We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersSilver level
hilton head island
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fantastic Visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I recently stayed 5 nights at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa. It was spotlessly clean, the room was very comfortable. I wish the bathroom was a little bit bigger, but I'm used to small bathrooms at many Marriott properties. The area was gorgeous, very relaxing, and peaceful. I will definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you stayed with us for 5 nights and enjoyed the serenity the resort has to offer. The area is gorgeous and I am sure you enjoyed the panoramic views that surround the resort. We are looking forward to your next arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    321
    111
    58
    57
See reviews for
255
280
35
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been to the hotel twice and it's a nice get away. They seemed to indicate both times that we were in an upgraded room with ocean views, but honestly I liked the room they gave my kids with a large balcony better. I will ask next time. We ordered room service by the pool and it was quite good. The pool looks fun for younger kids, with the play surf boards. The gym was well outfitted. Check out Stacks for breakfast - not too far of a walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that this was your second visit to our resort. Please feel free to ask for a room with a balcony the next time you visit and if occupancy permits we will be more than happy to change your room for you. We are delighted to hear that you were able to take advantage of our pools. The weather in Southern California is quite spectacular and laying in the sun in October is quite a gift. The children love the splash zone at the Del Mar Pool and it’s one of a kind in California. We hope you visit us again when you are the Southern California, we’d love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights for a business trip. Particularly, after a long flight from the east coast and the long drive down from LAX, the staff were friendly and helpful. Aside from the view which was absolutely breathtaking, I didn't get to use many of the amenities available - being that it was a work trip - except for the gym facilities, which were absolutely wonderful, especially after a long day at work. The availability of a fully stocked coffee machine/mini-bar in the room was great. In the AM I was able to sit on my patio/porch looking out at the Pacific Ocean - what a lovely way to start my work-day! There were several nice restaurants for eating in the vicinity (almost walking distance) - easy to get to going down the hill to the harbor, but not as easy on a full stomach going up the hill. The room furniture was configured in such a way to maximize the open floor space - which made it feel very room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful compliments. We are so happy to hear that our staff was able to make your stay at comfortable as they could after a long flight from the east coast. Flying for business is never easy and we are so happy that you were able to take advantage of our state of the art fitness center. We know that being away from home could be difficult and so we try and make the resort as comfortable and peaceful as we can for our guests. I must agree with you, there is nothing more spectacular than waking up to views of the Pacific Ocean to start your day. We hope the amenities in the room helped you get your day started off feeling fresh and rejuvenated. We are looking forward to your next stay and we hope that you are able to take advantage of the pools and spa the next time you are in Southern California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband & I love the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa! We always stay at this hotel whenever we need to go to this area for business. Everyone at this hotel is very nice, friendly, and eager to please! As with any upscale Marriott property, this hotel has those fantastic and comfy king size beds!! Their breakfast buffet is really good. Also, if the weather permits, it is so nice to have your breakfast at their patio overlooking Dana Point Harbor. A great way to start your day. This hotel has a wonderful park (Doheney Park) right in front of the hotel overlooking the ocean. By the harbor, there are several nice restaurants where you can dine. Also, you can take a boat ride at the harbor to take you to Catalina Island. We can't wait for our next trip to OC so we can stay at this wonderful hotel again.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a room facing the ocean so when you open your window, you can feet the ocean bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your compliments about our resort. Our staff is truly amazing and we are delighted that you experienced their genuine care first hand. We are happy to hear that your business meetings are held at our resort when you are in the Dana Point area. We have the most attentive staff that will go miles to make sure that your meeting is a success.

