We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel and Beach; Sub Par Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Ritz Carlton Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-4205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate Our 30 Years!
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Dana Point
Lincoln, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel and Beach; Sub Par Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel atop a cliff overlooking a wonderful beach. There is easy beach access and the sand appears "combed" to keep it clean of most ocean debris. Lots of surfers, but not over crowded.

I am a Marriott Rewards Platinum Elite, and booked the one night stay using 50,000 Marriott Rewards points. We were booked into a garden view room but given an ocean view (one level upgrade as is standard). I was not greeted as a Platinum Elite and when I inquired about if the 1,000 points of the welcome gift would post to my account, the check in clerk looked at me like he had no idea what that was.

I requested a late checkout as is standard for a Platinum Elite, but was told I could not have one. When I clarified via the Marriott Rewards Terms and Conditions, the concierge was unfamiliar with the benefit. I asked for the hotel general manager to call me and discuss, which they said would be no problem, but they never did call.

We only stayed one night, checking in at 4p and out at 12p (so 20 total hours), but were charged two days of Valet parking, at $35 each. My definition of a day is 24 hours, theirs is whatever gets them the most fees.

All in all, it was a nice stay, but service in these instances and others was not what I would expect from a Ritz Carlton.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna NIguel. We enjoyed seeing your photos and are glad your overall experience was satisfactory. We would enjoy speaking to you further about your Platinum Elite status and benefits. Kindly contact the Executive Office directy so we may assist you.
We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    565
    159
    92
    49
    25
See reviews for
195
308
24
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Indiana
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Wow. WoW. WOW!

I can't say enough about our recent 5 night stay at the Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel. We had a suite in the club level and would love to have never left!

Upon checking in, we upgraded from our basic room reservation to a suite on the club level and that was the BEST decision we could have made. You must use your key card in the elevator to get to the 4th level and upon arrival, you walk through the club lounge to get to your room. We were in suite 417 which looked out over the area surrounding the smaller of the properties two pools. The only thing that could have improved upon this was if we had an ocean view. The suite had:
(1) a half bath off of the entry foyer
(2) a spacious living space with:
- a large L shaped couch
- mini fridge and safe tucked away in a closet
- single serving coffee maker with a wide asst of coffees and teas
- balcony with french doors including chairs
- tv and dvd player
(3) master bedroom through french doors off of the living room
- balcony with french doors (2nd one for the suite) including table and chairs
- tv and dvd player
- bed with two nightstands
- chair
- chaise lounge
(4) master bath and dressing room
- done in beautiful white marble
- large closets with plenty of hanging storage as well as drawers
- double sinks which were nicely spaced apart
- mirrored vanity table and chair
- separate room with toilet and shower/tub combo
The entire suite was done in muted colors which were very relaxing and inviting. The room was always cleaned and attended to daily, including newspaper delivery hanging on our door each morning (without disturbing us) and turndown service in the evening. Two robes and slippers were provided for our use during our stay.
The ladies in the club made our entire stay heavenly. They were always quick to offer assistance while not being intrusive. They made over our 5-year old daughter like she was a princess and this was her castle. The food service (breakfast, lunch, light dinner, and dessert) were very nice and often enough to get us through the day on-site with only going out for dinner (not that you'd necessarily even have to do that. When we would go down to the pool during the afternoon, they'd send us with drinks in plastic, pool-side safe cups and pack a nice little box lunch of their deli sandwiches and veggies or chips. I never felt like I was being judged if I asked for another glass of wine or a kiddie cup of juice for my daughter. It was like they took pleasure in making sure that we had everything we could want before we even thought of asking. My daughter loved the wall of shelves stocked with jars of candy which were self-serve 24 hrs a day as well as the cabinet filled with board games or the baskets of movies to borrow and watch on the dvd players in the rooms. There were two areas in the lounge - one with tables and chairs and a little balcony on which you could sit and look out at the ocean or the other room where there were also tables and chairs as well as comfortable couches and a cozy fireplace that usually had a fire going to take the evening chill out of the air.
The beach butler was a nice touch. At the edge of the property, you could catch a ride down to the beach with him then he would set up your lawn chairs, an umbrella and even provide sand toys or boogie boards for the kids. The resort is up on the bluffs, so the beach is a bit of a hike down and then back up but still very nice to have right at the property and also allows for amazing views.
Be sure to go out and watch the sunset over Catalina Island!
There is a small koi pond/river that runs along the lower level of rooms near the smaller pool. The club attendant arranged us to meet one of the engineers there on our first morning and he provided my daughter with a large cup of pellets which she was able to feed to the fish each day of our stay.
The larger pool is nice but needed to be heated a bit more. Although the days were sunny and in the lower 80's, the pool was a bit chilly to swim in for too long. The hot tub was hit though! The food at the pool was not good. We gave it a couple of tries and then gave up.
There are several tennis courts, a ping pong table under a gazebo, and a small swing set for little ones.
I loved this property and the location in Laguna. We were referred to a restaurant in Laguna from the concierge and it was excellent.
Great property and even more impressive staff. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and would definitely do the club level.
My regrets - not having the chance to visit the spa and not being able to convince my daughter to participate in some of the kids' programs. A couple of friends she made at the pool one day said they had done the cooking class and really had fun making pizzas!

