We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dana Point BW my choice every time.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34280 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dana Point BW my choice every time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I travel to regularly from New Zealand and have stayed at many hotels in SoCal. I always come back to the Dana Point Best Western though because it has such a great mix of what I look for in a hotel experience . . . quiet location, comfortable beds, great staff who always make you feel special, and good value. The location is great, right off the freeway, yet far enough away that you cannot hear it. Right across from the beach and close to a great array of nice restaurants. Top value, top marks.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
It's so wonderful to see a review from one of our regular corporate business travelers. We're glad you've made the Marina Shores Hotel your location of choice whenever you come to Dana Point ... and hope to be serving you for many years to come. The whole front desk staff sends their best too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    56
    28
    2
    0
See reviews for
96
62
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I typically stay at very nice 4-5 star hotels, but at 2-4 times the cost of this Best Western. This hotel is great for the value and worth sacrificing 4-5 star quality. It's not a resort, but great for keeping costs down for business or if on a budget for family vacations.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hi Richard and thank you for the great review. Y'know ... four and five star hotels may be able to offer amenities that more reasonably priced hotels can't, but great service, a friendly staff and a clean comfortable room should be available at any hotel, at any level. We are so happy that you recognized the value of the Marina Shores Hotel and appreciate your testimony. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

One night stay in a great location in a very average Best Western. I assumed the PLUS meant that it would be better than the average Best Western's I have stayed across the U.S. It felt like a typical BW in a beautiful area and a great location. I guess the Plus simply meant "Location, location". I was "upgraded" to a suite, upon arrival....not sure why, but I took it. However, my room key didn't work 3 x and the kids at the front desk could have cared less that I had to shlep my luggage up and down 3 times to switch out the key. Nor did they come with me to try and make sure I actually got into my room. They were to busy talking about their "plans for a concert" to seem concerned about me. My bedspread and decorative pillow had white stains on it (yuk), bulbs burned out in lamp and the window out front would not close all the way. It was fine, average, not bad for a one night quick overnight, but I would pass on staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
I was really dismayed to hear that the desk staff was less than helpful when you had issues with the room key. If you read through our other reviews, most people mention how helpful and friendly the clerks are so this was very uncharacteristic of them and I sincerely apologize. The white stains on the pillow and bed scarf were from a issue with the bleaching additive in our laundry and they have been discarded. Sadly, they never should have been placed in the room in the first place.

We try to upgrade guests whenever possible to make their stay a little more special, but I agree that we could have done much better on the service end. I have addressed your experience with the staff members involved and they asked that I pass on their regrets as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We decided to extend our trip to Catalina Island with a night in Dana Point. We were delighted to discover this BW Plus hotel just minutes from Dana Point Harbor. The room was great and we enjoyed the jacuzzi tub in our room. Our hotel room on the Island was cramped with a queen bed. The BW+ had a king bed, desk and two tvs (one in the bathroom).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Hi Joe! To hear that our accommodations were more impressive than those on Catalina Island was high praise indeed. We're glad to have been a part of your vacation and hope that a return trip to Dana Point and the Marina Shores Hotel will be on your calendar in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Very caring staff, great location, the room had new flat screen TV, new bed, new carpet. The room was new and clean, there was an ocean view. It was a little small but it didn't bother me. Great value!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
We appreciate all your kind words and are glad you enjoyed your time with us. Even though it has been almost two years since our floor-to-ceiling renovation, our housekeeping and maintenance staff work extra hard to keep that "like new" feeling throughout the hotel. Judging by your comments, they're doing a terrific job. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katy, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Overall very accommodating. Staff very helpful. Wireless internet very slow. Bedroom smell needs to be addressed. Great location, great breakfast. Parking garage easy to get in and out of. Clean sheets/towels. Television sound (we had two TV's) was poor on both TV's. Although hotel seemed full of guests, there was never a cramped feeling.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Hi Edgar! Thank you for the great review in spite of the issues with your room. Normally there is never an issue with odors in our rooms. You may have noticed that we even use those air fresheners that plug into the wall just to make sure the air is fresh and pleasantly scented for our guests, so I'm not sure where the odor came from. I believe the sound issue was with our cable service. We use commercial grade LG televisions so if the sound was bad with both TVs I'm guessing it must have been on the cable service supplier's end. We've checked the room and both issues seem to have resolved themselves.

Thank you again for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Best Western is a well known midlevel hotel chain. You expect a decent non-frills accomodation, but not much more. But the Marina Shores hotel definitely exceeded our modest expectation and I have to repeat one of the previous reviewers that it is the BEST Best Western hotel I have seen so far. Everythiing is extremely clean, the staff is friendly and efficient, the rooms are spacious, comfortable and nicely furnished. We stayed only one night and could not check all facilities of the hotel (i.e. we can not say anything about the breakfast because we had to leave at 6 am), but what we saw was either excellent or very good. The only thing that could be improved are AC units in the rooms: they are a bit too loud which affects sleep quality. In winter time you can sleep with open windows, but since the hotel is located right on Pacific Coast Hwy, it is even noisier.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. It's great to see what an impression we can make in only one night! Tell all your friends in Jersey to look us up if their vacation plans ever bring them to southern California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel

Address: 34280 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Business Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel - Dana Point Harbor - Doheny State Beach. Conveniently located on Pacific Coast Highway and minutes from Laguna Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano, Camp Pendleton, the Ritz Carlton, St. Regis, and the Montage Resort and Spa. Our AAA rated hotel features 34 comfortable two-room suites with partial ocean views from their balcony and 8 spacious king suites with whirlpool tubs for two. All rooms (with the exception of ADA Rooms) have jetted tubs with showers. All rooms have two phones with voice mail; one with speaker. We are conveniently located 1 block from Dana Point Harbor and Doheny State Beach. Our area is known for its fine beaches, recreational activities, specialty shops, restaurants and fine art galleries. Whale watching excursions are offered in Dana Point Harbor during the California Gray Whale migration. The hotel is located just two miles from both San Juan Capistrano and San Clemente, four miles from Laguna Beach. Weekly rates available based on a 7 night stay. Contact the hotel directly for details and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dana Point Harbor - Doheny Beach Hotel Dana Point
Holiday Inn Dana Point
Dana Point Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.