We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Dana Point” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in Dana Point”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on a Saturday night for a side trip from my vacation in San Diego. Although the hotel is named Laguna Cliffs and may, in fact, be in that area do not think you are staying in or near Laguna Beach. This is actually Dana Point and Laguna Beach is about an 8 mile car ride away. That said, the hotel property is lovely situated on a cliff. Our room was stylishly decorated with a balcony overlooking the pool. While the woman who checked us in stated we had a pool and water view - it would have been the water in the pool and not the ocean. The hotel staff was excellent and very welcoming at check in. Unfortunately, we did not get to use the spa due to time constraints. The only Con I truly see is the mandatory valet for $29 a night and the resort fee. Using the resort facilities should be built into the price of the hotel. Simply put, if you do not use the resort activities and services you are being charged for nothing. In our case we did not have time to use any of the bikes etc that this fee covered so.... Would absolutely recommend the hotel if you are traveling in this area. But do not miss Laguna Beach!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We are glad that you chose the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa as your mini vacation destination on your way up from San Diego. Our staff aims to provide excellent service to all of our guests and we are delighted that you experienced their warm welcome upon arrival. We hope that the next time you visit you are able to enjoy the beautiful Spa that will leave you feeling rejuvenated and relaxed from the moment you walk in. We appreciate your feedback regarding our parking fees and will certainly take your comments under review. In recent parking surveys we’ve conducted with our fellow resorts located on the coastline, we have found our parking rates to be in line and are actually the most economical. Thank you again for your review and we look forward in welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    251
    82
    46
    46
See reviews for
200
228
29
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed over ad the Marriott Cliffs Resort the week after Christmas. This was a getaway from Chicago weather in December and the 66 degrees and Sunny weather was nice. The resort sits on top of a hill with a commanding view of the Pacific and is right next to a city park with a short walk to restaurants on the pier as well as the city beaches at the bottom of the entrance drive.

It is a major resort so we were pleased it was off season and their was only one night with a wedding that brought a crowd to the adjoining conference. Ballroom. It would be a spectacular location for business meetings, but I liked the place with low volume of customers in the restaurant and elevators.
It is a large hotel property but since it is only three stories high you don' feel like it.

Highlights are the Spa, exercise room and the Vue restaurant the has a deck with heaters. And a fireplace to enjoy a cocktail at sunset. Rooms are nice with all the amenities and I strongly recommend the 4th floor rooms with views of sunrise.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your review and 5 stars. We greatly appreciate your compliments. We are happy to hear that the weather was sunny and perfect for your arrival. We hope that you enjoyed the city of Dana Point and the beautiful ocean views from your guest room. We are delighted that you took advantage of the amenities the resort provides including the fitness center and the Spa which was recently awarded “Best for Romance” by Spa Finder. We look forward in welcoming you back in the new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We are currently on vacation and staying here with another family. We both we're upgraded to rooms with ocean views. Our room rate includes parking and buffet breakfast which is super-nice. Staff is kind and room is good quality, cozy beds, quiet, clean. Pols are warm and the location is excellent.

Only negative is rooms are kinda small but they are well-appointed. Breakfast is dynamite. We're having a great time here.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view. Refrig also free if you have a young child, to store milk. Very kind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your 5 stars. We are happy to hear that you are enjoying your time here at the resort with your family and friends. Thank you for all your wonderful compliments regarding our Staff’s kindness and the quality of the rooms. We hope that you are able to continue to take advantage of the pools and harbor activities that are walking distance from the resort. We are always at your service and we would be delighted to assist you in any way that we can during the remainder of your stay. Welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Due to my gold status, we were upgraded to an ocean view room, which was quite nice. The room was well decorated, but the bathroom is small and very basic, and noise from the hallway is rather pronounced. Note that there is a daily resort fee and valet only parking ($29/night). The breakfast buffet is good, but relatively expensive. Dinner service was ok, although the restaurant was deserted on Saturday night at 6 pm. The hotel is within walking distance (down 100+ stairs) to the Dana Point harbor, which has some decent restaurants and small shops.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your loyalty to the Marriott brand and we are delighted that you were able to be upgraded to an ocean view room. We thank you for your compliments regarding our breakfast buffet. The close proximity of the resort to the harbor is perfect for strolls along the beach or marina. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Yes great location and pleasing view of the harbor. Room very nice bit on the small side for being upgraded do to status. Thinking I would not like the other room if this was and upgrade. On Bussiness did not eat at the property nice bar.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for you review. We appreciate your compliments regarding our “great” location and “nice” bar. We hope you are able to visit us again for a leisure stay and dine at our Vue Restaurant and OverVue Lounge. We know you will be very pleased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

this is an ok hotel. good location. friendly staff. needs a little attention to detail, i.e. mold in the shower. also be aware of the add on fees. $29 valet and 16.50 resort tax and fee daily! ..............

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Pros:
Our family had a wonderful time. We enjoyed hanging at the pool and soaking in the large hot tub, playing at the tennis court (came with rackets but we brought our own), the bike rides from there along the beach, the breakfast was perfect, and yeah, it was cold and pouring in Seattle and warm and sunny in Dana Point, go figure
Cons:
The fold out single bed frame was badly bent so the mattress sagged at one corner. My son tried to sleep on it but it messed up his night of rest. We had them come in and fix it the next day which made it better but for such a nice place it seemed a bit odd.

Room Tip: Seems like families with kids would love the ground floor rooms with doors that open to the pool rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time here at the resort. We are happy to hear that our sunny California weather enabled you and your family to partake in outdoor activities.

We are delighted to hear that we were able to fix the fold out bed for your son. Thank you for addressing the issue with our staff and allowing them to correct it in a timely manner. Your comfort is very important to us and we are here to provide you with the services you need to make that possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.