Room Tip: CLUB level all of the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We enjoyed having you as much as you enjoyed being here! We are delighted you had the chance to experience our exclusive Club Level. We couldn't agree with you more that it is worth every penny. Thank you for your visit and we hope to welcome you back soon. There are pizzas to be made!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plover, WI
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I’ve written reviews about the Club Level of the Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel in the past and I’m thrilled to report that, if anything, it’s only gotten better! Director of Guest Services, Clarita Parra, made sure we were set up in wonderful accommodations in early October and although she was off during our stay, she provided a number where we could reach her should there be any problems or concerns. Club Supervisor, Penni Garcia greeted us like we were family coming home for a visit. It’s not a surprise to know Penni was awarded the Ritz Carlton 2013 Gold Standard Award! Whether it’s the great food and drink presentations throughout the day, offering to make dinner or golf reservations, securing tickets for an event or recommending activities in the area, the ladies of the Club Level are friendly and knowledgeable. Every single one of the Club Level Associates we met (Penni, Mary, Diane, Colleen, Kathryn & Beth) always made sure we were welcomed and had everything we needed. The only “negative” we experienced while we were there was that we eventually had to check out and fly home! I would highly recommend the Club Level at the Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel for a truly personal touch to any stay in the Orange County area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for another wonderful review of our resort. We couldn't agree with you more that Clarita and her Club team are outstanding! We are delighted that you left with more unique and personal memories and we look forwardt to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnieux en Provence, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Atop the cliff with a vast oceanview to endless skies, greenery surrounding, beach below. Its quiet and beautiful. Perfect way to lay back and enjoy. The bar with the view set the mood perfectly. Weathet was neither hot nor cold. It was pleasent just adds to the settings. Staff were very friendly. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel as your luxury destination. We enjoyed having you and look forward to welcoming you back soon. The ocean awaits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We spent 3 nights in a club suite with a garden view which was absolutely beautiful. We also hosted a luncheon during our stay for 20 people at the Raya Restaurant, which overlooks the beach and ocean. Everything from the initial planning stages of the luncheon to the time we checked-out of the hotel was perfect. The Speciatly Dining Coordinator, Michele Canatella, as well as Erin Snider, the Food and Beverage Manager were professional, personable and helped to make our event one of the best ever. The Guest Relations Coordinator provided us with a special gift in our room at check-in. The gym in this hotel has floor to celing glass windows overlooking the coastline and it is so beautiful it is difficult to tear yourself away from your workout. In general, the service at this hotel was exceptional The food at the club was excellent and the staff at the club was the friendliest we have ever experienced. We highly recommend this hotel for the consumate Southern California experience.

Room Tip: The ocean views from this hotel are nothing short of gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
It was a pleasure having you. Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel! Michele, Erin
and all of our ladies and gentlemen take great pride in creating unique, personal and memorable experiences for our guests. We hope to celebrate many more special occassion with you in the future. Welcome home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Didn't stay at this hotel, but did attend a catered cocktail hour and dinner. The hotel grounds and lawns over the beach cliff are beautiful and expertly maintained. The common areas of the hotel are also equally impressive. The wait staff was extremely professional and the table setting and dining room were also top notch and very well appointed. Best chimichurri steak I have ever had!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for the nice feedback. We enjoyed having you even if it was just a short visit. We hope you choose to stay overnight with us soon. We have so much more for you to experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I spent 3 nights at the Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel with my wife. The hotel is situated above the ocean with phenomenal views of the ocean and surrounding bay. It was amazing to see the surfers down at the beach from sun-up to sunset. The hotel itself is very beautiful, but the hotel staff is what makes this resort fantastic. From the moment we pulled up to the hotel to the time we left for the airport to come back home, the professionalism exhibited by the Ladies and Gentlemen at this resort was none other than perfection. Although I didn't have a chance to dine at any of the restaurants in the hotel, I can assure you that they were always full and the comments from other guests indicated that the food was absolutely splendid. In fact, the restaurant that overlooks the ocean is rated #2 for restaurants in Dana Point on Tripadvisor. I did have several specialty coffees and pastries at the coffee shop in the hotel, and everything was always fresh and tasty. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the beds are extremely comfy. My wife thinks that they changed the sheets everyday! The hotel is close to many other local restaurants and attractions in Dana Point and the Laguna area. I would definitely stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We enjoyed creating a memorable experience for you! Welcome home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel

Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel Hotel
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel Hotel Dana Point
Ritz Dana Point
Ritz-Carlton Dana Point
Dana Point Ritz
Dana Point Ritz-Carlton
Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel
Address: 1 Ritz Carlton Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-4205
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.