We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“California Gold” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Dana Point, CA 92629-4205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Inspiration of the Season
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vero Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“California Gold”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We booked a last minute get away for my wife's Christmas Birthday and it would be an understatement to say that our expectations were exceeded in every regard. All staff were polite with the trademark Ritz "my pleasure" exemplified. We stay at many premium facilities, and this resort is one of our favorites.

Ocean view room is highly recommended as the panorama of the beach below, blue Pacific Ocean, and off in the distance, Catalina Island is without comparison. Grey wales were putting a show just off shore, and the sunsets were stunning, followed by the rising crescent moon over clear, starry skies...perfect.

If you really want an upgrade, that I think is well worth the expense, opt for the Club Level, which includes complimentary bar and four servings daily. The Club Staff are the best ever! The facility was beautifully decorated with an interesting surfboard charity auction amongst the Christmas decorations, including a huge forty foot tall douglas fir Christmas tree at the front of the hotel.

Bonus for me it the fact that the hotel sits on one of California's premium surf breaks, Salt Creek, and there were perfect waves right out back for the duration of our stay. Thanks RItz Laguna Nigel for making my wife's Christmas Birthday the best ever!!!! We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Ocean view strongly recommended. If you stay on the Club Level which is ideal, you could save and n...
See more room tips
Green Features: Ocean water out back was crystal clear, and the beach was clean, so the hotel/Orange County is doing something right.
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    206
    112
    56
    28
See reviews for
247
376
31
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Dana Point is a wonderful property in OC! The picturesque views of the ocean are breath taking and the hotel is top notch. Service and food is wonderful. The conference was in ballroom and snuck by pool a few times - Pool would be A+ if it were facing ocean so I preferred the shuttle service to beach front. They set you up with towel, chair and brelly - luxe and relaxing. Going back with family for sure

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is a California classic--the usual Ritz Carlton elegance with the added attraction of a cliff top view of the Pacific ocean. We've been here four times and the hotel is clean and elegant, with service which is always impeccable. My favorite hotel in the Laguna Niguel area!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
We always enjoy having you! We promise to make each of your visits truly memorable and unique.
Happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The moment you walk in the front door you will see beautiful flowers. The property is on the ocean and had magnificent views of the Pacific Ocean. The staff is well trained and always at your service. I look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for choosing our resort as your luxury destination. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyersFanInLA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I got a chance to have grandma care for our young son for a night en route south to visit the San Diego Zoo. Normally, we stay at Pelican Hill but we had miles with Marriott (long story) and decided to return to the Ritz for the first time in 10 plus years.

The property sits atop a cliff and has some wonderful views towards Laguna Beach and the ocean. We upgraded to a big suite on a higher floor but lacking a killer view. It was pretty well appointed but the bathrooms lacked a good tub or shower. The toilet was installed in a narrow spot thus we used the hallway one. You don't see that at Four Seasons.

The fine dining restaurant was suitable but noisy. The view is great. The service is solid. The property is updated, clean and luxurious. Its a solid 4-star spot and we will return to use up the pile of miles. The best part was our walk on the beach where a pretty serious surf contest popped up. These kids were killing it on 5 to 6 foot swells thanks to a badly needed, recent story. We watched the rest of the action from the same restaurant for breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade. You might have to pay but its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
We enjoyed having you and hope to see you again soon! Thank you for staying with us as we celebrated our 30th anniversary. There are many more good things in store for The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If your looking for value don't look here this place is expensive, however if your looking for that high end experience you have arrived. Perfect oceans views and sunsets, with an unmatched level of service and yes pet friendly with as much attention on your pup as I you. Laguna beach awails your arrival.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
We pledge to always provide the highest level of personal and unique service for our guests, and even our furry friends too. We have many more wonderful experiences in store for you. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

You will be pampered & pampered & made to feel like royalty. That's what I love about Ritz properties. I don't get to stay nearly as often as I'd like. Everything was as expected except my scallops one night ordered from room service. They promptly credited tho. The carrot-squash soup is to die for!! If you're lucky enough to get Patrick Dykstra as your Bellman, you're in the best hands & will be pampered immediately upon arrival! Very warm, welcoming & informative.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
We enjoyed spoiling you and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Address: One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Dana Point, CA 92629-4205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel Hotel Dana Point
Ritz Dana Point
Ritz-Carlton Dana Point
Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.