We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VACATION!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Dana Point, CA 92629-4205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Inspiration of the Season
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“VACATION!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The views from the hotel were amazing! We stay here for only one night and everything about it was great! Very friendly staff, amazing views, and some of the best nachos. You must go to the bar/lounge that is outside on the 2nd floor. This was out first stay at Ritz Carlton and we enjoyed it. The bar/lounge near the entrance was mediocre. Dessert was good, drinks were pricey of course. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for posting your photos. We loved seeing them. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to create many more memories for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    206
    112
    56
    28
See reviews for
247
376
31
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife and I spent the first weekend of May at this remarkable property. We were warmly greeted, and I noticed that this was the case for all the guests. They do this with ease, despite a rather large influx of guests that afternoon. We splurged for the Club level, and the service/attention to detail was remarkable. Tip for those staying on the club level at any Ritz, take advantage of the drink/food spread that's placed throughout the day. Overall, a beautiful property, and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
We couldn't agree with you more that our views are to die for. You simply can't beat our exclusive Club Level experience. We are delighted you were able to visit us on Club. Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A bit (a lot) pricey, but also super classy without being ostentatious!!

Stayed two nights for our anniversary in May and will definitely make it an annual event!! Wonderful room, great (and accommodating staff), and that amazing view!!!

We've stayed at some pretty nice hotels, but the Ritz Carlton in Laguna takes the cake!! Arguably, the best hotel we have ever stayed at!!

If you can afford it, even for one night, stay there! It's that nice!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Happy Anniversary! We look forward to creating another memorable, unique, and personal experience for you again next May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My family and I keep coming back, but I never take time to write a review. We love this beautiful property, well managed, has wonderful staff and simply everything works. This hotel has an amazing view, and it's set right above a beautiful beach. The staff is very helpful in setting you up at the beach if that's how you would like to spend the day. Besides the cafe in the lobby (great) we only dined in the main restaurant. The food was only nice, not dramatic, and it has only a casual feel at night. My favorite space is the deck restaurant. Great view, great energy and great food and drinks. Ritz Carlton staff, thank you so much for making our weekends special! You are amazing!

Room Tip: Last time we had two rooms by the pool. At time of booking we thought it would be a great idea. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your loyalty. It is our desire to continue to provide you with unique, memorable, and personal experiences each and every time you visit us. We couldn't agree with you more that Salt Creek Beach is phenomenal. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

After staying at the Ritz in Chicago my standards were very high- and this location did not dissapoint. We arrived early and the check in process was very quick, unfortunately there was not a room available so we decided to have lunch at the hotel while we waited. We ate on the outdoor deck, the view was breathtaking! The food and service at the restuarant were wonderful as well.
When we got our room I was a bit dissapointed as there was no crib and the baby proofing was not done as I had asked- however this was remedied within 10min. We spent a lot of time at the pool, there was not shortage of fresh towels and cucumber water. When we wandered to the beach there was a golf cart to take us (we had a toddler with us so walking would have been cumbersome) and there is a beach butler service that provides sunscreen, toys, towels, and water once you get down to the beach (spoiled)!
The decor of the hotel and the rooms is elegant and trendy, the cleanliness exceeded my expecations. I would love to have a chance to stay at this property again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We loved your photo thank you! We always want to ensure our littlest Ritz-Carlton guests are happy too. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and we promise to have your room set just as you requested. Thank you for choosing The RItz-Carlton, Laguna NIguel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The amazing views! The Ritz was beautiful but the views were amazing! Last time we were here we stayed at the St. Regis. Another beautiful resort. The Ritz seemed alot busier. We did go on 4th of July weekend, so what can you expect. The rooms did seem a bit older but we were fine. The beach was quite a walk, and with 2 little ones it was a bit of a challenge. At the beach they let you borrow beach chairs and towels - again - a good walk to the beach. The beach was very crowded. The water was a little too cold for us. We did use the pool and kids had fun. Not too crowded. The food was great. Breakfast had a good variety. Lots of waiting time as again it was July 4th weekend. We took a day trip to Disneyland and our little ones loved it. We love California and will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
The 4th of July holiday is a fantastic time to be a guest at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna NIguel! Thank you for staying with us last year and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

From check-in to check-out and from valet parking to the cleaning crew and everyone in between, I felt so privileged to be here!!! I flew my grandmother and myself out to Cali as a surprise bday trip for her. During booking I was asked if I had been to the property before and/or if we were celebrating any occasion. This was both of our first trips to Cali and we celebrated a bday and a job promotion. Upon arrival, valet service was attentive, professional, friendly, and efficient. You could tell the employees were loving their jobs which speaks volumes about the company.

My grandmother and I were promptly escorted to the main desk to check in and were questioned about our flight and wished us a happy weekend for celebration. Once we arrived in our room (standard with two queens room 2035), We were surprised to find delicious chocolates on our beds, a letter from our maid servant,and even a voucher for our dining!!! AND, about an hour after the sun went down, we had a knock on our door and a server entered with even more complimentary desserts including chocolate covered strawberries and a very large portioned brownie treat.

While the property is gorgeous, neat, and has beautiful views of the ocean, what truly sets The Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel above the competition is their customer experience. One doesn't simply stay at the Ritz. One has a genuine luxurious experience from booking to check-out.

We didn't dress fancy during our stay nor do we frequently stay at luxurious properties but we were treated as though we were royalty. The complimentary gifts were a garnish on top of an already amazing stay but the way we were treated is why I will only stay here when in Laguna.

Warm regards from Denver,CO.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Your photos are stunning....we really enjoyed seeing them. Thank you for your trust in our property. We are delighted you had a memorable experience while here and we look forward to many more in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Address: One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Dana Point, CA 92629-4205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#1 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel Hotel Dana Point
Ritz Dana Point
Ritz-Carlton Dana Point
Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.