We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Dana Point, CA 92629-4205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Epic Bucket List Memories
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“simply the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This hotel is simply outstanding. We have been there many times before but the experience just gets better each time. the hotel is friendly, polite and the service intuitive. the restaurants all work very well. Raya and 180blu now very well established with enoSteak a very good 2012 addition. If you come, stay on the club level as it is like a private hotel within a five star resort property. Led by Penni Garcia since the property opened the team provide exceptional service to new and repeat guests. Nothing is too much trouble. Many guests come for extended stays during the summer and, at times, the club is very crowded it all seems to work. The club is small by comparison with more recently opened properties but is an exemplar of phenomenal service offsetting the physical restrictions of the space. the food and beverage offerings were well thought out and varied. the experience is more like a house guest in a friend's home than a hotel. Other areas in the hotel are exceptionally good including the laundry, the bell desk and the motor lobby/valet parking. The housekeepers have all been many years with the property and are very pleasant wonderful ladies. The children had a fantastic time at the pool and availing of the sophisticated program of activities available as well as the incomparably useful kids' club available to club level guests. If there is a heaven on earth, this is it!

Room Tip: Club, pool view rooms are fantastic value. Ocean facing rooms with their own fire pit are also reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
"Heaven on earth"....we love it! That is exactly the refined luxury experience we wish to provide all of our valuable guests. We are delighted you enjoyed all that we have to offer. Perhaps next time you can stay in one of our fireside rooms...they are heavenly as well. We trust you took with you some life long memories, and we look forward to creating more new ones for you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    230
    119
    62
    32
See reviews for
269
396
33
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife and i had a brief, one night stay at this property and absolutely loved it. The customer service was outstanding, the standard room we had was beautifully done, the hotel restaurants and bar were superb (with helpful wait staff as well), and the view of the ocean is incredible. Throw in a great fitness center and a nice little sitting area outside our room, im not sure there was any aspect of our stay that was less than excellent.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for the compliments! Next time you will have to stay with us for more than one evening. We will exceed your expectations with our elegant yet refined service and ambience. We thrive on providing each of our guests with a memorable experience. We look forward to your next arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This property is a true Ritz Carlton experience! Formal elegance is defined here..... From the moment you drive up you can feel the elegance before even entering the facility. The Bellhops and Valet are immediately attentive and know exactly what to do. The luggage is quickly placed on a cart and the vehicle is swiftly valet parked. With 2 tickets in hand - one for luggage and one for parking you are quickly directed to the check in counter where the hosts check you in and refer to you by name. The decor is modern furnishings with a bit of a formal touch; Perhaps, the most distinguishing features of this property was the fantastic art gallery down one of the wings in the lobby, and of course the spectacular views of the Pacific from atop a cliff side. The oceanfront room provides for a glorious sunset and the wonderful sound of the ocean approaching the shore. My wife enjoyed the modern state of the art fitness center- again with beautiful ocean views while exercising. The 180 Blue lounge again is a great place to have cocktails and watch the sunset or even early morning coffee while reading the paper. My recommendation would be NOT to have the music playing in the early morning as this is a distraction for people who want to read or just listen to the ocean in the morning. The complimentary Ritz coffee was a bit too commercial and I would prefer to see urns set up in the center hall for self service as opposed to waiting on line in the marketplace. The staff was respectful and formally polite- however, there seemed to be lacking a personal touch or sincere friendliness- this may be part of the "Ritz Culture" so if you are looking for that kind of warmth you will not find it here. The swimming pool is a classic Ritz pool- nicely designed and well appointed. There are no ocean views, and the pool area can get a bit noisy with the children. There is no Adult pool to attend and the beach area is public with many youths surfing all day. The tennis courts are hard courts like much of California, however I prefer Har-tru courts.The restaurant Raya was good and although they messed up our order, the chef came out to apologize! I was very impressed. We enjoyed our stop over as we were driving from LA to San Diego and this was perfectly situated. If you are driving down from LA to San Diego this is the place to stop!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Offce at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We appreciate your feedback! We couldn't agree with you more that our view and sunsets are out of this world. They are so special. We promise to always provide each of our guests a warm, relaxed, refined luxury experience with many life long memories attached. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are traveling from LA to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is one of my favorite hotels. The employees are so friendly. The rooms are beautiful and the views are unmatched. We were there for a business payoff and even the food at the morning buffet was to die for. We had a party on the grass overlooking the water and it truly was the perfect night. I know the rooms are expensive, but if you can swing it for a night or two, you will really feel like you went on vacation to somewhere exotic!