The resort is situated in a perfect location, overlooking the Pacific Ocean and the Dana Point Marina. We hope that you stay with us again when you are visiting Dana Point for both business and pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Relaxing views of the Pacific coast. Great place to decompress. This is by no means the cheapest place to stay, but it is worth it. The location is great in that it is very accessible to both Orange County and northern San Diego points of interest. If you would like to go to places like Legoland, Disneyland and all the other points of interest in between, this is a great choice of place to stay. And if you just want to decompress, this is the place to be. The views are enough to soothe the most frayed of nerves. If you want activities, there is enough of it nearby. If you want to jet ski, kayak, boogie board, surf, it is all within walking distance. If you want a low key picnic, there is a park in front of the hotel that has amazing views. Lots of options for food from Denny's, McDs, Subway to 5-star restaurants.
The breakfast buffet is pricey, but if you eat a late breakfast, you can count it as a brunch that is not to disappoint. Even the wait staff is much better than he average waiter. They seemed very well trained. The spa is amazing, not cheap, but you really feel really pampered. Very professional.
In May there is a blue's festival at the Doheny Beach that is walking distance. If you are into that, this is the place to stay because it is a short walking distance. But if you are not into blues, check in advance when this festival is scheduled, and stay away. It is not the best time to go here during that time if you're not into blues. You will hear the sounds in your room. But other than that, this place is really a gem. Less price than the Ritz down the street, but has a lot more rooms with a great view. I have gone there every year for the last 6 years, and I have always come away feeling refreshed and pampered.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the ocean, always check the room first. Try to pick the rooms of the lower f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Wow! Thank you for your detailed review. We are delighted to hear that you feel refreshed and pampered after every stay with us. Thank you for making our home yours every year. We are so honored that you stay with us once a year and enjoy it each time you visit. It is our job to make you feel right at home and provide you with great service, dining options and comfort. We agree with you in that we are truly a “gem” located on the bluffs of Dana Point. We are looking forward in seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Laguna Cliffs knocked it out of the park! Fantastic beds, view, buffet breakfast and courteous staff! Better than I expected. The only drawback is that it is a bit of a drive to Laguna Beach. But since there is little traffic and you're driving along the pch it's not bad.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Wow. We are just delighted that everything was fantastic and that we knocked it out of the ballpark for you! That is our goal each and every time. We strive for perfection and we are happy to hear that we did just that. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights for a business conference held on site ! Rooms , restaurant , pool service and spa ate all fabulous , staff friendly .. Business facilities and service a little disorganised , more geared for leisure .. But would definitely recommend for vacation .. Great restaurants and the harbour within walking distance

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCMRS, Manager at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all your compliments regarding our staff, wonderful service, rooms, restaurant and spa. We truly are the perfect resort for leisure and business guests. I’m sorry to hear that you felt that the facilities and service were a bit unorganized for your meeting. We hope that you addressed your concerns with our staff and we were able to remedy the situation. We find that our resort is compatible for couples, leisure guests, families and business/corporate meetings. We hope that the next time you return for business you experience this as well. Thank you again for your review and we hope that you visit us again for both leisure and business in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa

Address: 25135 Park Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dressed in charming Cape Cod style, the Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort rests atop the majestic cliffs of the "California Riviera" overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor and is fronted by 42 acres of park, rolling lawn, and radiant gardens laced with bicycle and jogging trails. Take a short walk to the Harbor’s numerous shops, restaurants and ocean activities and to the beautiful sands of the Pacific. Each of the Resort’s 378 rooms includes a TV w/remote, Nintendo, work desk, STSN high-speed Internet, CD/clock radio, coffee maker, hair dryer, lighted makeup mirror and individual climate control. 24-hour health club facilities top the list of amenities, along with tennis, croquet, bicycle rentals and more. Enjoy two ocean-view heated pools or relax in the adjacent whirlpools. Recognized for its excellence in meeting services with a Gold Key Award by Corporate Meetings and Incentives Magazine, the Resort offers 50,000 sq ft of flexible indoor and outdoor function space with state-of-the-art technological capabilities. Our newest addition to our AAA 4-Diamond resort is the 14,000 square foot spa. Enjoy treatments tailored to your own tastes. Our spa facilities, including a sauna and whirlpool, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Cliffs Marriott Hotel Dana Point
Marriott Laguna Cliffs
Marriott Dana Point
Dana Point Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.