth it but if you don't have it the Marriott Laguna Cliffs offers similar amenities with a bit more reserved charm. The pool area and spa are wonderful and the outdoor lounge/restaurant is a great atmosphere! Being up on the cliff you feel on top of the world but I wish the view of the water was a little bit more! Still spectacular! The balcony on the room was very charming and the bathroom shower head was amazing! The king bed was a true luxury and clean is an understatement however the hallways smelled a little like mold but it is by the water! For a much more affordable stay on the cliff with a short ways to the beach and small walk down the hill or bike to the wharf I defiantly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the two outdoor pools and our spa. We hope that you took some time to pamper yourself with one of our signature Spa treatments. The location of the resort is quite spectacular, overlooking the Pacific Ocean and walking distance from the beach and marina. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend our resort to others, that truly is the biggest compliment that someone can give us. We hope you come back to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    268
    92
    48
    50
See reviews for
226
240
30
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, AZ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I just stayed two nights and will definitely return. The view is lovely! I found the price-point for my room to be very reasonable, considering the prices at nearby 5-star properties are easily double. The hotel and grounds are well-kept, the decor is stylish, and the finishes are in line with a 4-star hotel. The bedding is very comfortable and of high quality. I dined at both Vue and OverVue and found the food/drinks/dessert to be fine, but not great. The prices are "resort-typical", at $60 for two flavored martinis and two lunches. There are some good restaurants by the harbor across the road and are worth the walk. Keep in mind all resort parking is valet at $32/day. I would absolutely recommend this resort!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and your kind compliments about our resort. We can’t agree with your more, the panoramic ocean views are breathtaking. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our beds and the beach chic décor. Thank you for highly recommending our resort. We hope that you visit us again when you are here in Dana Point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent a few days here and were delighted at the location. The hotel sits on the cliff overlooking the harbor and has beautiful ocean views. The restaurant was good and the staff was friendly. At the time of stay there was a wedding gong on so the front desk area was busy but the girl we dealt with was very accommodating, she actually upgraded us to an ocean view room. I would recommend the hotel to any couple wanting to get away for the weekend, business men who want a place to go for a quick meeting outside with beautiful views, or even wedding planners looking for a place to hold an event.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation and all of your compliments regarding our resort and it’s attentive staff. We are delighted to hear that you were upgraded to an ocean-view room. We hope you enjoyed the spectacular panoramic ocean views of the Pacific during your stay. We have to agree with you, the resort is perfect for a couple’s getaway, a business retreat, a wedding or a family vacation. We are happy that we can accommodate all of our guests needs and make every visit a unique one. We hope you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Huge and beautiful hotel looking out over the Pacific Ocean and harbor area. Wonderful pool area and nice restaurants. Excellent beds and clean large bedrooms. Large grounds for walking dogs or playing with kids. Ten minute walk to the harbor and harbor restaurants. Good seafood at the wharf plus boat and bike rentals. The hotel has an excellent staff and and great service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your compliments and for your rating of 5 stars. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you experienced our exceptional service levels and our attentive staff. We find great joy in hearing about our guest’s wonderful experience and we appreciate the time you took to write your review. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This recently renovated/updated Marriott is very nice. Rooms are Marriott clean and equipped. The beds comfortable. The hill top location and tennis, pool and other amenities set this apart from a typical hotel-as the name says this is a resort. Very nice Marriott property.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your compliments and review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our renovated resort with all of the amenities it has to offer. We are delighted that you felt it stood apart from the other hotels you have visited and we hope that we left you completely satisfied. We appreciate your compliments and we hope that you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We visited Dana Point for the whale festival in March. Fabulous location, we were able to walk to a lot of places! Our room was clean and great. Would definitely recommend! We had a very short trip but we'd definitely love to take a longer trip soon, the hotel is just beautiful. Only compliant is bird poop on the chairs by the pool, but that can only be controlled to a certain point.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope you enjoyed the Festival of the Whales during your stay. The location of the resort is just perfect, walking distance from the harbor and marina, yet set high on the cliffs for a peaceful and serene setting. We appreciate your feedback and we will definitely look out for the bird’s messes. We hope that you do visit us again soon for a longer vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I had stayed here once before but it was years ago. I remember it being nice, but clearly my memory is going as this is an outstanding hotel. The staff is nice, attentive, but not in-your-face obnoxious. They want to help and are intent on making your staff pleasant.

As a frequent Marriott guest, I got upgraded to room 217 which was a suite with two balconies, both of which had beautiful views. The bed was comfortable, the internet worked, the shower was nice, and it was quiet and tranquil.

I ate in the restaurant and submitted a separate review - it was very good.

The spa/workout facility was an A+. Valet parking was prompt.

My room rate was cheap - $170 but I failed to read the fine print and they get you for a resort fee. So, with that added in and the valet was also an upcharge, this cheap room got a bit more expensive. Not so bad as to not stay there, but just be aware.

Room Tip: Room 217 is one of their best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your review and your rating of 5 stars. We appreciate your compliments regarding our attentive resort and valet staff. We are happy to hear that you took advantage of our fitness center and rated it an A+. Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa. We enjoy hearing our guest’s experiences and we aim to please every single guest and leave them with exceptional memories. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.