Room Tip: I prefer an ocean view. We had a pool view which is great for people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for the awesome photos! We love seeing them! Whether you visit us on business or pleasure, we promise to always make you feel like royalty. We are excited to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Magnificent property with stunning cliff views. Great gym with workout overlooking the Pacific. Expensive but worth every penny. A great place to splurge for a special occasion. Service was attentive but not annoying. They know how to pamper guests.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
We will always pamper you every time you visit us...with a warm, relaxed, yet refined luxury experience. We look forward to creating more memories for you. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Very nice hotel with wonderful service. The valets rush to assist upon arrival whether you're in a Bugatti or a lil' ol' BMW [:-)] with a surfboard on top.

Inside and on the grounds the hotel is bustling with people having weddings and other events. Typically I prefer a much quieter environment, but it was okay because I was still able to find a quiet spot on the beach as well as enjoy great service. We were advised several times to reserve the restaurants in advance because it's so busy, but we didn't so we had great sushi and bar food on the outdoor portico. It was also very crowded and people were waiting for tables.

The beach has a little surf break at the south end. It is also a public beach and kind of crowded but at the south surf end it was possible to get some peace and space. The hotel provides towels, chairs and umbrellas for guests at no charge so that part felt like a real nice old fashioned hotel. Also the beach staff will set up all that stuff for you and pick it up when you leave. The food service to the beach is more complicated but possible. Also they are very friendly about storing a surfboard or bringing it to you; although we chose to keep ours on our little patio of our room.

I only saw one pool at the hotel... it was also pretty crowded and in the afternoons on the weekends there was a guitar player. If you don't like hearing noise you might want to avoid a room facing the pool. It wasn't bad but i am very reclusive and quiet so it was a little bit distracting from the luxury vibe. We chose to stay in the least expensive room. It was nice with a double sink bathroom and felt spacious enough. It was facing the pool. The room had its own little balcony with chairs and table. At night I heard no noise.

The hotel is on a cliff directly over the ocean. The view of the ocean from this hotel is gorgeous; that's why they have weddings there. You walk or take a free shuttle down the hill to the beach.

I had a really great massage there. The little spa is nice and you can just walk in any time and do a steam and sauna. I didn't see a jacuzzi. the showers are nice with lots of shower heads coming at you.

Laguna is a very busy tourist town; quaint and filled with little shops.

Room Tip: splurge on the view. if you go with "economy" consider that the pool view is a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our resort. We appreciate your feedback! We hope we created many lasting memories for your during your stay with us, and we look forward to creating more for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The hotel is beautiful. Incredible views. Situated about 150 feet above the Pacific. The public space in the hotel is very clean as are the rooms. However, I have never been a fan of carpet in the rooms...I prefer hardwood floors. Beds were comfortable but just a touch too "fluffly." This is the only downside I can see in the hotel. Service was exceptional. Lots of College / University students but trained very well. Food at Raya was very good! Close to Legoland and Sea World, both of which I enjoyed surprisingly. Shows at Legoland were a lot of fun. About an hour to Los Angeles and San Diego.
Nice beach though not like the beach at the Ritz Carlton in Grand Cayman. The waves at times were as high as I have seen. My 3 year old loved them (as do the dozens of surfers)...of course, I was holding her. Short shuttle ride down to the beach. The beach chairs were not too comfortable. The beach is shared with the public. The Ritz does not service people on the beach with food, etc., only chairs and umbrellas. Overall, great holiday. We will be back!
Our room was on the 3rd floor. I recommend the 3rd or 4th floor in the north wing.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor. North wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritzcarltonlaguna, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments. We highly recommend you experience one of our suites that has wood flooring....sounds like you would love it. And of course we will always serve you at the beach! It would be our beach butler's pleasure. We look forward to the opportunity!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Address: One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Dana Point, CA 92629-4205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Green Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel Hotel Dana Point
Ritz Dana Point
Ritz-Carlton Dana Point
Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.