We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34280 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Solid Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Location: 4.5 - Staff/Service: 3.5 - Amenities: 3
I love the location of this hotel - close to the 5 freeway and 2 blocks from a beautiful state beach. The hotel itself is nice enough - lobby is beautiful. Parking was $10/day and space was very limited. Breakfast area gets crowded quickly and food is really generic...but the kids were happy, plus McDonald's is across the street and Denny's is next door. Lots of dining options in walking distance up the street. My balcony had a partial view of ocean; I loved that they put a little furniture out there to sit and enjoy, but it's right on PCH and you hear more of the traffic than the waves. The beds were nice sized, reasonably comfortable, and I heard no complaints from my kids about the sofabed. The kids enjoyed the pool, I was sad there was no jacuzzi, but there were jacuzzi jets in the bathtub. For business travelers: the computers are out in the open in the lobby and print to behind the desk, but rooms have free WiFi.

My colleague stayed at the Doubletree down the street; there are plusses and minuses to both. Rooms looked comparable, the lobby is more attractive and spacious with more seating, they charge extra for an ocean view, make you valet park for $$$, their pool is small and right in front of the hotel, and they are doing noisy construction/repairs (at least the week of 3/25), but the breakfast there is much better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
While our goal is to always be a "solid great" it was still nice that you noticed the little touches we add to make our guests' stays nicer - like the furniture out on the balconies and the jetted tubs in the guest rooms. We appreciate the constructive suggestions too as we are always looking for ways to improve our product and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    79
    34
    2
    0
See reviews for
114
89
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We received this booking through Hotwire as a hotel chosen for us in our category (3 star). The hotel was recently renovated and the rooms are comfortable and fairly quiet, despite our room fronting Pacific Coast Highway. The beds are WONDERFUL, by the way.

When we checked in, the front desk clerk told us that we should have called the hotel to book adn we would have received a better rate. WHAT? I don't know if he was punishing us :), but we found out that night that our A/C didn't work at all. I called the desk and was told that maintenance had gone home. So, we had a less-than-restful night's sleep in a stuffy room with a window we couldn't leave open, due to easy access from the outside. Had it not been for the poor maintenance on a recent renovation leaving us with a stuffy room, I would have given this hotel a "4" rating.

The complementary breakfast was about the best I've had in a hotel with a free breakfast. Eggs seemed to be made from eggs, rather than reconstituted; there's a pancake machine; the bacon was good as well.

The location is adjacent to the harbor, but behind a small hill -- so it's not terribly convenient to the harbor, but close. There's also a Jack in the Box, Del Taco, adn McDonalds directly across the street for a quick bite.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Please accept my apologies for the confusion when you checked in. It's not our habit to steer people away from the online booking sites. They save guests a lot of shopping around for rates, but for detailed information on a particular hotel, it's always a good idea to check with the hotel directly, just to make sure of the accommodations.

I was also very sorry to hear about your troubles with the a/c. We should have at least offered to move you to another room if maintenance was gone for the night. Most of the units here are less than three years old and we service them routinely, so I can at least assure you that this is not a regular occurrence.

I'm glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay and hope you will be back for a visit that's 100% perfect!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was wandering around California in search of adventure, weirdness, employment, the meaning of life, and a new surf board. Infinity Surf is right up the street from this Best Western, so I decided to stay here.

Called as I was driving around, found the room rate of $112 for the night to be spot on, and they had a vacancy. I was a happy camper.

Checked in without hassle. Parking is a little tight, so if you drive something bigger than my FJ, you might be SOL for parking here. However, my little red beach wagon fit right into one of the spots by the door, so I was able to unload my new board and my bag without hassle.

Got up to my room, very happy with what it was. Great jacuzzi tub in this place, so if you're sore after a day of driving like was, you can just jump right in and soak your woes away.

Room was clean, beds were clean, TV was big and well set up. Ordered a pizza, watched some pointless drivel on the TV, and was happily off to dream land. Best of all it had two queen beds in the room, so my new board had a bed of its very own.

If I ever end up in Dana Point again, I will absolutely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the non-road side if you're sensitive to noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for the great review and we're happy that we made you and your new surfboard so comfortable. Hang loose!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel uses to be a Holiday Inn Express and is now a Best Western PLUS.
It is a very Nice & Clean hotel and we enjoyed a King Suite with Balcony facing the ocean.
Beautiful view! The only issue I had with this hotel was their Breakfast. I hated the fact that they used such cheap plastic eating utensils. It very much dismisses the fact that they are even offering you a breakfast.
Recommendations:
If you are going to eat Breakfast somewhere other than the hotel, then this would be a very nice place to stay.
If Breakfast at a hotel is important to you, find another hotel because this breakfast is very disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
I'm very glad you enjoyed the accommodations here at the Marina Shores hotel and please accept my apologies for the plasticware in the breakfast room. We had actually upgraded it about two months ago and then had an order that was late so we had to bring out the old stock we had leftover. It just goes to show how important items like these are to our guests. We now have the new utensils back in place, so please don't feel you need to stay or eat elsewhere the next time you're in Dana Point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baker City, Oregon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We truly enjoyed our three restful nights at this hotel. We were just coming off of a five day Disneyland adventure and we were able to recharge and enjoy Dana Point from this very centralized location. Here, you are just around the corner from Doeheny Beach and the marina. The kids had a great time beachcombing and surfing (rental shop right there). The free breakfast is typical for a nice hotel and the pancake machine looked like fun. (Wish they offered sugar-free syrup and I may have tried them). The view from our patio was awesome...could see the ocean peeking from behind giant palm trees. Even though we were on the Pacific Coast Highway, the noise was not noticeable from our room at all. Housekeeping did a fantastic job and the beds were awesome. We even enjoyed the warm pool when it was only 60 degrees out...we just had to hurry back to our room when we got out of the water. The value at this hotel is great and I would definitely stay here again...and hope to soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the great comments and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay - not only with us, but in beautiful Dana Point. We will certainly look into the possibility of a sugar free syrup for our pancakes at breakfast. Great Idea!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our second time staying here. When we arrived this time we had a slight hiccup with our reservation but Lizzette came through and totally made our nights! Beautiful, clean, spacious rooms! You can see the ocean from most rooms and you can't beat the location! We will be staying here again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and even happier that you intend to become a regular. Our family will never be TOO big!

I'll make sure to pass on your praises to Lizette. We believe that the people who work here are just as important as a comfortable bed and a clean room. It's all part of the same guest experience and it sounds like we hit a home run for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel

Address: 34280 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel - Dana Point Harbor - Doheny State Beach. Conveniently located on Pacific Coast Highway and minutes from Laguna Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano, Camp Pendleton, the Ritz Carlton, St. Regis, and the Montage Resort and Spa. Our AAA rated hotel features 34 comfortable two-room suites with partial ocean views from their balcony and 8 spacious king suites with whirlpool tubs for two. All rooms (with the exception of ADA Rooms) have jetted tubs with showers. All rooms have two phones with voice mail; one with speaker. We are conveniently located 1 block from Dana Point Harbor and Doheny State Beach. Our area is known for its fine beaches, recreational activities, specialty shops, restaurants and fine art galleries. Whale watching excursions are offered in Dana Point Harbor during the California Gray Whale migration. The hotel is located just two miles from both San Juan Capistrano and San Clemente, four miles from Laguna Beach. Weekly rates available based on a 7 night stay. Contact the hotel directly for details and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dana Point Harbor - Doheny Beach Hotel Dana Point
Holiday Inn Dana Point
Dana Point Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.