We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Hotel in a Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Relaxing Hotel in a Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent four nights at this hotel. The rooms are large and have couches allowing us to spread out. The hotel is on a cliff which provided great views. Adjacent to the hotel is a beautiful park and marina area with restaurants. We were able to leisurely walk to dinner. Also, it has excellent an excellent exercise facility. If you eat at the hotel it's a little pricey - but aren't most hotels. We used Dana Point as our home base. It was easy to travel to both L.A. and San Diego for the day.The pool area (there are two pools) was just ok; I've seen better. Overall, though, I recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you stayed with us for four nights and that you enjoyed your large room and the comfort of the furniture. We are happy to hear that you took advantage of our state of the art fitness center and the restaurants in the harbor. Our team is outstanding and they look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy the resorts amenities as well as the local beach and marina. We enjoyed creating memories for you and look forward to creating more for you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    315
    263
    87
    47
    48
See reviews for
220
234
30
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McGregor, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife & I enjoyed walks around the park and the nearby harbor. The 118 step staircase was quite a climb, though. Strengths included professional staff and clean, comfortable room. If you drive, be prepared to valet your vehicle. No self-park on the property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted to hear that you and your wife enjoyed the beautiful ocean views of the resort and the walks along the nearby park and harbor. It is quite pleasant to be able to walk from the resort to the marina and enjoy the quaint shops that surround the harbor. We will be sure to pass along the compliments that you gave about our professional staff. We hope that you and your wife will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

First time to this area. The people working here are wonderful. They all know how to make you feel welcome. We had a couples massage that was world class. As good as we've ever had. If you do nothing else at this resort get a massage.
The major drawback is the room. We had an upgraded room with an ocean view. The room lack drawer space. So if you are here for awhile. You will live out of a suitcase. There is zero shelf space in the bathroom. You either use the floor or take up what limited drawer space. Overall the room is not much for what you are paying for. We are moving on to another local Marriott resort today and I am looking forward to better things.
We will get another couples massage there. Just doing comparison shopping.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and welcome to Dana Point, CA. We are happy to hear that you visited the city for the first time. We hope your entire stay was pleasurable and that you were able to get some site seeing time. Thank you for your compliments regarding our attentive and friendly staff. Our staff is truly exceptional and they care for our guests needs and want to make your stay as pleasurable and comfortable as they can. We apologize that we did not have enough space for your clothes. We hope you took advantage of the spacy dresser drawers. Thank you for your comments and we hope you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a real hidden gem. It's a step down from the neighbors up the road ( Ritz/St. Regis) but you can stay for 1/3 the price. The grounds are very nice with 2 salt water pools ( one in each building) have plenty of seating and are close to all the rooms. The rooms are modern and decorated very well. Bathrooms are Marble and provide top notch bath products. In addition to a small bar/coffee area above the minibar all the rooms have a small fridge as well. But if you get you need some fresh air just step out on the patio. That said the patios do vary dramatically, on this visit i had a room with the standard patio ( small but great view). Your best bet is to ask for one of the end of hall units with direct ocean views. on a previous visit i had a end unit with a large patio that included a table with barstools and room for 5 or 6 guest. just outside the hotel is a great park and you can walk down the 118 stairs to the marina to eat and drink. In Dana Point this is a great value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and wonderful compliments regarding our resort. Ironically, we too describe our resort as a “hidden gem.” We are happy to hear that you also feel that our property stands out from other hotels you’ve visited. The panoramic ocean views are quite spectacular and we are pleased that you were able to enjoy your balcony as you took in the ocean breeze and views of the harbor. Our recently renovated resort has impressed many guests like yourself and we appreciate your compliments. Thank you for recommending the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa. We hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very nice property, clean, friendly! Valet parking ONLY - $32/night! A tiny dinner in the bar- restaurant was closed during the week - almost $60 with tip for a mini salad, a small piece of chicken, and glass of wine (lower end of menu). Wifi - $13/day. Beautiful location, though; just prepare to feel robbed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments regarding out clean property and friendly staff. We regret that you felt the price point was too high in our restaurant, we hope that this did not in any way negatively impact your stay. We appreciate your feedback regarding our parking fees and will certainly take your comments under review. In recent parking surveys we’ve conducted with our fellow resorts located on the coastline, we have found our parking rates to be in line and are actually the most economical. Our wifi charges are included in the resort fee. There is no additional charge for using wifi at the resort. We thank you for your comments and we hope that you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a perfect escape for a weekend getaway. Driving up the road and onto the hotel grounds creates a feeling of shedding away the hectic day to day and brings you into an oasis of ocean breezes and laid back attitude. The rooms feel spacious and private with bright beach decor. The check in staff are great and accommodated my special requests to make my stay that much better. The views are great and the proximity to the park is great and makes the place feel bigger than it is. I would go back for a weekend away for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We couldn’t agree with you more. The resort is situated in a perfect location. Peacefully placed on the cliffs, yet close enough to walk to the beach and harbor. We are delighted to hear that your staff was able to accommodate your requests and make your stay even better. We are looking forward in having you back for another weekend getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, CA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We only spent one night here and it was very enjoyable. We had a ground floor room with a nice courtyard view and patio. Room price included valet parking (which is normally a whopping $32 a day, and there are no self-parking alternatives), and breakfast for two.

One thing I noticed about my stay is the staff. Everyone seemed to be very friendly and helpful. Not that I am a major cynic, but it seems that finding friendly and helpful hotel staff is more challenging than it used to be.

Room and bathroom were nicely furnished, comfortable,and very clean. Bed and linens were exceptionally plush and comfortable.

Breakfast on Friday morning was very good. We had a choice of the buffet or an "up to" price from the menu. We opted for the buffet. Lots of selections, including a made-to-order omelet bar, provided enough food and selections to keep us happy.

After dinner drinks at the hotel bar were good and service attentive.

Exceptional hotel with exceptional people. If you are heading to south Orange County, reserve a room at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott. You'll enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you rating of 5 stars. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfortable beds and the buffet in our Vue Restaurant. We are delighted to hear that you were blown away by the service and attention to detail that our staff provided you during your stay. Our gratification comes from providing our guests with exceptional service and making their stay memorable and enjoyable. We are pleased to hear that we did just that. We appreciate your time in writing this review and we hope that you come back to visit us again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.