We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for Wedding Night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Best prices from these 8 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Dana Point, CA 92629-4205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate Our 30 Years
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersBronze level
Marina del Rey, California
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Stayed for Wedding Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

We stayed here for our wedding night, as we got married in Laguna Beach. We had a beautiful room on the ocean and they were so nice to us! We received a lovely chocolate strawberry congratulations and everything was top notch. I think this is the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at and I am so glad it was for my wedding night! We had breakfast the next morning overlooking their beautiful beach and it was just exquisite. The whole experience made my wedding day the best day ever!!

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    185
    107
    55
    27
See reviews for
239
354
29
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

We had a poor experience at the St. Regis over Valentine's Weekend and checked into the Ritz Carlton in Dana Point. We wished we'd stayed there the entire trip. The Ritz lived up to our expectations and more. Every luxury hotel has their drawbacks, nothing is perfect, but we were quite pleased.

The location is right on the beach, making for great views and easy beach access, hence you feel like you're really in Southern California. The service was outstanding, we were whisked to our room and checked in there, even though there was no one waiting at the front desk. The hotel knew it was a special ocassion for us and treated us to a few extra perks. The room was very good, it wasn't officially a beach view room, but the balcony had a great view of the beach if you turned the table and chairs to the side, as opposed to a road or parking lot at some other hotels. The bathroom was "classic" in design, not a huge modern setup, but that was fine by us.

The common areas were what really stood out for us, the main restaurant is a wide stretch along huge, high windows overlooking the water, magnificent to dine, drink or just sit and chat. The lobby bar is warm and iniviting. The observation deck has heat lamps for cold nights and lots of seating for drinks, snacks or just sittting. The wine/cheese/chocolate bar was a fun addition to the restaurant lineup at the hotel. Additionally, there are many sitting areas along the hallways leading to the rooms, great to rest for a minute while waiting for others and take in the view.

The gym wasn't huge, but had an amazing view, as well. There was free internet access at several kiosks off of the lobby, which was great. There was a sizeable conference starting the day we departed (a weekday), so it may be worth asking about any large events if that would bother you. Definitely a clear choice over the St. Regis!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Coast, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

I was getting married in Laguna Beach and stayed at the Ritz Carlton for my wedding night. I booked the reservation through their website and got a better rate than Expedia or travelocity.

They were very personable and the service was amazing. They even upgraded me to an ocean view suite without requesting one. Every time my wife and I walked by an employee we were greeted by name.

The hotel is beautiful and the renovations made this place modern and flawless once again

  • Liked — The amazing location. It's set high upon a cliff so the views are amazing. You don't get this at the St. Regis
  • Disliked — The $40 parking fee.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for one night on a trip through Southern California. We stayed 3 nights in the San Diego area, 1 night in Laguna Niguel and 3 nights in Los Angeles (Santa Monica).

If I had known this hotel and location was so amazing, I would have stayed 2-3 nights.

Overall we really liked this hotel:

Pros: absolutely stunning views of the pacific coast, beautiful hotel, great service, nice pool, celebrity sighting by the pool, restaurant/bar with great ocean views

Cons: the room was nice and met my expectations, but wasn't the the best Ritz Carlton bedroom we've seen

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a weekend getaway if you live on the West Coast or would recommend that anyone else include it on their tour of Southern California

  • Liked — Beautiful views of the pacific
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

We found ourselves back in Southern California after a three day stay at the Wynn Resort in Vegas. Our flight back to London was the next night from LAX.

None of us wanted to stay at an airport location, and had already exhausted all the good hotels in Hollywood, Beverly Hills etc on previous trips to LA.

We decided to head an hour south of Los Angeles to Orange County. Other hotel options were The Montage, Newport Bay Club, Fairmont and the Four Seasons. We decieded upon the Ritz Carlton because of its simply amazing location.

The hotel sits on a cliff with a simply spectacular view of the beach, the bluffs and the Pacific.

Located on the Pacific Coast Highway we were easily able to find it, and nestled in lovely grounds with two pools and a stairway down to the beach we knew we made the right decision.

Check in was easy, and they serve complimentary fruite juices in the lobby. The bellboy took us to our suite with a balcony over looking the bay. I'm glas we paid extra to get the view.

The room was nice, simple and modern with two beds and a large plasma. The bathroom was clean, but I expect a separate tub and shower in a five star joint, so a little disapointed here - especially when we had just left the Wynn in Vegas where the bathroom was the size of our entire suite here!

The hotel public areas are lovely, and they serve free coffee in the morning in the bar area. I sat and enjoyed a few cups while looking at the rain!!! in Southern California!!

When it dried up I walked up and down the beach admiring the local scenary.

We didn't eat in the hotel, but instead ate at The Cannery up the PCH in Newport. Always eat here, ask for a table on the terrace, its lovely. The Ritz is only fifteen mins from places like Fashion Island and lots of golf courses - best is the Fazio one at Pelican Hill.

Also advice go to the State Park at Crystal Cove, lovely unspoiled land. No McMansions to spoil the view.

We checked out the next day, and drove slowly north to LA. Visiting the beach towns along the way. Much more civilised than staying in Los Angeles.

I would advise this to anybody staying in Southern CA as an alt to staying in Beverly or Hollywood, and also for anybody living in the Valley or North LA as a weekend retreat. In my opinion the area is better than Malibu, as less traffic and safer than Hermosa Beach and Santa Monica etc.

  • Liked — The location and view
  • Disliked — The bathroom was small and no separate tub/shower
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

While this property does have a fantastic view of the beach and ocean, the physical plant and service are very much sub-par for a Ritz (and this is coming from someone that travels quite a bit for work and pleasure, and typically stays at luxury hotels).

For one, the rooms, while updated in the last several years, are not particularly large and are starting to look a bit old and generally poorly maintained. Examples include no stand-up shower, peeling paint on the balcony doors, rusty, dusty air conditioning vents and hallway doors so hollow that you can hear every kid run by. If someone from Ritz corporate were to come and stay in a room or walk around the property, it would be clear that the hotel is really starting to show its age and that the upkeep is not up to snuff.

On the service front, we experienced several billing issues when checking out (e.g., charges for packages we didn't ship and missing credits for breakfasts that were included in our Amex package) and a concierge that seemed none to thrilled that we asked her for recommendations for local restaurants and a walking map.

It goes without saying that the daily resort fee and overnight parking charge are an insult at this price point.

We loved the view, but not enough to return to this property.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2008

We have stayed at multiple Ritz Carlton hotels multiple times, including this particular location once before. The service on this trip was shockingly sub-par, not at all what we have come to expect from the Ritz properties. Meals - unrefined wait staff, long waits for food, no refills or water. Housekeeping - inconsistent, broke a hairbrush, turned radio on in room, walked in without knocking. Holiday decor was completely disappointing. No Christmas tree inside the hotel! Strange purple tropical flower scheme during Christmas week! We had an ocean view room with a barely-there balcony - so small that the tiny patio table and chairs didn't fit! The strength of this hotel is its sweeping beach and ocean views. However, there are other terrific hotels in this area including the Montage and the St. Regis, and I would recommend you consider them before booking at the Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel.

  • Liked — Sweeping ocean and beach views
  • Disliked — Terrible service
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Address: One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Dana Point, CA 92629-4205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#1 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#1 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Green Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel Hotel Dana Point
Ritz Dana Point
Ritz-Carlton Dana Point
Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.